We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel De Monti to your Saves list
Hotel De Monti
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Westford, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My mother and I just spent 4 lovely nights at the Hotel de Monti this past week, and I cannot recommend it enough! First of all, it's sparkling clean. Everything was well-maintained and very very clean in the room. Second of all, Alessandro and Mauro are wonderful and very helpful. They answered all of our questions about sightseeing, restaurants, public transit, how to get to the Appian Way and back, etc. Breakfast was delightful and delivered to your door each morning at the time you wanted. Selections included croissants, butter, homemade jam, biscotti, ham, cheese, yogurt, fresh squeezed orange juice, espresso, capuccino, macchiato, american coffee, milk, toast. This was great. We filled up and only had to pay to eat a light lunch while out and about. There was free wifi that had a strong signal in my room. The beds were firm but I slept well.

This is, of course, a 2-star hotel. There is no gym or restaurant. There are only 7 rooms, so it feels like a bed and breakfast. There is no elevator, so you have to walk 3 flights of stairs (they carry your bags for you when you arrive). The front desk is only manned from 1 to 8 p.m. daily. So please don't expect something they could not possibly deliver. However, for the money, it was an AMAZING experience!

Now, a few warnings. The showers are very small. If you are a regular sized person, this is no problem. If you are fat or very large, this will be a problem for you as you will not have a lot of room to manuver. Also, the beds were twins, but narrower than US twins. If you have a couple sleeping, they will push the beds together .You should know that this is the NORM in Italy, even in the 4-star hotel we stayed in later on the trip, paid with by frequent flyer miles. But these beds were a little narrower than the twins in the 4-star hotel. Again, if you are overweight or very large, this is probably not the best choice for you. The floors are tile. This is again, NORMAL for Italy hotel rooms. But don't expect carpet. The tile was great--very clean, and kept the room cool. There is street noise. This is NORMAL for Rome hotels. If you are sensitive, ask for the side opposite the street or bring foam earplugs. We had the same noise at the 4-star hotel.

All in all, comparing the 4-star hotel (very recognizable name at the top of the Spanish steps) vs. the Hotel De Monti, I honestly preferred the Hotel De Monti! Super clean, amazing staff, free wifi, great free breakfast delivered to your door, great location near Termini and Colesseum side of town, what more could you want?

Room Tip: Rooms on the non-street side are quieter. Bring earplugs and an eyemask if you are sensistive to noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel, mostly because you said the truth!!!!!!

We confirm that we are at the third floor of an ancient building without elevator and we add that we have no sing on the outside, so our website would be the best solution, in order to learn how to reach us.

Breakfast consists in all regional products, brought in room every morning at the time requested.

Our small rooms are all furnished with clean towels every day, air conditioning, hairdryer, TV and (let us explain better) they can be with a double bed or 2 twin beds.

Rome is a frenetic City, our rooms have all double glassed windows but of course there is still some noise during the hardest working hours of the day and thank you very very very much for reminding there is like this in all Rome...

For the rest, it has been a pleasure to meet you and we are looking forward to meeting you again!

p.s. all our best regards to your mom as well!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    92
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
26
301
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We loved to stay in Hotel Monti and we'll come back for sure!

The hotel is perfectly located - most of the sightseeing points are reachable by foot.

The rooms are very clean and quite big. Only bad thing was the smell which came out of the shower.

Absolut best thing about Hotel Monti is its staff. Very, very friendly and helpful! They told us a lot of insider tips for sightseeing, warned us about tourist traps and gave us very good restaurant recommendations.

Thanks Mauro and Allessandro, you made our trip to Roma better!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi there and thank you very much for this wonderful review!!!

You wrote a lot of good things (thank again!!!!) that you left us describing the bad ones!!!!

We are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and our Hotel has no sign outside the building, so it is better to have some information about how to reach us, from our website.

Look forward to meeting you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's maybe not for everybody but we loved this hotel, location was perfect with lots of great restaurants yards away. Mauro was spot on with his tips and recommendations, we ate twice at La Carbonara just down the road after Mauro recommended it, and had the best pasta we had ever eaten. Breakfast served in our room was tasty and set us up for the day. The rooms were spotless, although there was some noise from above but nothing that bad, really could not fault the hotel especially the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello! Thank you very much for such a wonderful review!!!

