We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marcantonio, elegant apartment in Rome city centre

Saved Save
You added Marcantonio, elegant apartment in Rome city centre to your Saves list.
Marcantonio Borghese
Marcantonio Borghese
Marcantonio Borghese
Living room with dining area
Rome
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
johnwhnsn
Hudson Heights Qc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kitchen, Bedrooms and Bathrooms Need Improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very spacious apartment in a good location – easy walk to most tourist attractions. It is a very old building and it shows, even though the living area of the apartment was nicely renovated. The stay was spoilt because renovations were in progress on the floor above from 8:00 to 16:00, with jackhammers etc. Fortunately we were not present most of the day. The owner apologized several times (and he is a charming man) – something about a family situation (his) and a cousin. But really we should have been notified before we came, so we could have cancelled and chosen another apartment. The kitchen equipment is old and cranky, and the bedrooms are musty. The mattress in the main bedroom is old and lumpy. Walking on the floors in bare feet produced black soles! Either the floors were very dirty, or the linoleum was wearing out. The kitchen is too small for more than one person at a time. The master bathroom had a lingering odor, and despite frequent flushes of the toilet, the odor never completely disappeared. The master shower is a little hazardous – we are in our 60s and getting out of this shower onto a wet tile floor caused considerable trepidation. The shower in the other bathroom is child-size and was too small to use for anyone over 6 feet tall, or anyone overweight or claustrophobic. The apartment is on a busy street, but there is no noise from that source. There were only a couple of English language TV channels, and these were news channels, so the TV was essentially useless to us. Wifi worked well. The owner is pleasant and helpful and lives in the building. Overall, if we ignore the renovations going on overhead, this was an OK experience, but not great. Price is high considering the condition of the bedrooms and bathrooms.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
2 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 2 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
2 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 2 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bedrooms and Bathrooms
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2012
Dear Sir,
I am sorry I coudn't tell you about the works in progress in the apartment above, but I cannot guess if someone is going to go trough major refitting in his house. The matrasses in both bedrooms have been bought in 2012, I give to all my guests, together with the towels, some bath mats to evitate trepidations exiting the shower, I am sure you got them as well. I am 6.4 feet and have been living in this flat for several years, and did the shower in the small bathroom every morning, though I am not claustrophobic. I am sorry you probably won't come back to give me a second chance, but still I hope you will.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
The Macs
Canada
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
TheFrogLa...
Buffalo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Even better than the pictures, and a splendid location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I and a friend rented this handsome, spacious apartment for one week. We were very pleased with just about everything. The only drawback was the poor cellphone reception. Other than that, it was splendid. The location is excellent for seeing the sights. It's a 5-minute walk from the Piazza del Popolo, which has a metro stop, and it's also within walking distance of most major tourist sights, such as the Pantheon and the Vatican. Despite the central location, the apartment itself is very quiet, being on a side-street and having most of its windows facing an inner courtyard. There is a fully equipped kitchen, free internet, a washer, two full baths with showers (the master bath is huge and beautiful), and comfortable beds with excellent linens. There are even some nice houseplants. The owner provided maps, and there's even a library with some tour books and novels and some DVDs. I'd definitely recommend this apartment over a hotel for a group of 3 or 4 people traveling to see Rome's historic art and architecture.
The apartment is on the second (European first ) floor, but there is a tiny elevator that can be used if necessary.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cell phone reception
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Aaron_Adk...
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Pleasant and Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Five of us including three adults and two children stayed here for a spring break vacation. We had a pleasant and enjoyable stay. First, the location was great. We could walk to make places of interest and there were restaurants and stores nearby. And the nearby Piazza de Poppolo always had taxis, which was a real convenience in Rome. Second, the owner lives in the building. This is a great convenience. And with a vacation rental, it is possible that you will not understand something and need to be shown how it works. Third, the owner was able to arrange transportation back and forth from the airport and a babysitter (a big convenience). The price was high for the babysitter (but probably no more than hotel rates), but she was great. Fourth, we enjoyed the amenities of the vacation rental (a washing machine, a dishwasher, wireless internet, cable tv, etc.).

On the downside, the master bedroom does not have a shower. And there were times one had to pause in the shower and wait for the hot water to return.

Make sure that you bring soap and shampoo.

The bottom line is that we enjoyed our visit and would consider staying here again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The total cost
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2012
Dear Aaron,
Thank you for your nice review.
I hope to see you and your nice family back again soon.
Yours sincerely
Luca Cornaggia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
moscow
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 8 of 5 stars Cleanliness
7 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$324
/ Night
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Luca Cornaggia
Speaks English, French, Italian
Listed since : Sep 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing