We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for the Price .. Near the train ..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Amedeo 257, 00185 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #557 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Altanta
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place for the Price .. Near the train ..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

First of all if you are american don't expect the same type of quality you would get in a hotel back in the states.. This place is like a 5 or 10 min walk from the Main Metro station and maybe 25 min walk to the Colosseum.. This hotel was Clean, breakfast was descent and ,the staff was very friendly .It is a big Noisy but thats just about everywhere u would go in italy . One big Plus and something that i didn't realize was that i needed a Euro Charger for my phone but luckily this hotel had an american adapter on the desk in the room. . I wouldn't pay a cent for to stay anywhere else .. Good over all REMEMBER DONT FORGET YOUR CHARGING ADAPTER FOR THE REST OF ITALY.!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCri, Direttore at Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

I read your comment is quite positive and this encourages us to keep on trying to do our best for our guests.

I hope you will be with us in the future and thank you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    243
    103
    37
    25
See reviews for
108
217
23
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a comfortable 2 day stay at Ambra Palace. The hotel is nice, clean and had a great staff. The hotel is close to the Metro station and a 8 min walk to the Roma Termini Station. The neighbourhood is something one could call dirty and run down. There were no dining options around this hotel, but to look at it positively, we had an opportunity to venture into the main Rome city to look for dining options, which was a welcome change and managed to see Rome by night.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms at the back of the hotel, to avoid views of filthy apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCri, Direttore at Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I thank you for your positive comment and kind words you used for the hotel staff.
The hotel is located in a multiethnic neighborhood and I am sorry you had a bad feeling about it. Finally I want to inform you our staff generally suggest 3 or 4 very good restaurants nearby the hotel, I am sorry you missed them because they offer very good quality food.
I hope you will be with us in the future and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ambra Palace or DUNGEON! (Best "Worst" Western!) Our misery began right at checkin .. was allotted the teeniest room we have slept in for a long time! (all of 80 or 90 square feet with a 4 ft 4 inch "double" bed.. Asked for NON SMOKING was assured one (an untruthful statement from hotel staff) and put in a SMOKING ROOM - even though I suffer from asthma.. there was a non-smoking floor to boot! The room "decor" was a hideous brown faded wallpaper, and stained filthy depressing brown carpets!
Hotel staff at reception unacceptably rude (do they do a course "HOw to alienate guests and make them feel small?) or are they racist? Hey guys we are there for a short holiday - are well dressed, polite, and well behaved! - use your racism at your election time not against unsuspecting tourists!!
IN the room, the central airconditioner dumped soot / debris on our bags when we started it!
When we booked a "Rome by night" tour, the reception clerk tried to cheat us and returned change for 100 euros, when we gave 200 euro note! took an inordinately long time to eventually return the rest, when we insisted.. The tour was a damp squib, and they had made a mistake in not informing the company, only got on when we did multiple reminders after waiting at reception a long time; the tourguide was loud, windows dirty and there was only one stop!
The neighbourhood is downmarket, complete with streetside muslim prayers on friday like in pakistan!
Folks you get the picture, AVOID THIS PALACE / DUNGEON!
IF THIS IS 4 STARS I AM TOM CRUISE! Even budget motels in Australia and USA when we have motored into smaller towns are better! Well Rome is still a pretty city even with millions milling around, so we kept our cheer,and didnt let this sordid hotel get us down!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCri, Direttore at Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
I will keep your comment in appropriate consideration and will try to improve.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel whhich is located near the Chinese district of Rome.This district in our view is not the best of Rome as we found the area quite dirty and we did not feel safe walking around at night.The hotel staff was not overly friendly but nonetheless helpful.
Breakfast at the hotel was very good with friendly service,no dining facility at this hotel.Our room was spacious with very good shower facility.The hotel is very clean in general.

Room Tip: verify location of hotel within Rome before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCri, Direttore at Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

I read your positive comment and this encourages us to keep on trying to do our best for our guests.

Regarding your issue about the hotel area I accept your poiny of view of course even if I ensure we never registered a security problem in the area since 11 years.

I hope you will be with us in the future and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel located in a very run down neighborhood. Wouldn't let my wife walk alone in it. It is rather close to the main Train station Mixed reviews about staff, on our arrival they were very helpful and could not do enough for us bur when we were checking out the exact opposite was the case. Also we were looking to get a Taxi to the airport as we had a lot of luggage, we seen signs on the side of the cabs that was offering the trip for €30. When we requested one at reception he tried to tell us it would be €40 and we would have to pay him the money direct, once he realsied we knew the real cost he backed down, this was same guy who lacked in customer service, overall would not recommend someone to stay here, more so because of the neighboorhood

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCri, Direttore at Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Good morning,
I thank you for your comment and I am pleased our staff has been friendly and helpful.
About your issue regarding the cost of the cab, well the official cost for the airport is € 48.00 (the municipality of Rome increase the price from € 40.00 about 1 month ago), our staff offered you to pay directly at the hotel the because sometimes taxi drivers ask an higher rate to tourists (it is a shame I know). The price of € 30.00 you seen probably was for a shuttle service, in that case you share a minivan with other persons and the because they have to collect client in several hotel they often delay the pick-up. For that reason the hotel prefer to do not suggest this kind of service to our guest. I am very sorry for this misunderstanding anyway.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Jay, New York, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Ambra Palace in Rome is a Best Western and has all the amenities one would expect, however it's located in an out of the way neighborhood with no shops or dining close by. That said, we did walk to a restaurant with another couple and had a nice meal. It was just a bit far. The rooms varied in size, with ours having ample room and a huge bathroom, but our neighbor's corner room being microscopic. Smoking was an issue as our large group ended up on both smoking and non-smoking floors with switching nearly impossible because the hotel was booked. Breakfast was included and was typical continental fare, with many dry, bready items. Coffee was brought to the table, but the staff had its hands full and didn't make it back for refills. At night, the small bar area provided bad martinis, but friendly service and a place to visit with fellow-travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCri, Direttore at Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

I read your comment is quite positive with the exception of our Martini but I am pleased you found our staff very friendly.
I am going to speak abou the Food and Beverage manager about it and we will try to found out what was wrong.

I thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Close to the center of the city. Metro station is just 2 mins walk.
Rooms are very nice and breakfast served was nice.
Tram and bus stop is very close.
Reception staff is helpful.

Location is not very nice, its little scary at night. So I felt little risky for female travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCri, Direttore at Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

I read your positive comment and this encourages us to keep on trying to do our best for our guests.

I hope you will be with us in the future and thank you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 257, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#213 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel is a prestigious 4 star hotel, result of a complete renovation of an elegant building dating back to 1850; it is located in the Esquilino neighborhood, a few steps from the main train station (Roma Termini), San Giovanni in Laterano Cathedral, Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica, Opera Theatre and Vittorio Emanuele subway stop. Colosseum and Spanish Steps are only few minutes by subway from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Rome
Golden Tulip Rome
Rome Golden Tulip
Ambra Palace Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Ambra Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.