We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bus number is on the back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel to your Saves list
Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Degli Aldobrandeschi 223, 00163 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #542 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Aurora, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The bus number is on the back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days to open our 18 day vacation. We had pre-arranged a car service to take us from the airport to the hotel; and, then from the hotel to Termini for our train trip to the port of Civitavecchia. Upon getting in on the afternoon after our overnught flight from North America, we just wanted to eat and sleep. We checked in and did just that. The room was large and comfortable, although they had set us up with 2 single beds even though we had specifically requested 1 bed (not a huge deal-we just pushed them together).

We ate at the hotel bar. The service and presentation was great. The food not so much (don't expect much flavour). A bland margarita pizza for lunch and a tastless hamburger for dinner. The good news, for us anyway, is that it set a low expectation for the rest of our trip, which turned out to be amazing.

For those coming from North America, you need to understand that European hotels are very different: room card in a socket to keep the lights one, bidets; no free internet; limited english channels and almost no baseball or american football.

This hotel provides you with a shuttle that takes you into town. The bus drops you off at in front of the Vatican walls. The schedule and map that you will be provided are accurate; and be sure to turn it over for some additional information. Here is why.

On a rainy day in Rome, we just missed the second last bus of the night. A small footnote next to the time for the last Rome pick up suggests that the last bus picks up from 500 meters from the Octaviano station at a specific address. THIS IS NOT TRUE. The bus picks up and drops off at the same location all day and night. We were standing in the rain for almost an hour at the wrong spot, based simply on this little footnote next to the last time slot. If in doubt ask.

In any case, we had a day pass for the metro; so, we were not that concerned. We decided to take the Metro back to the hotel and then a connecting bus. We had read that the bus stops right in front of the hotel. We ended up at the end of one of the bus routes with the bus driver because we got on the wrong bus (after asking the Metro staff at one of the stations and ignoring my better judgement). Eventually we got back to the hotel; but, had we just looked on the back of the map that was provided by the hotel ,we would have known the correct bus to get on (our mistake). We did speak to the person at the desk abot the shuttle bus situation; and, we hope that they will correct the confusion; but, just in case, ask the bus driver where the last pick up will be (this will spare you some grief and time).

We arrived in Rome on September 01st (our 3rd trip to the city); and, others have written about the crowds to get on the shuttle buses. We did not experience this for ourselves; but, it would not surprise me. Also, keep in mind that there is no seating outside the hotel. There are maybe 5 chairs and a table or 2 set up for the smokers; and, there is an outside patio area for the bar; but, if you are waiting for the shuttle, you will not have much opportunity to sit and wait (unless you can score yourself one of the 5 smokers seats).

The pool was closed for our stay (which sounds like a common thread from what I am reading-it might be worth asking if this is important to your stay).

Enjoy your trip to Rome. There is lots to see and do (and you will eat well, I hope).

Room Tip: Pick a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    279
    168
    78
    34
See reviews for
139
251
35
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, TX
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Overall the hotel is a large convention center catering to the bus tour trade. The rooms were of good size and clean. The staff were most helpful and friendly. The in house restaurant was unorganized and the food was only OK. This place is far from the tourist areas. There is a shuttle bus available. Be very aware of the hours of operation or you will be stuck with a large Taxi tab. I will never be at this place again.

Room Tip: This place is very far from the tourist locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was there for a conference. The venue was good and I did not really miss much in the hotel. However, it was far away from everything. I appreciated the complementary bus ride, but would have liked it to go back with the bus a bit later. It was between 27-29 C, but the pool was closed for the season :-(

