We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel albeit clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Worldhotel Ripa Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Worldhotel Ripa Roma to your Saves list
Worldhotel Ripa Roma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Orti di Trastevere 3, 00153 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #566 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Northallerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Basic hotel albeit clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in April 2014. Our 1st impressions weren't great, the hotel looked outdated and the reception staff were miserable and not particularly helpful.
On a plus side we were shown to our room and suitcases were taken up to our room as the lift wasn't big enough for us and our suitcases. However, when we got in the room (119) we were taken aback as it was VERY basic and not at all like the pictures. It was a bit like concrete city with cheap plywood nailed to the wall in an attempt to make it look better. Cheap plywood wardrobes separated the sleeping area and what I suppose could be classed as the living/sitting area (a cheap plywood table with 2 plywood chairs and an old settee)....we never sat there! The tv was out of the arc ages, but to be fair we never even turned it on. Another plus is there was a safe that we could use free of charge, which was easy to work. There was also a mini bar, although we never used it. The bathroom was clean but very dated (tin basin), although the shower was powerful and there was always plenty of hot water.
The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean and was made up every day. We were also given clean towels every day. However, another down side on this hotel was that it was very noisy....guests were noisy...the walls between the rooms were paper thin, so you could hear your neighbours....the windows didn't block out sound so you could hear the roadworks outside the hotel (& occasional traffic).... But the thing that disturbed us the most were noisy guests walking along the corridor to their rooms, there were no manners or consideration for fellow guests, their conversations were loud at all times of the night (right up until 2-3am) and the reception staff didn't appear to manage this. One night I hardly slept as I was constantly being disturbed.
The breakfast was the usual continental breakfast, they tried to provide an English breakfast but it didn't look at all appetising so we never tried it, however there was cereal, toast, fruit and yogurts, and also meats, cheeses, bread and croissants so plenty to choose from. A major plus was the freshly squeezed orange (blood orange) which was a lovely start to the day.
The location of the hotel was great, it took about half an hour to walk to the colosseum and 35 minutes to the Vatican. There was a tram about 3minutes walk from the hotel, although we never caught it. And the was a taxi rank about 6 minutes walk away.
One thing we didn't realise was that we had to pay city tax on top of what we had already paid, which was 3 euros per night per person...

Room Tip: Ensure your not in a noisy basic room!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    343
    197
    90
    31
See reviews for
115
366
40
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

A most reasonable priced hotel for such a quiet central location very near to the centre of Rome. You can walk to the Collusium in under 30 minutes or take the tram
The rooom was of a good size with a balcony overlooking an almost finished big block of flats and the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast was very good with fresh ornage juice and all that one would expect in a higher catagory hotel
For persons on a smaller budget I would give this hotel the highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

There were three of us sharing in a good sized room with small kitchenette and balcony. No views and a modern building but well-positioned for Trastevere and tram to Piazza Venezia. Buffet breakfast was reasonable considering the hotel was full on our visit. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2012, for my 30th birthday.

The hotel is just off the long Main Street in Trastevere. If you are staying in Rome I'm 100% Trastevere is the place to stay!

The hotel itself is very clean and modern. The rooms are ample with living / dining areas, lots of wardrobe space and good size bathrooms. On the Saturday my boyfriend decorated the room for my birthday and after a day out sightseeing we came back to champagne on ice compliments of the manager / staff. This was a lovely touch and thought. The mini bar / snacks in the room were extortionate, which is to be expected, however the room does have a good size fridge to keep any food / drinks in (the rooms feel like apartments).
The breakfasts were really good with a wide variety, all well cooked and good quality. The staff were pleasant and the room bright, fresh and airy. We did however find the european guests to be cold and unfriendly. This unfortunately brought the atmosphere in the room down.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend or return :)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Ok budget hotel. Staff seems to be a little bit over employed based to their urgency. It didn't leave very professional feeling in the reception and the restaurant. The restaurant over all was too noisy with the yelling kids and barking dogs. Spoiled our mood. What comes to breakfast, jackpot! Something for the everyone, very nice indeed.
We like to walk, so the location for the hotel was ok. If you go opposite direction from the central there are nice green areas with the awesome views. Also if there happens to be the market Sunday the location in great. Rooms were... different, some how funky I could say. Unfortunately walls and doors are very thin, prepare to hear everything. Top of that there is a construction site next the hotel, so you will start hearing banging after 7:00 am during the working days.

Room Tip: Avoid room 119, it's located next to main electricity room which keeps wheezing noise. Also fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here last September and thought the hotel was very good value. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Enjoyed having a balcony. The location is great, only a fifteen minute walk to the popular sites and trams and buses also stop nearby. Also, a five minute walk from some fantastic restaurants in the heart of Trastevere. Brilliant choice of food at breakfast, only problem is trying to find a table, think an extra dining area is required. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel if visiting Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

They got a very old building and did a very low budget renovation (horrible outcome).

Worse things:
- Matress (you can feel the bottom of the bed);
- Internet (just enough speed to make you angry about it);
- Room (very old carpet, old/damaged furniture, dirty walls);
- Oxidated metals;
- 14" Tv;

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana A, Direttore vendite at Worldhotel Ripa Roma, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Mr Costa,
Thank you for posting a review, I am really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here.
Regarding the renovation, I'm so sorry to read that you mentioned a "low budget renovation": as all the recent renovations at the hotel have been made following a design project, that's definitely not a low budget one!
I do hope you give us another chance, maybe by booking a Superior Room category or a Suite and I am sure we can change your opinion of the Worldhotel Ripa Roma experience.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Worldhotel Ripa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldhotel Ripa Roma

Address: Via Orti di Trastevere 3, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#232 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Worldhotel Ripa Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Trastevere, one of Rome’s oldest most vibrant neighborhoods, Worldhotel Ripa Roma is daringly modern and smart with a look and feel of a contemporary art gallery. Modern design in no way inhibits the personal service and attention devoted to all guests. 197 rooms and suites to optimize space, light and comfortin a chic but friendly atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, minibar, working desk with sofa, WI-fi connection and rooms Rituals amenities. Mini gym on first floor with Techno-gym facilities.Underground parking. Ripa Place, our newly refurbished restaurant is a bistrot serving innovative roman cuisine to appeal and surprise our guests and friends. The minimal and chic atmosphere is enriched by a selected list of local wine.When in Rome, you cannot miss: strolling around in Campo de’Fiori, rent a scooter to feel like the famous couple Peck-Hepburn for a real Roman Holiday, every day at noon on the Gianicolo Hill the cannon sound Midday, sunset at Giadino degli Aranci, Aventine key hole, test if he really loves you and ask him to put his hand inside the Mouth of truth inside church S.Maria in Cosmedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Worldhotel Ripa Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripa Hotel Rome
Hotel Ripa Rome
Rome Hotel Ripa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worldhotel Ripa Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.