We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and recommendable hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borromeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Borromeo Hotel to your Saves list
Borromeo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Via Cavour, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #255 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Good and recommendable hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We are a young couple from Denmark/Sweden who stayed here in late August this year. We can only say that we were extremely satisfied with the hotel: the receptionists are very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast buffet is brilliant. The rooms are clean and fine. The only thing that bothered us just a bit was the distance - but of course we knew that before booking. There's much life (especially in the evening) in the area around the Trevi Fountain and when walking it takes 35 minutes to get there. However, the metro is close to the hotel and is therefore always a solution if you're not too fond of walking. We'll definitely recommend our family and friends to stay at the Hotel Borromeo when in Rome!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you very much for your positive review about our Hotel.
We are glad you appreciated our services and we hope to see you again soon .
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    303
    105
    39
    37
See reviews for
201
388
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My entire family stayed here after a cruise (12 people). We were at this hotel for 3 days and the hotel was very clean and comfortable. We had a quad room and it was very spacious for my family of 4. The rest of my family said they liked their rooms as well. The staff was amazing. They were extremely helpful and made sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. We had free wifi which was great. We got breakfast every morning up on the top floor. Very nice and lots to choose from. They also had outside seating on a rooftop deck which was very nice.
We have 2 small kids and this hotel was in a great location and pretty close to the sites. The Colosseum is with in walking distance which was perfect.
3 days is not enough time in Rome so when I get a chance to go back I will be staying at this hotel again. Would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,
we are very happy to receive such a good review about our Hotel and your stay with us.
Your high positive words make us proud and happy to have given your family a memorable stay in Rome.
We hope to see you soon,
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 days after a cruise. There were 12 of us, including 4 kids under 6. The hotel is great, very clean and close to everything that most want to see in Rome. It is a short walk to the colosseum and forum and about the same distance to the train station. Two metro stations are also very close. The hotel has good size rooms, with free wifi and a nice breakfast, served on the top floor, or outside on a rooftop deck. It was a great way to start our days. The staff are tremendous. They are helpful, friendly and very concerned for the well being of their guests. The front desk, especially Gigi, were very good at assisting in places to see, places to eat, making transportation arrangements, etc. Its location, however, is probably the best thing about it. This is my second time staying here and I can't wait to return for my third. Very highly recommended

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Kevin,
we are glad you had again a positive stay in our Hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
We and the staff all are very happy to have been a good part of your travel.
Thank you and Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My three girlfriends and I have just returned from Borromeo Hotel.

It is a brilliant Hotel in a great location. The staff are extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful.

The rooms are spotlessly clean (which is indeed a compliment from four very fussy ladies).

The outside terrace is a lovely, relaxing place to start the day with a very good continental breakfast.

When we return to Rome we will definitely, without question stay at at The Borromeo Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jane,
thank you very much for your review.
We are happy that you and your friends liked our Hotel and had a great stay with us.
We are glad you appreciated in particular the cleanliness of the Hotel and the breakfast on the terrace.
We hope to see you soon,
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in August with our two children and were delighted with the Hotel. The air conditioning worked really well, the room was clean and the staff were helpful and friendly beyond belief (Gigi deserves a special mention). We did not find the hotel noisy (we were on the second floor at the back of the hotel) and slept extremely well, aided by the air conditioning. The hotel is walking distance to the Termini Station (where we picked up an open air tour bus) and the Colloseum. The breakfast was good with the lovely option of sitting outside on the terrace. We would definitely recommend this Hotel and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your review about the Hotel Borromeo.
We are happy that you had a great stay with us and about your excellent feedback.
We hope to welcome you again in Rome in our Hotel.
Best Regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is an intimate, friendly hotel within walking distance of The Colloseum and The Termini Station. It is extremely good value for money and spotlessly clean. The hotel's main selling point however is the friendly staff who deliver outstanding customer service (of a higher standard than I have received in certain 5 star establishments!) We stayed here for three nights with two other families. Throughout our stay, all personnel were extremely helpful in helping us make reservations, welcoming the children with little treats etc but on the last morning, they excelled themselves. All of our party (11 in total including children and an infant) were delayed for 4 hours after check -out,waiting for a pre-booked car to arrive. Gigi, the hotel front desk manager, was outstanding and went out of his way to make the delay bearable. He brought us unsolicited drinks and snacks and made us feel extremely welcome. As a result of his service and kindness, I would not hesitate to return, or recommend this hotel to anyone else.

Room Tip: We had room 303. Although the room is not huge (for 2 adults, a child and an infant) it was spotless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you very much for the excellent review about our Hotel.
Guest's opinions are very important for us to improve our service.
We hope to see you soon in our Hotel and from all of us a warm thanks!!!
The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here before and after our cruise. We are a family of 4 and it was so nice to have a room in Rome where we could stay together and not book 2 separate rooms. It was tight with a queen and 2 cots but worked perfectly for what we needed. The rooms were clean, bathrooms new and nice. It was 37 degrees when we were there and the a/c worked perfect all day and night. We did get wifi with our room, we were on the first floor and never had a problem with it working, and we often had 4 devices on at once! The location is perfect for sightseeing and accessing the Termini train station. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a great grocery store down the street, Elite for some fruit, snacks or wine! Breakfast option was nice as it would have been tough to find breakfast in the area, it is an ok breakfast but you cannot complain when it is included. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you very much for your great review about our Hotel.
We are very pleased you and your family had a great stay at the Hotel Borromeo and we hope to see you again in the Eternal City!
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Borromeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borromeo Hotel

Address: 117 Via Cavour, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in Rome
#183 Business Hotel in Rome
#209 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borromeo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Borromeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borromeo Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borromeo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.