We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best service we have ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Monti to your Saves list
Hotel De Monti
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Sipoo, Finland
1 review
“The best service we have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Yes this is not a hotel in a traditional sense and maybe this hotel is not for everyone. But for us it was so much more!

The fact that the hotel is very small and centrally located in an old building with no hotel sign and with steep stair is only the part of the charm. And what a wonderful way to start the day by eating a plentiful and delicious breakfast in bed! The rooms are spotless and decent size but the best thing is the service that is very hard to top! Mauro did everything possible and even more to make our stay a pleasant one!! We really felt more like guests or even friends not just customers that come and go.

The hotel may be only a 2-star hotel but it was a 5-star experience. Thank you for the lovely stay! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi there! It is good to hear from you again!!!

We would like to inform you that has been a real pleasure to have helped you; for our guests (friends!!!), this and more!!!!!

Thanks for reminding, as well, that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that we have no sign outside.

The breakfast is served directly in room every morning (there is a paper to be written down the day before that has to be left in a box) and we are happy you enjoyed it.

See you next time, the soonest possible hopefully!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    95
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
308
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

At best it should be listed as a pensions. It is 7 rooms on the 4th floor walk up of a building with only way to find it is a label next to the buzzer. They are not open until 1pm so no entry until then. Don't plan on leaving your luggage if you arrive before then. It is decieving based on other reviews. We picked it because it is near the train station and we had one night in Rome before flying home. Not a neighborhood I would walk around at night in.
The room was clean and seemed freahly painted. Cubby hole of a bathroom. No english channels. They did have wifi. Bed listed a king but was a queen at best an not very comfortable.
I was just glad we only had 1 night here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like first of all to thank you for posting a review about us, but let us explain to anyone is reading:

- it is written EVERYWHERE (and we will be never tired enough to repeat it) that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that we have no sign outside. Why didn't you send us an e-mail, asking us some directions (that also are written in our website)??????

- It is written EVERYWHERE that our check-in time is ONLY from 1pm to 6pm and it is absolutely NOT TRUE that we do not open the door before or after that time!!!!! If someone comes in the morning, there is surely the possibilitiy to leave the luggage here, or after 8pm, we can organize a late check-in, if we are informed.....

Our rooms are normally sized with a KING SIZE BED, we have no QUEEN SIZE BEDS and for the Roman standard, our rooms are even bigger. We repeat, we are a 2 stars Hotel and if you were looking for a 5 stars superior Hotel, of course we are not the best solution. No english channels, but we have not small bathrooms......

The thing we do not understand is: as you already knew all this information and you are writing as it was a surprise for you, we now ask you: what was the real problem?

Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Both the location of this hotel, near the Colisseum, and the relatively low price of the Hotel de Monti are its best features. The hotel occupies the third level of an old Roman apartment house, and as indicated in other reviews, the climb up the four flights of stairs is difficult. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful, and the provided breakfast in the room is good. The rooms are very clean, though small and sparsely decorated. The bathroom is also small, and the shower tiny, though the water pressure is very good. This hotel is ok for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for posting a review!

We remind that our Hotel has no sign outside and on our website there are all the information about how to reach us. Also there is no elevator and we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift.

Our small rooms are all 17 squared meters, generally bigger than the average Roman standard, so, for the future guests, do not expect the biggest rooms in Rome!!!!

Thank you for writing all this information, you do not even imagine how helpful they are, in order to give people the real idea of our situation.....but let us do not agree with a thing: we are not only for short stay, indeed, the more you stay with us, the better your stay will be.....ahahahah

We hope there will be a next time with us, to give you what we call, the enough time to love us forever!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Whilst I will agree with a previous review that the hotel is not the easiest to find, once you do, it is well worth it. Access is up 3 floors with no lift but that is made clear in all bookings and on the website so is to be expected. After a number of hours walking around Rome, the stairs were tiring but never became a problem. Central to almost all the major tourist sites such as the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon (all within easy walking distance), it is also very close to shops, pizzerias (as recommended by the staff) and bars. The insider sight seeing tips were invaluable, saving us at least 3 hours of queuing at the Colosseum. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed in a hotel room, although I would've liked facilities to make tea/coffee. I would also say, as there was so much to do and see, the TV was only rarely on as background noise whilst getting ready to go out so having no English channels was not a problem. I liked the way breakfast was served, like being spoilt with breakfast in bed everyday, and really enjoyed what was on offer (the jam was delicious). The staff were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful and the service was superb, I really cannot fault them. They made my birthday trip to Rome a very special and memorable visit and I would happily stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for such a good review!!

Yes, our Hotel has no sing outside and we suggest everyone to get information about how to get here on our website.

In our small rooms there is a private bathroom with shower, air conditiong, a hairdryer and a TV with NO english channels, as it is not a pay-per-view and no one speaks english here in Italy ahahahahah!!!!!

