We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and close to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palatino Grand Hotel Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palatino Grand Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Palatino Grand Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 213-M, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #409 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Coppell, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel and close to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was a great hotel. The rooms were nice and clean and comfortable. The bathroom had a hair dryer and plenty of towels and toiletries.

The hotel is easy walking distance to the Coliseum and the Forum. Also on one corner is a subway station which will allow you to connect to several places (Spanish Steps for example).

Hotel personnel were friendly and helpful and free Wi-Fi is available. We stayed here for three nights before leaving Rome and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    377
    132
    57
    30
See reviews for
147
297
32
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Me and wife though of coming to Rome on the last minute, we looked for Hotel in the center but price Vs quality weren’t balance. We saw very poor hotels that charge lot of money, we looked and found Grand Hotel palatino which located very close to “Colosseo” (5 min walk), in general the hotel location is also great, can reach any attraction places within 10-15 min walk. It has metro station 1 min walk that can bring u to “Spanish steps” within two stops. The Rooms are very clean and astatic (which was very important to us), we got a room with balcony on the 8th floor which definitely upgrade our stay as we have had open air place to sit with glass of wine in the evening and view Rome city, all facilities in the room were excellent and sufficient for our romantic vacation. The breakfast was ok European buffet type, the stuff in the Hotel were very friendly and always polite and willing to assist and speak very clear English, there is free Wi-Fi at Hotel Lobby and outside the hotel u can find many resturent and places to eat good ice-cream or just enjoy the atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel to my friends back home and would book it again if I’ll arrive back to Rome in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Everything is just Great!!! Friendly staff, great breakfast buffet, location is perfect, free wifi at hotel lobby and lots of restaurant around to choose from. Will deifinitely go back and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Great location.You can get to Colosseo, Palatino and Forum on foot, 15 mins walk to Pantheon and Tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchton ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Hotel Palatino was a wonderful start to our perfect Holiday in Italy. We stayed here for 3 nights April 26-29. We booked one of the larger executive rooms with private terrace and it was worth it. We had a beautiful view of the rooftops of rome. We enjoyed coffee every morning on the terrace (loved the robe and slippers provided). In fact most days after walking to all the sites we would pick up a slice of pizza and a bottle of wine and head back to our room to enjoy the view from our terrace. We also enjoyed the tour to the Coliseum that we booked directly thru the hotel. The hotel also arranged a car to pick us up at the airport and we were relieved to see that he was right there waiting for us even though our flight was an hour late. The breakfast was wonderful and had everything you could want to keep you going for the whole day. We did pay the 15 euros to have wifi in our room. It was worth it.

Room Tip: If you want something extra special...go for the terrace and view of the roof tops of Rome. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAryland/D.C. area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here a few years ago and enjoyed the recent remodel. The location is great and the surrounding area is full of good restaurants and sights.
The hotel staff was excellent and the rooms were fine. The real hidden treasure is the pianist/singer at the piano bar: Danilo Gamberdella. He needs to be discovered!! He plays and sings many polpular and jazz selections with a smooth sound!

Room Tip: If you want to miss the crowd at the Coliseum, go late. It's almost empty just before closing, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon Falls, Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

An average hotel, but the location is worth every cent! Can't beat it... also has a super breakfast buffet. Front desk service is poor, Wi-Fi cuts in and out, and make sure you have a watch as there are no clocks in the rooms!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lovely hotel. Husband and i stayed here for 3 nights and were upgraded!! Stunning room which was cleaned everyday. We had 2 showers and 2 sink and even skytv which came in very handy on the day that it was raining outside. Staff could not do enough for us. We had a room facing the back of the hotel so no noise at all from the street at the front.

THe only down side was breakfast. Not much of a selection.

Hotel was 10 minute walk to colloseum (worth seeing at night).
At the back of the hotel you will find some bars, and restaraunts which were nice. Do not eat or drink on the main road that the hotel is situated, Expensive garbage!! Across the road, we had one cocktail and one pint of beer and we were charged 36euro!!!! We questioned the price and they said that this was standard in Rome, which we knew it wasnt. Please ask for prices before ordering!!!

its worth taking a walk to Trestevrne, lovely old italian village with authentic family run italian restaraunts. We had the best meals here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palatino Grand Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palatino Grand Hotel Rome

Address: Via Cavour 213-M, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#200 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palatino Grand Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Palatino is situated in the heart of the ancient center of Rome, just a short walk away from the Coliseum and Imperial Forums. Close to shopping streets where Rome's most elegant shops can be found and near Termini Railway station, the air terminal and main subway station, providing rapid links to all the most important areas of Rome. Palatino Grand Hotel has 208 large rooms, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, 4 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palatino Grand Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatino Grand Rome
Rome Palatino Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Palatino Rome Italy
Hotel Palatino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palatino Grand Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.