We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a small wedding reception with excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ludovisi 15, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #398 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Essex
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a small wedding reception with excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We had our wedding reception at the Hotel Savoy, which had the most amazing views over Rome. The meal itself was outstanding, and the wedding cake that was served - was to die for, and that’s mostly down to the credit of Aldo and his staff who effortlessly and flawlessly catered for all our guests needs. After our experience, we have no reservations in recommending this venue to anyone who wishes for an intimate wedding reception, with stunning views, beautiful surroundings, fantastic food, excellent wine, great music and staff who made sure that no one went without at all times and did so in a manner that no one sensed that they were there unless required. Brilliant management Aldo.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    187
    106
    37
    22
See reviews for
79
213
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Mi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Rome and the Hotel Savoy was our last stop on a two week adventure through Switzerland and Germany. After staying in small, "no frills" hotels, The Hotel Savoy offered some of the luxurious comforts of home we had missed - namely a generous sized (by European standards) bathroom, large bed and a spacious (by European standards) room. The room was clean and maid service was dependable during our three-day stay. This reminded me of an American chain hotel with multiple floors and hundreds of rooms, a stark contrast to the boutique hotel experience during the rest of our trip. The Hotel Savoy's location was great with a Taxi stand located nearby for those who want to catch a cab and was a short (10 - 15 minute) walk to the Spanish Steps. The hotel's location is near a variety of large chain hotels (Intercontinental, Westin, etc.) and seemed to be a bit of a tourist haven, but it was not difficult at all to get off the beaten path for a more authentic experience, and still enjoy centrally-located lodging. The staff was consistently attentive, friendly and all spoke impeccable English. The staff provided very helpful guidance in what can be a very confusing city. The breakfast was nicely appointed and offered a variety of items. It was convenient, but if you are searching for a truly delicious Italian breakfast, I would skip the hotel breakfast and venture out into the city to enjoy local cuisine. The breakfast food wasn't particularly special, just convenient and not quite satisfying for the price. Internet was available in a small business center (3 computers) but we were too busy sightseeing to ever take advantage of it. The room was suprisingly quiet, and had windows that effectively drowned out the street noise. I can't there are any quiet hotels in Rome, but this one fit the bill. Overall, I would definitely recommend the Hotel Savoy for its great location and amenities.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

The room is small comparing to the usual one I stay in Italy, and the room they gave me was on the first floor, and with no view. However, you don't plan to stay in your room when you are in Rome right? This hotel is in a perfect location that you can walk to the Spanish Steps and major tourist attractions.

The staff is super friendly, and every night I asked them for restaurant recommendations and they never disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We arrived in Rome for what was supposed to be just a two day trip before heading to Florence, but we were having such a good time, we decided to stay a couple extra days. Unfortunately the beautiful hotel that we were staying at did not have availability for the extension and recommended us down the street to a Savoy. At first glance, it seemed nice and comparable to where we were staying previously. However, as soon as we opened the door to the room, we were hit with the stench of what can only be described as the sewer. To top it off, the peeling wall paper and ugly black velvet bed spread was terrible. I could barely sleep in the stench, could not bare to take a shower in there or anything without holding my breath. We told the front desk and they went up there, but as far as I could tell, nothing was done. We left a day early because I could not bare another second at that hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braunwynn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

This is my 2nd time staying at the Hotel Savoy and, once again, our stay was amazing. I cannot compliment them enough for their "wonderful" front desk staff, their great, central location and the overall experience.

To comment on the front desk staff--no task was too large or small for their assistance. From helping with reservations and directions to getting taxis for us when our pre-arranged airport transfer vendor didn't "show"....each task was handled with courtesy and friendliness. They truly made us feel as though we were members of their family who they were personally responsible for.

My husband and I were with a group of people and each person felt the same about the hotel. The rooms were spotless, the breakfast was really good and the location....I'll repeat that the location was absolutely wonderful for Rome with the potential to walk to many major sites and great access to restaurants and the metro.

I have recommended this hotel to other friends in the past and they, too, have really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

We booked a four day package which included BA flights and three nights at the Savoy .
Party of two adults and two teenagers ( 18 &19 )
My wife and i had stayed at another Hotel in the Via Veneto five years ago so knew this was a good location .
The Hotel could not be faulted , clean well maintained with pleasent staff .
The breakfasts were outstanding !
I would stay at this Hotel again without hesitation ..recommended .
We would also recommend the car company ' ROME CABS for transferes to and from the airport .
Very reliable , polite , honest , and above all very fairly priced in comparison to public transport for a number of people .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

I stayed in the Savoy for my birthday, and was pleasantly suprised by the place from the outset.

The entrance is quite grand, and the porter was ready as we stepped out of our taxi to help with our luggage. Was smoothly checked in at a busy reception and went off to our twin room which, really, was quite small, but very comfortable and we had a great view of the streets out the front. I expected it to get noisy in the evening but it was not.

I think that the breakfast could have been a little better, my bacon was a little undercooked, however the pastries were nice. Okay I suppose, just not a great selection.

I have to say that we could not have asked for a better location. The hotel was perfectly situated perfectly, within walking distance to some attractions. We walked to the shops, (Gucci, Bvlgari and Dior galore!) and visited the Trevi fountain, St Peter's & the Colusseum & The Vatican. Too much to see in just 4 days though...

Wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Via Ludovisi 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#279 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savoy is a traditional, historical hotel with elegant decors and modern facilities with a superb location, just off legendary Via Veneto in the heart of town, a few minutes walk to the Spanish Steps, the Borghese Gardens and Gallery and the most famous Italian Fashion shopping district, at walking distance to Fontana di Trevi . Each of the 124 guestrooms are classical in style and extremely comfortable, with a/c, hairdryer, safe and free wifi. The hotel has a Bar, a pc corner with printing facilities and a neighborhood with plenty of restaurants theaters and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.