One of our strenght is suggestions we can give to our guest once in here, through a map of Rome where we explain the best ways how to enjoy the City at the best, including tips how to avoid the big queues and the best places to eat the real original Roman kitchen.

See you the next time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My mother and I just spent 4 lovely nights at the Hotel de Monti this past week, and I cannot recommend it enough! First of all, it's sparkling clean. Everything was well-maintained and very very clean in the room. Second of all, Alessandro and Mauro are wonderful and very helpful. They answered all of our questions about sightseeing, restaurants, public transit, how to get to the Appian Way and back, etc. Breakfast was delightful and delivered to your door each morning at the time you wanted. Selections included croissants, butter, homemade jam, biscotti, ham, cheese, yogurt, fresh squeezed orange juice, espresso, capuccino, macchiato, american coffee, milk, toast. This was great. We filled up and only had to pay to eat a light lunch while out and about. There was free wifi that had a strong signal in my room. The beds were firm but I slept well.

This is, of course, a 2-star hotel. There is no gym or restaurant. There are only 7 rooms, so it feels like a bed and breakfast. There is no elevator, so you have to walk 3 flights of stairs (they carry your bags for you when you arrive). The front desk is only manned from 1 to 8 p.m. daily. So please don't expect something they could not possibly deliver. However, for the money, it was an AMAZING experience!

Now, a few warnings. The showers are very small. If you are a regular sized person, this is no problem. If you are fat or very large, this will be a problem for you as you will not have a lot of room to manuver. Also, the beds were twins, but narrower than US twins. If you have a couple sleeping, they will push the beds together .You should know that this is the NORM in Italy, even in the 4-star hotel we stayed in later on the trip, paid with by frequent flyer miles. But these beds were a little narrower than the twins in the 4-star hotel. Again, if you are overweight or very large, this is probably not the best choice for you. The floors are tile. This is again, NORMAL for Italy hotel rooms. But don't expect carpet. The tile was great--very clean, and kept the room cool. There is street noise. This is NORMAL for Rome hotels. If you are sensitive, ask for the side opposite the street or bring foam earplugs. We had the same noise at the 4-star hotel.

All in all, comparing the 4-star hotel (very recognizable name at the top of the Spanish steps) vs. the Hotel De Monti, I honestly preferred the Hotel De Monti! Super clean, amazing staff, free wifi, great free breakfast delivered to your door, great location near Termini and Colesseum side of town, what more could you want?

Room Tip: Rooms on the non-street side are quieter. Bring earplugs and an eyemask if you are sensistive to noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel, mostly because you said the truth!!!!!!

We confirm that we are at the third floor of an ancient building without elevator and we add that we have no sing on the outside, so our website would be the best solution, in order to learn how to reach us.

Breakfast consists in all regional products, brought in room every morning at the time requested.

Our small rooms are all furnished with clean towels every day, air conditioning, hairdryer, TV and (let us explain better) they can be with a double bed or 2 twin beds.

Rome is a frenetic City, our rooms have all double glassed windows but of course there is still some noise during the hardest working hours of the day and thank you very very very much for reminding there is like this in all Rome...

For the rest, it has been a pleasure to meet you and we are looking forward to meeting you again!

p.s. all our best regards to your mom as well!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We loved to stay in Hotel Monti and we'll come back for sure!

The hotel is perfectly located - most of the sightseeing points are reachable by foot.

The rooms are very clean and quite big. Only bad thing was the smell which came out of the shower.

Absolut best thing about Hotel Monti is its staff. Very, very friendly and helpful! They told us a lot of insider tips for sightseeing, warned us about tourist traps and gave us very good restaurant recommendations.

Thanks Mauro and Allessandro, you made our trip to Roma better!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi there and thank you very much for this wonderful review!!!

You wrote a lot of good things (thank again!!!!) that you left us describing the bad ones!!!!

We are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and our Hotel has no sign outside the building, so it is better to have some information about how to reach us, from our website.

Look forward to meeting you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's maybe not for everybody but we loved this hotel, location was perfect with lots of great restaurants yards away. Mauro was spot on with his tips and recommendations, we ate twice at La Carbonara just down the road after Mauro recommended it, and had the best pasta we had ever eaten. Breakfast served in our room was tasty and set us up for the day. The rooms were spotless, although there was some noise from above but nothing that bad, really could not fault the hotel especially the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello! Thank you very much for such a wonderful review!!!

We are always glad and happy to let our guests be satisfied through the real Roman places where to eat good, avoiding those useless places where they give you plastic food, emptying your pockets!

Also, our suggestiond is always to do not prepay in advance tickets for the major actractions, as we can give some tips about how to skip the big queues without paying more for the rights of the reservations....

A part the awesome review (!!!!) let us please remind that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and, in order to better find us, as we have no sign outside our old building, it is better to go on our website to know the best ways how to reach us.

Thanks again and we look forward to meeting you one more time!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Monti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.