We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again at Borromeo. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borromeo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Borromeo Hotel to your Saves list
Borromeo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Via Cavour, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #255 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Would stay again at Borromeo. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at hotel Borromeo recently, no complaints with my stay. Breakfast was a lovely selection of hot food and pastry. Staff were helpful and friendly. Virgilio in particular I got on well with, very knowledgeable about the city and couldn't do enough to make me feel welcome.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    303
    105
    39
    37
See reviews for
201
388
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

10 min from train station 15 from colloseum
They helped us plan our sightseeing. Great desk staff
We rode metro where ever we needed to go
Great restaurant in the ally behind hotel
Breakfast included scrambled eggs which is not always common in European hotel breakfast. and a beautiful area to eat with outdoor eating as well

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 2nd & 3rd times to stay at the Hotel Borromeo – 6 nights total – with 3 nights away for a visit to Pompeii and Sorrento.

This reasonably priced hotel has a great central location for people who like to walk, as my husband and I do. It’s located on Via Cavour, just a few blocks from Rome’s Termini, the main train station.

Upon our arrival at Termini station, we had a pleasant walk from Termini – all DOWNHILL – pulling our small carry-on suitcases. When we arrived at the Hotel Borromeo, it was so nice to see Igor’s familiar smiling face again! He has been promoted to work at the Front Desk now since our previous trip to Rome in 2011. He is still just so delightfully pleasant and always helpful. We also came to know “G-G“ better during this trip and look forward to seeing both of them again!

This trip to Rome was with my brother, his wife and their adult son, who had his own room. They had rooms on the street-side of the hotel and ours was on the backside, as it was during our previous stay in 2011. Much quieter on the backside – especially on Saturday night when my brother couldn’t sleep becuz of noisy people partying across the street.

Our room was small by US standards, but very clean, with a comfortable bed and a good size bathroom with excellent lighting for applying make-up. We also had a window which was fantastic for fresh air and a little bit of a view. The Internet worked perfectly and breakfast was even better than before! Somehow those eggs were tastier than we’ve had in years!

From this hotel, we can walk to all of the major sites – like the Coliseum which is only a few blocks away. The laundry across the street is still there (they wash, dry & fold for you!) and they do a fine job at a reasonable cost. The area around the hotel is very safe, after dark. There are several restaurants with sidewalk seating nearby, as well as a shop on the closest corner to the hotel where you can get delicious Gelato most any time of day. (We did – at least once a day!)

On several afternoons, we took a break from sightseeing and all met on the roof’s tables to share a bottle of wine and some snacks. Very delightful memories!

When it was time to leave the Hotel Borromeo and head back to Termini for the quick train ride to the airport, we did not take one of those ridiculously expensive taxis back to Termini. Instead, we walked DOWNHILL one block to the very conveniently located Metro Station and rode it back to Termini for 1 Euro each!

We will be back to Rome in a few years and will stay at the Hotel Borromeo again. Hopefully, Igor will be the hotel’s manager by then!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back-side -- not on the street-side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gigi was very helpful and even upgraded my room when it was available. Spacious and modern facility. Reasonably good breakfast ranging from bread to cold cut meat. The location was terrific because it is within the walking distance from the termini station (main)!

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spend a few weeks at the Hotel Borromeo, it could not have been in a better location! It was close to the termini train station and just minutes from the Colosseum. It was perfectly situated in the center of everything making it easy to walk to most of the 'famous' sites. Highly recommend it to anyone visiting Roma!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just back from a quick trip to Rome. Found this little hotel on line and it was priced perfectly for our budget. A Short 10-15 minute walk to the Termini, and short 10-15 minute walk to the Colosseum and surrounding sites. The breakfast was plentiful, eggs,pancetta, pastries, coffee, juice, apples and oranges we took along for later, etc.. Front desk was very friendly- both gentlemen we dealt with were very helpful. We felt very safe walking after dark. If you get rooms on the street side they are a bit noisy, but we were tired from fun days so that didn't matter much to us. Chinese Restaurant across the street was super good after several "Italian" meals it was a nice change. I had read some saying WiFi was spotty, It worked perfectly for us. I recommend and would stay here if we should make another trip.

Room Tip: Best to get rooms that do not face the street. Also they only have 1 A/C-Heat system so hard to cont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has a great location and close to main attractions, which after 5 days here, applies to most hotels. Our room was fine with an extra bed for our family of five...not tons of room, but was alright. Shower had nice power, but the bed was on the hard side. Wifi worked ok. Nice check in by Igor.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borromeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borromeo Hotel

Address: 117 Via Cavour, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in Rome
#183 Business Hotel in Rome
#209 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borromeo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Borromeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borromeo Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borromeo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.