Room Tip: Bottom floor has a terrace towards the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It is way out there as others have indicated in their reviews. Food at the hotel is poor. Service was fine and room was clean. I will not stay their again as there is nothing around the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Melia Roma a month ago. The price was good, and the rooms were clean and nice, but we were quite disappointed in the hotel overall. The hotel is not only outside of Rome's center, but there are no shops or restaurants near it. It is not within convenient walking distance to anything. There are no metro stops nearby the hotel either. There is a free shuttle which takes you to St. Peter's square. That was very helpful, but it puts a lot of time constraints on your activities. The schedule starts at 8 or 8:30, and the last bus is at 10:00 I believe. If you are planning an early morning activity or staying in the city into the night, the only way to get back to the hotel is by taxi, which is very expensive. The location was our main disappointment. Also, plan to spend money on internet and ironing. There are no irons in room and a shirt was about 9 euro for ironing. There is also no free internet anywhere in the hotel. You also might want to bring a confirmation if you get continental breakfast, because I thought it came with our room, but when we went to get breakfast our name wasn't on their list and they wouldn't give it to us because I didn't have any paperwork stating we receive continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel was very comfortable and staff extremely helpful. The initial drawback was finding it on a little back road off the main ring road around Rome - the signs were not very helpful!
There were three restaurants, all of which were very nice, food was excellent and staff, again very helpful.
There was an outdoor pool which was clean and inviting although we didn't find time to use it.
We hired a car but it wasn't necessary as there was a free courtesy bus which took us into the city, to the road next to the Vatican. There was a full itinerary of bus times throughout the day returning up to 11pm and taking about 20 minutes from/ to the hotel.
As a Mas card holder we were given 30£ per day to spend in the restaurants and two breakfasts for the price of one!
It was my partners birthday and room service left a cake in the room as a surprise for our return - a very nice touch.
The room was very comfortable with Kingsize bed, en-suite bathroom, frideg, television, tea/ coffee facilities etc.
All in all a very comfortable stay - getting back to the airport was much easier than our inward journey, 30 mins!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nice clean hotel with great amenities including a bar, swimming pool, gym, etc. Rooms were nice, spacious, bathrooms were clean. Great buffet breakfast with a huge selection. This hotel is well outside Rome's city centre and you should preferably have a car if you're planning on staying here and doing some sightseeing or going to the city center. The only issue we had with this hotel was the "free shuttle service" to the Vatican area/city center. Do not depend on this if you have a timed reservation. e.g., for a museum or a restaurant. The shuttle does run on time, but it goes only at intervals of 1.5 -2 hours. The biggest problem is that seating is limited, it only holds 20 or so people at one time and the hotel has 400+ guests; with conferences/conventions going on all the time at the hotel, the shuttle is always full. So, chances are pretty high that you will not make it during the morning hours to go to the city centre, or during the evening/night hours to get back to.the hotel. The hotel will not make alternate arrangements and we heard the front desk staff say to some guests, pretty rudely, something along the lines of "If you are staying here (in other words, if you can afford a hotel like this), why don't you get a taxi to go to the city center." (Taxi fare to the city center is about Euro 50, one way,) That sounded pretty unprofessional and we witnessed several altercations at the front desk on this matter. Tip: The best transportation we found was bus no. 892 that goes at intervals of 20-30 mins (bus stop is 2 min. walk from hotel) and takes you to the red line metro (Cornelia station) after a 30 min ride, costing Euro 1.50 each way (no change given on bus and you have to have exact fare for each person traveling). This was our preferred mode of transport as we got a 3-day travel pass in Rome; also bus goes on till midnight, so if you're staying out late (which you are likely to do in Rome) then you have to take the bus to get back to the hotel. Overall, a good hotel but if you don't have a car, location and transportation to city center is an issue.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel

Address: Via Degli Aldobrandeschi 223, 00163 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#207 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Roma Aurelia Antica hotel is located in Via degli Aldobrandeschi 223, just a few minutes form the Via Aurelia and the Ring Road (raccordo anulare) exit Aurelia-Citta del Vaticano. The hotel is a magnificent modern structure surrounded by 10 hectares of Mediterranean park in a very quiet area close to the airport Fiumicino and just a few kilometres distance from Vatican city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Rome
Rome Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Roma Aurelia Antica Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.