We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel to your Saves list
Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Degli Aldobrandeschi 223, 00163 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15€ credit per room
Ranked #578 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Holiday !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on october 2013 and it was a lovely experience . the hotel was clean and the staffs were friendly . The resturants were very good providing excellent italian crusine. I would recommend this hotel to every one and this is a very true review . i was bit confused in the beginning before going to this hotel reading all the bad reviews it had but frankly speaking it was the best. it is bit far from the City but they have private bus operating on different times which will take you to vatican city for a small sum. it was shame really as couldnt use the swimming pool as it was classed as winter in Italy but was very hot compared to UK lol .
This is a good hotel and you will not regret staying here

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia_Roma_700, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Mr. Christoph,
we would like to express you our heartfelt thanks for the kind words you dedicated us and we are delighted to know that your Experience with us was up to his expectations.
We really hope you will have the opportunity to come back to visit us, maybe in the summertime, to fully enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, surrounded by greenery, the perfect place to relax.
We wait for you!

Best regards,

Chiara Maggiore
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    290
    178
    88
    38
See reviews for
150
259
36
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delavan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great value with easy access to The Vatican by shuttle bus for a small fee. Excellent breakfast, when included and decent restaurant in the hotel. Clean, modern facilities, and wonderful friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia_Roma_700, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Mr. Robert,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Meliá Roma Aurelia Antica. It is great for us to kow that your stay was a pleasant one and that the hotel facilities and services, exceeded your expectations. We are very proud to receive such positive comments and particularly for our staff who we consider as our most important asset to reach our goal: the total satisfation of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Chiara Maggiore
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

we were on a pilgrimage tour of Italy and stayed at the Melia from 4/25-4-30/2014. After visiting Assisi and Florence, our tour came to Rome. This hotel was also nice. Rooms were comfortable and as in Assisi, no air conditioning. Again we slept with a window open. Breakfast was buffet style and offered many choices. Dinner had two choices and gave us a chance to try many different Italian dishes. The gift shop was great with good variety of items at a reasonable price. Wi-Fi was not provided free. The minimum cost was three Euros for two hours usage. That was a continuous two hours. Since I only stayed on the internet for one half hour at a time, this was expensive. I think the service should have been included in the room price or be able to access the internet for that time period over more days. With the electronic equipment and technology available, I'm sure a logon could have been tracked for usage over more than one day. The key card to the room did not always work and had to be reprogrammed. All staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Overall a good stay in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia_Roma_700, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Mr. George,
thank you very much for appreciating our hospitality and for leaving us a such positive review.
We are very delighted to read that you lived a very positive Experience at the Melia Roma Aurelia Antica.
At the same time we regret to know of the inconvenience had with the room key card. Unfortunately, like all electronic devices, sometimes the system may incur temporary failures for which keys need to be recreated.
We hope to have the oppotunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards,

Chiara Maggiore
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at the Melia Roma from 16th to 19th April to celebrate our Ruby Wedding anniversary. The break was booked for us as a gift from our family and we were not at all disappointed. We arrived early and our room was not quite ready but our bags were taken and we enjoyed a drink while we waited. The Reception staff were charming and booked us in very quickly. We were shown to our room, which had been upgraded to a Supreme, by the Hotel manageress Chiara, where a bottle of sparkling wine was waiting for us. The room was excellent, spotlessly clean and with everything you would need, including gowns, slippers, trouser press, tea & coffee and a mini bar.
We headed out into Rome a little while later and caught the shuttle bus from outside the Hotel Reception. The journey was about 25 minutes but did take a little longer coming back in the traffic but this was not a problem, we just sat back and watched Rome go by. The Hotel is in a great place for touring Rome but coming back to a quiet nights sleep!
Breakfast in the hotel was good, plenty of choice and all fresh. Just what we needed before a day's sightseeing. We ate in the Hotel restaurant one evening and the food was lovely and plenty of it. The service was fast and the staff very good.
In some places the Hotel is a little dated but this did not detract from the wonderful break and the very efficient and friendly staff.
We would recommend this Hotel to anyone planning a visit to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia_Roma_700, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you from the bottom of our heart for the beautiful comments you posted regarding your recent Experience with us at the Melia Roma Aurelia Antica. We are truly touched by your kind words you dedicated us and knowing that we contributed, in our small way, to make your Ruby anniversary a special day to always remember, is our greater joy and satisfaction.
There are moments in life, emotions that remain in our memory, we are honored to have been part of one of these.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards,

Chiara Maggiore
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Delaware
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our room was very clean and we enjoyed the extra large towels, however two single beds was not what we expected.
The restaurant staff were very accommodating.
We did not learn of the breakfast bar on the lower floor until the day we checked out.
The shuttle into the center was very convenient and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia_Roma_700, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Mrs. Lynda,
thank you very much for taking the time to review your comments and impressions on your recent stay with us at the Melia Roma Aurelia Antica.
We are very pleased to know that oyu have been satisfied of the quality of our services. In reference to the room with 2 single beds, it is our policy to try to assign the type of room that best suits our guests' needs, by paying particular attention on the specific requests explicited in their booking. In case of any change of preference, we are ready to offer an alternative room typology to meet their demands.
Unfortunately, without further details we cannot go back to your reservation to verify but we will be glad to do it if you would like to contact us directly.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again at the Melia Roma Aurelia Antica.

