We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly with a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Amedeo 257, 00185 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #557 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean and friendly with a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Convenient location, friendly and hospitalable staff, spotless rooms with every amenity that I needed. The local market nearby is fascinating and although I was in Rome on business, the nearby transport links made it easy to access all the historic areas. The Wifi was quick and easy to access.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    243
    102
    37
    25
See reviews for
108
217
23
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We were allocated their new refurbished room which was comfortable and lush. The staff were great and we appreciated the welcome drink and the breakfast.
The neighbourhood was interesting but not uncomfortable as other reviews make out but we're not scared or prejudiced. I think they are priced reasonably considering.
The food market just across the street was amazing.
It's by the metro station so getting everywhere was easy. Only 5 mins to the main train station so that's def a bonus.
I'd recommend

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of September, 2014. The hotel is inside the Aurelian walls of Rome so still inside the area with most of the "tourist" historical sites... but it is a bit west from many of the more popular places.
For me, this was a perfect area... walking distance to the train station (only about 5 mins to get inside the train stations south-west entrance... 10 mins to walk to the main entrance); and only about 1 minute to the entrance to one of the subway lines.
The area that the Hotel is in is one that is not the most affluent in the city, by any means, and I would not have wanted my wife walking alone at night... but I expected this from a large city like Rome.
The first hotel night was not the best for us, as the AC in the room did not work well... I had originally thought I was going to be very unhappy with the hotel because of this, but once I visited the front desk the next morning, we had someone in our room looking at it in minutes, and after no change to the situation, they gave us another room. Being "cold-blooded" Canadian, a cool room is very welcome!
Using a "North American" view of the room, it was what I would consider basic. The bathrooms are all very "unique" in that they are all a bit different... the tub/shower didnt have a full door... but rather a "half door" that would close a bit... but the floor still ended up wet after a shower. I have had this in north american hotels, but the relatively small tub was more problematic. Not a big deal... just used a towel on the floor.
Rooms include a safe for passports, etc. Not "Fort Knox" but functional, included and available.
Breakfast was included and the food was quite nice. Lots of fruit, cheese, and even a small hot-bar with eggs, meat, etc. The coffee machines (although automatic) did a good job getting my caffeine levels to where I needed in the morning.

Other meals in the hotel were basic... but only ate there once after a long day... Rome has lots of great restaurants and the front desk gave me a few great recommendations... my wife and I ate some very good "tourist" meals at some nice, small restaurants... a little off the tourist areas simply made for better food, and more affordable service!

Tips: (1) Taxi drivers will not know where this hotel is, so have the address and a map on hand if you can... the hotel is on a 1-way street and it is a bit of a maze for the taxi to be able to drop you off at the front door. Flat rate from FCO airport of about €50... but make sure the Taxi is a REAL taxi... lots of official "looking" taxi vans around... but they change nearly as much and you get a painful 2 hour drive with strangers to their hotels before getting to your own!

(2) Purchase bottles of water at the small international store next to the hotel. Purchased 6 x 2L of water for €3... when 500mL of water was €3 at the tourist areas.... refill your own bottles! Of course, Rome water is quite good so you can just drink tap water if you want and say a few euro!

(3) Use the subway to get you to where you want to go. Sure, Rome is a walkable city but the heat and the long days will take a toll. The subway is pretty easy to understand... consider a multi-day pass for convenience or just use single-use tickets for (I believe) €1.50 per 1-way trip.

Room Tip: After reading other reviews, I did ask for a big bathroom and it worked out for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff were mildly pleasant at best, the room was "fine", and the location/neighborhood awful. I would not walk on those sidewalks at night; we had to get a cab to a restaurant. There is graffiti all over buildings in the vicinity. Stay somewhere else in Rome!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We wanted A hotel close to Termini station so we decided on this one. The hotel is in a sketchy part of town, although I didn't feel completely unsafe. The hotel is pretty small, with not many amenities. You will not find a fitness room, and the business center has one computer with a complicated sign in process and no printer. The bed felt like sleeping on plywood with a half-inch foam pad, but otherwise, the room was well-appointed and clean. The desk clerk was slightly aloof but did provide service and offered a map to local sites while we waited for our room (we arrived early). The hotel has a restaurant, but there are many restaurants just a few blocks north of the hotel.

I think if I had it to do all over again, I would stay near the airport and just take the train or shuttle in to Termini for sight seeing.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

As everyone says this hotel is in a bad area. I'm going to elaborate on what that means. The shops around the hotel sell cheep nasty stuff. The kind of stuff that makes the one pound shop look really good. As a tourist you would never consider using any of the "restaurants", "cafes" or shops near the hotel. Being near the train station is useless as you are not going to use the train at all. It would not be unfair at all to say that the area is almost a slum but this is really a bigger problem with Roam over all, than with the hotel. Other than that the hotel is fine but on holiday the above is pretty important. Roam as a whole is covered in graffiti and as a whole the tourist facilities for all of Roam are poor. Roam is strewn with professional beggars (The general belief seems to be that the majority are in fact very wealthy and are abusing roams tourism). The city is permanently overrun with tourists but this has meant that no real effort has ever been needed to cater for tourists to much extent other than the absolute minimum, as they will come regardless. Although I have deviated from the hotel somewhat, it is all part of the same thing. Despite Roam's slum qualities it's still absolutely fascinating and the Vatican is a whole other story.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetTpie10s
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Traveler from NY and stayed here with my mother and sister in late September.

I had read many of the reviews before hand and knew what to expect. The location was easy to get to from the train station and was definitely in a seedy area. The rooms were fairly basic although the beds must have been very comfortable as I slept with no problem. The room was clean but needed some upgrading. Hotels are so expensive in Rome that I think we did well for the price of this hotel and knew what we were getting into.
the staff was very friendly and accommodating!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 257, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#213 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel is a prestigious 4 star hotel, result of a complete renovation of an elegant building dating back to 1850; it is located in the Esquilino neighborhood, a few steps from the main train station (Roma Termini), San Giovanni in Laterano Cathedral, Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica, Opera Theatre and Vittorio Emanuele subway stop. Colosseum and Spanish Steps are only few minutes by subway from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Rome
Golden Tulip Rome
Rome Golden Tulip
Ambra Palace Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.