We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Aldrovandi Villa Borghese to your Saves list
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our stay at the Aldrovandi was truly wonderful. From the warm welcome and courteous service from door staff and reception staff, to the beautiful room and plush surroundings, to the great breakfasts and the wonderful pool area, it really made our stay in Rome special. It really is a special place to stay. The hotel has an opulent traditional feel. When you enter the reception area, you sense the grandness of it. The lobby area is quite grand, and the hotel gardens and poolside are so peaceful. It's not your average hotel.

The bed was probably the most comfortable I have slept in, and the turndown service in the evening was a nice touch. The little 5 star touches were obvious - the fluffy bathrobes and slippers, the Molton and Brown toiletries, the attentive poolside service which included plentiful towels and water, and sun cream on request. The only thing we felt was lacking was that there were no in-room tea and coffee making facilites (room service coffee cost a small fortune). The mini bar prices were ridiculous (probably because of the hotel's 5 star status, but ridiculous all the same), with a 12 Euros charge for a bottle of water that wasn't even cold. We gave the mini bar a miss. We didn't dine in the hotel's Michelin starred restaurant or Grill Restaurant as we spent our evenings away from the hotel. Next time perhaps we would give the food a try. Breakfast was a buffet style, hot and cold, with the option of sparkling wine (a bit too early for us!) served in a large breakfast room.

As other reviewers have said, the hotel is not exactly in the city centre of Rome, but the complimentary, half hourly shuttle service to Spanish Steps takes away the hardship of getting directly into town. We used this great service several times during our stay, but we also used the trams which literally stop outside the door of the hotel to get to both The Vatican and The Colosseum. The location, for us, was quite perfect. To have been any closer to the bustle of the city centre would have meant missing out on the tranquil pool surroundings and the beautiful expansive park on our doorstep at the Villa Borghese, where you can visit (by pre-booking only) The Borghese Gallery, which has a fabulous art collection. The Gallery of Modern Art is literally a five minute stroll fom the hotel too.

If you are looking for a fabulous, luxurious hotel with little special touches, and it is within your budget, you will be treated to a wonderful experience at the Aldrovandi.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside view, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    150
    67
    37
    19
See reviews for
130
396
32
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We just spent five days in Rome and had a superb stay in this gorgeous hotel. It is luxurious, the pool is a delicious haven, the staff, particularly the concierge Mario A, faultless. Will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Room 406 looks over the zoo and we could see monkeys playing in their pen. Fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous 7 night holiday in Rome based at the Aldrovani.

The place itself is superbly situated away from the noise and hub-bub of central Rome and the pool and gardens - which is one of the main reasons we booked the place - are a fantastic retreat and an oasis of calm in what is a pretty mad-cap place.

Given its locale, the shuttle bus is a must and we used it on numerous occasions. A really relaxed, efficient and well-organised service that is very much not in keeping with the rest of Rome!

The staff - and I mean all of them - were just simply superb. Friendly, helpful, genuine but not in your face. Rooms were very pleasant, breakfast was just superb, the poolside service was again just spot-on and the Concierge were excellent.

The only downside was that the cost of the food / drink etc from either around the pool or elsewhere (mini bar) was eye-wateringly expensive.#

As for Rome? Well, what can I say? Well, just accept the inefficiencies, crumbling infrastructue and semi-chaos of the place and you will have a whale of a time in what is truly one of the most vibrant and unique cities in the world.

Yes, you could always try to do something different and shy away from the 'usual' suspects such as the Colosseum, Panthenon, Trevi Fountain, Vatican etc. But you would be serioulsy be missing out on some of the truly great sights of the world, never mind Italy or Europe. I'm not easily impressed, but boy, was I impressed by what I saw!

My tip is to leave it late (2 - 3pm) to visit the main sites as by then a lot of the tour buses have gone and it is far less hectic (although still very busy) and you'll still have 2 - 3 hours to soak up the culture and atmosphere of your chosen 'venue'.