Best regards,

Chiara Maggiore
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Wow. This place has really gone to crap. The place is worn down and in need of an overhaul. Start with the physical structure. The walls in the hallways have spots of NEARLY the right color of paint all over them but no one has actually taken the time to paint the walls again. The door to my room had been used by someone who opened the bolt (probably to visit their friends next door and not have their door lock) and the repeated slamming of the bolt against the metal caused the metal to bend making the bolt not work. The sheer drapes were sewn due to a tear. It appears that they were stitched while hanging by someone who did not like hold their arms up. A really crappy job of stitching. The faucet in the sink is so badly tarnished its gray. Absolutely no shine at all. The water in the shower is more often ice cold than hot, but to keep you guessing it fluxuates quickly and without warning. The air conditioner.. well, there really is none. There is a fan sound and a dial that suggests it might make the air cooler, but it doesn't. I like a hard bed, but this thing is like a rock!

The service is ok. The bellman was GREAT. Seriously personable and we just love him. The rest of the staff range from okay to completely useless. We had dinner in the restaurant last night. I have eaten there before and was unimpressed but this was a new level. Our waiter had already taken orders and delivered bread and drinks to the two tables which followed us. Then he came to us. He asked and I confirmed that we wanted water with "no gas" twice. He then went off to do God knows what for about ten minutes, looked our way and dashed off for bread and sparkling water. I was able to get that changed for still water within about 5 minutes. When he actually took our meal order I asked for oil and balsamic for the bread.... Yep. You probably guessed. I ended up collecting it myself from a side table after about ten minutes. It was a long and painful process to get an over-priced and very mediocre dinner. Breakfast buffet was the usual pretty good here.

The shuttle is no longer free, and the stop location is not as convenient as it was. And the internet provider is a scam. When you log in your time starts. You have the amount of time you paid for from that moment on. You can't spread it out over time.

This is the third time I've stayed here. I actually was able to use accrued points to reduce my rate. I'm glad because this will be the last time. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a reasonable price, but you can find reasonably priced hotels closer to town and with fewer extra charges.

We are here now and if I could get my money back for the next 6 nights I'd be gone in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Best tip, don't stay here. Next best, get a room on the north side. It will be HOT in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia_Roma_700, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time for posting your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay at the Melia Roma Aurelia Antica.
We have carefully read your comments and we regret very much to know that you were not satisfied of the services used. At the same time we are very surprised because normally we receive very positive feedbacks from our guests , especially about the professionalism and courtesy of our staff , as well as the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms, as you can read in other reviews.
We perfectly agree with you that some hotel areas are dated and need of renewal . The hotel opened in fact in 2000. Aware of this, starting from the end of 2013 we have been carrying out some renovation works, particularly in the public areas and in some rooms and other works are planned and will be carried out during this year.
In reference to the inconveniences you mentioned, occurred in your room, allow us to emphasize the extreme attention we pay to safeguard the tranquillity, safety and security of our guests throughout ther stay, our prime concern, and take immediate action to resolve any problems or malfunctions that may affect these fundamentals.
Unfortunately, without further details we cannot go back to your reservation and to the exact period of your stay to make all the necessary checks on the facts mentioned.
In this regard, we invite you to contact us directly to share further information and try to clarify the situation.
We hope that , despite what you have reported, you would like to come back to visit us and giving us the opportunity to change your mind, by reserving you a special treatment.

Best regards,

Chiara Maggiore
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days (not in a row) on July 2012. On the first day, my tour mate's bag was stolen INSIDE the hotel. She lost her passport, phone, pocket money, etc. My other friend saw the receptionist outside make some signal to the robber to run. My room's itself can't be locked so me and my mom have to make a barricade from the chair because we do not feel safe. I also heard that other people's bag several days before I stayed was stolen during breakfast. Other things beside the safety issue is okay. Be careful with your things if you stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with intact key
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel

Address: Via Degli Aldobrandeschi 223, 00163 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#236 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Roma Aurelia Antica hotel is located in Via degli Aldobrandeschi 223, just a few minutes form the Via Aurelia and the Ring Road (raccordo anulare) exit Aurelia-Citta del Vaticano. The hotel is a magnificent modern structure surrounded by 10 hectares of Mediterranean park in a very quiet area close to the airport Fiumicino and just a few kilometres distance from Vatican city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Melia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Rome
Rome Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.