We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeus Appian Way on a bicycle with Georgia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bici & Baci Vespa Tours in Rome

Bici & Baci Vespa Tours in Rome
Via del Viminale, 5, Rome, Italy
+39 06 482 8443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #212 of 889 Activities in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: BICI & BACI invites you to discover Rome in an altogether different way - by experiencing it on two wheels. We have two centers, one in front of the Termini Central Train station and the second just before the Roman Forum, with a small vintage vespa museum that are specialized on bicycles tours, vespa tours, 500 tours, vintage vespa tours and calessino tours. Bicycles and scooters are the best means of transport for buzzing around Rome with complete freedom of access and without all the hassles associated with parking and timetables. Our guides are certificated and passionate people, you will learn from them a lot of tips about Rome, eating, drinking and having fun like a Roman citizen!
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeus Appian Way on a bicycle with Georgia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Yesterday just before we had to start our biking tour the sky became gray and menacing. We were almost giving up. At the shop there was an artist that was painting an old Vespa with Fellini's movies. We were heartily welcomed by two young gentlemen that invited us to visit also the vintage Vespa exposition underground since we were early: it was very well done. Then the other clients of the tour and our guide Georgia arrived and in 15 minutes we were riding direction South. The Ancient Appian way is the queen of old Roman roads and one of the most beautiful central parks of Rome, rich in history and ruins. Georgia showed us a lot of the highlights reaching the imperial walls, but also told us a lot of spicy story and beautiful legends that made the trip special to all of us. A sudden shower caused us to stop by a cute shop known by our knowledgeable guide and we got to taste different high quality cold cuts and special cheeses that we never heard of before. Thanks really for everything to everybody at Bici & Baci and to our lovely guide.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    46
    3
    2
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sabadell, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT RENT THEM BIKES: Abuse of privileged location.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our experience:

We are a 25-26 years old couple from Barcelona. We rented two bikes there because it is really close to Colosseo. The deal was that we would rent 2 bikes for 2 hour; from 17-19h (closing time). According to their rates at the time (november 2013) 4€/h/bike that would mean 16€ total. Paperwork was very fast. We took the bikes and departed heading Trastevere neighbourhood.
After crossing the Tiber my bike's chain went off... Ok, I'm in "happy mood" and decide to put it back un place to keep going without wasting much precious time. But the story repeats time after time and I end up driving my girldfriend's bike (the one that works) pulling her on my crappy bike with a hanging chain. We get to the shop at 19:05 and nobody's is there (so damn punctual).

We tie our bikes to the main entrance (secured with a video camera) and snuck the locker key underneath the door. Next day they charge me 22€ instead of 16€. We came back to the shop just to make sense of this and explain them once again what happened -we sent an email to them with the whole story right after we left the bikes-. After arguing for a while (with a wall), their conclusion is that we must pay for the whole day rent (11€/day/bike) eventhough one of the bikes did not work because it was our fault not to tell them before they closed and nobody cared at giving us this telephone number.

They say that is "normal". Well... In my head, the "normal" thing to do is to advise everybody not to rent them a bike because they do not give a [--] if somebody gets in trouble; there are thousands of tourists that will keep paying.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gio76azzurro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Bici & Baci Vespa Tours in Rome, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Eva and Oriol,
sorry to read about your hanger and sorry we didn't have obviously the time to explain you the situation. Behind a shop there are people working. We had to work together many years to afford such a location. When you signed the contract if you would have read it you would realize that there is the beginning date and time, but not the closing time.
There is no special deal. It's the same for all clients: if they want they can decide to keep the bicycle or the vespa longer. Actually in your email to us you wrote that you took them at 4pm that it's more reasonable since in two hours going back and forth from Trastevere is a bit of a rush, especially if you are on holidays it makes no sense. We have no power once the shop is closed to know what time you came back: at that point for us it's the same since we will have back the bike in the shop the next morning.
You wrote on your feedback that the chain kept coming off on the way back while in your email you wrote that you had to walk. In any case, as they told you already, if you would have called you could have received free assistance and alert us you were arriving late. Why you didn't call us?
We start at each shop around 7am everyday to keep well bicycles and scooters and to improve our service. For example the new bikes have internal gears that are more resistance to bumps.
So we really close at 7pm, so our clients are always advised to arrive before since there is the contract to close. A contract that you signed and that holds you responsible in case of stolen bikes. Living at night our bicycles on the street has been a hazard: you have been really lucky. And we with you since we hate to have to argue with our clients especially for 20 euros when we work full day with passion with hundreds of people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My first review on tripadvisor is for them”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I took a bicycle tour with my family the day before yesterday advised by an enthusiastic friend that visited Rome in March. The staff at the store was kind and witty in spite of the busy shop, our guide Angela was lovely and gave us the time of our life, so we took her suggestion to enjoy also the Vespa tour since the itinerary could be quite different. We already thought about it since a tour of Rome in Vespa is something we pictured as very Italian, but we were a bit afraid. I'm glad yesterday we won our fears and we discovered a lot more. The city is amazing, a lot greener than we imagined and with experienced drivers you have only to wonder, have fun and take pictures. Angela showed us some peculiar Churches with secret rooms outside the main touristic paths, caper plants growing out of the third centuries city walls, told us about the town gossips from ancient legends to 80s criminal gangs and more. The two tours were really different from each other since one helped us wonder in freedom in the busiest streets around the main touristic attractions, the Vespa tour brought us on the highest hills, outside the city walls and even on the romantic Ancient Appian Way. Thanks for everything!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice experience on a vespa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We wanted to rent a Vespa to visit some more distant located places (like the EUR) and off course to get a 'feel' of the dare-develism that most Romans are inhibited with. And what a joy it was!

Scooter driving in Rome is like skiing; you are only responsible for the people ahead of you. Traffic rules are more or less considered to be 'suggestions' offered by the Italian legislators.

Two tips to make scooter driving easier;
1) Rent the scooter on a sunday, traffic is much less severe
2) Go with two people on a scooter, the one on the back can give directions (and even read a map relative comfortably) while the driver can focus on the traffic.

Me and my wife rented a vespa for 24 hours. We arrived without reservation a the Bici&Baci store and despite the fact that many people were in the shop we were helped quickly and very friendly. The scooter looked a bit battered (but which transport vehicle in Rome doesn't?), but it ran perfectly. Even though we rented one with the lightest engine, it proved to be sufficiently powered to overcome the seven hills of Rome.

To go short;
-friendly people
-scooters are well maintained
-all insurance etc is well taken care off
-people in the shop speak English very well

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best way to see Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had been to Rome several times and seen the main sites so wanted to reconnect with our favorite other spots such as the Circus maximus and the best views such as that from the Eden Hotel bar. Our friends spent the day queuing the vatican while we whizzed through the suprisingly quiet streets on 2 wheels like Peck and Hepburn. The staff were helpful and polite as well as tolerant of my rusty moped skills. We were told the restricted areas to avoid. 50 cc was enough to get us up any of the 7 hills. we looked at doing a guided tour but a whole day at 45 euros was a bargain given what we were spending on other treats. I would do again any day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bici & Baci Vespa Tours in Rome also viewed

 

Been to Bici & Baci Vespa Tours in Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bici & Baci Vespa Tours in Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.