So, if you are contemplating going to Rome then my advice is book it now. And if you are looking for a bolt-hole away from the city-centre where you can relax and have a bit of well deserved R&R, then look no further than the Aldrovani!

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the pool area on Floor 4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Everything was great!! You can feel a new touch of new Director Mr Leonardo Temperini ! On the swimming pool you can get a 2 towels, free bottles of waters , you can make a reservations of swimming pool chairs, you can read a many new books in the swimming pool library , even if You forgot a sun blockers - no problem You can get on swimming pool a new one,s from the Hotel Off course restaurant of Mr Glowing is great!! Concierge !! You coudn't find better !! Mr Mario and all staff - wounderful Great bus shuttle organizations! Everything what You asking for is no problem . Beautiful design, even nice exotic smell on the lobby is heart touching! clean rooms !
Overall GRADE A

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We read tripadvisor avidly and some of the reviews of this hotel were so negative we decided not to stay here. But then...it was hard to find anywhere that seemed as interesting so we took the plunge. We should never have worried. Whether the negative reviews came from bad days, a long time ago or for some other reason they are nothing like our experience. We arrived late - midnight- and were immediately welcome. The staff have been fantastic and very helpful. the breakfasts are enormous, almost too large, and the rooms fine. We find the shuttle, whilst being marginally inconvenient to use, works well but is more than offset by having a wonderful park to walk or jog in on your doorstep. Up early, enjoy some exercise, relate to nature and an indulgent breakfast seems pretty good to me. Lou does my chosing and she scored a hit with this. Roll on another day here.

Room Tip: Go for garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at half term and had a great time. The service was really first class, the breakfasts are great, the rooms were large and our kids had a wonderful time. We were able to see the sights in the morning, grab lunch whilst out and then come back to the hotel in the afternoon to chill out. The transfer bus was a great extra although you have to book it well in advance if you are part of a large group. as family it was great to be away from the hussle of downtown rome and yet close enough not to waste time every day travelling in and out.

The only advice is to check the pricing of all of the extras... we decided to get our kids a bowl of plain pasta with tomato sauce by the pool and were shocked that not only was it £20 but we then received a tiny bowl. Drinks were also astronomical and transfers were at least double the price of a normal taxi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had spent a few days doing lots of sight-seeing around Rome and just needed to relax by the pool during the day and go out for nice meals at night.

The hotel was great and we would like to give a special mention to Lorenzo the pool attendant who made our stay very relaxing. He was always on hand to offer his service when needed and just had a lovely manner about him. Thank you.

Breakfast was lovely and the whole ambience was great. Only slight complaints we would have is that the air conditions takes a good few hours to adjust and the price of a bottle of beer from the minibar is unbelievable and more expensive than being served at the poolside bar (€15 for a 330ml bottle in your room versus €9 or €10 for the equivalent in the bar including crisps/ nuts) - very strange!

Thanks though - all in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aldrovandi Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rome
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#35 Business Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#58 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldrovandi Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located within Rome's most upscale residential area, between the green expanse of the Borghese gardens and the historical reminiscences of Valle Giulia and the Borghese Gallery, the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese is one of the most desirable premises in Rome within walking distance from extraordinary venues as the Spanish Steps and Via Veneto.Privately managed, this grand hotel was refurbished in 2008 to render it one of the undisputed sought-after addresses in Rome. With its own private park of colourful exotic vegetation, outdoor pool and garden fine-dining, the hotel is an elegant and graceful oasis of endless relax where guests can indulge in the soothing atmosphere and incomparable amenities of a resort while staying in the heart of the city. The glamorous Michelin-starred restaurant of the hotel, 'baby,' with its cool white and cream minimalist interior features the quintessence of the Italian and Mediterranean haute-cuisine, a true unique dining experience. Recreation and HealthOutdoor pool and fully equipped fitness room. The Borghese Gardens opposite to the hotel are ideal for jogging. Tennis, 18-hole golf course, riding and polo are available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Aldrovandi Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.