We are always glad and happy to let our guests be satisfied through the real Roman places where to eat good, avoiding those useless places where they give you plastic food, emptying your pockets!

Also, our suggestiond is always to do not prepay in advance tickets for the major actractions, as we can give some tips about how to skip the big queues without paying more for the rights of the reservations....

A part the awesome review (!!!!) let us please remind that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and, in order to better find us, as we have no sign outside our old building, it is better to go on our website to know the best ways how to reach us.

Thanks again and we look forward to meeting you one more time!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is not easy to find its just a brown door along the street, Mauro is good explaining the tourist traps to avoid, where not to eat and how to avoid queues at the vatican museums. Wi-Fi is good and the room we had was clean.Breakfast was delivered at the time we requested.BUT there was no table to eat at so breakfast was taken on the tray on the bed.There were no drink making facilities, and no English language tv channels.Access is up 6 flights of stairs Across the street was the hang out for the local call girls with punters circling all day, not the best area for smokers to stand.The coliseum is a 10 minute walk but Trevi ,Pantheon and Spanish Steps are a good 40 min walk with the Vatican being further away.Rome is fabulous, but we will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: the front rooms get a lot of traffic, and refuse collection noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Hotel.

We appreciated all of your compliments regarding our tips and advises, we are glad to let people enjoy Rome at the best, through the best places where to eat the real italian/Roman food, the best ways how to skip the big lines and the hidden things not written on the guide books….

But let us contest something: our rooms are 17 squared meters, generally bigger than the average Roman standard and they all have a desk that can be used as a table for breakfast. It is written nowhere that we have English channels on our TVs and we prefer to give the best service regarding visiting the City.

Thanks anyway for reminding that we are at the third floor of a very ancient building not provided with a lift and not having a sign outside, we suggest everyone to go on our website in order to have the best information about how to reach us. Or, as written in the confirmation letter we always send to our guests, let us know the way you will be coming and we only do our best and generally our guests are satisfied.

The street where our Hotel is located, is one of the oldest in Rome, always full of people and tourists walking (there are a lot of Hotels, B&Bs and guest houses here around), also a lot of government palaces, such as the Ministery of Interior, the palace of the Italian secret service and the main Office of the Bank of Italy. A lot of Police is everyday patrols around the area, letting it be the safest in Rome.

We are very sorry you did not like something and we hope next time you could give us the possibility to host you again.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel which is situated in the center of the city with just a few minutes walk the most of the historical attractions and to Termini station. We knew before that the hotel is situated on the third floor and that there are no lift but for us it was no problem even after walking around in the city for hours as we did. The hotel staff was amazingly helpful with every kind of tips about what to see and what to avoid (!) on our short stay and when to go where avoiding the worst crowds etc. Besides they tipped us where to eat the best pizza in town and we believe they were quite right. The room was very clean and nice and the free wifi connection functioned without any problems. Breakfast was brought to the room exactly at the time we desired and was very tasty and amply. It's really hard to find anything to complain about (and I think you should not do so afterwords) but a little minus could be given to the fact that there was no fridge in the room (but we managed good enough without). We really recommend this hotel especially for couples who want to spend a romantic time in Rome as long as they are not physically disabled and can climb the stairs to the third floor of this fantastic old building in the real heart of Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Mr and Mrs and thank you very much for this lovely review!

All the information written in this post are truly useful: we are at the third floor without a lift (and we add that our Hotel has no sign outside so go on our website for the directions...) and the breakfast is served in room.

We are a 2 stars Hotel and thank you VERY much for reminding that in our rooms there is no more than the wardrobe, the air conditioning a private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. There are no fridges, no international channels in the television, no kettle.

Mr and Mrs, we hope to meet you again as soon as possible, in order to let you forget the snow!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect. This was the second hotel I stayed at in Rome and it was amazing!! First off, the staff was incredibly helpful. We arrived before check-in and they held our bags while we went around until check-in was open. At check-in, the owner told us some tricks to getting around the Roman Forum and Colosseum without waiting in line for 4 hours. He gave us a map and wrote down routes and told us the "schedule" for the time we had. The room was incredibly clean and beautiful. They only have 7 rooms, which is great because you really feel like the only guest. It is within walking distance of the Colosseum, Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Square, and right around the corner from the metro and a few blocks away from Termini Train station, which goes directly to the airport. There were a variety of restaurants in the area, in various price points. One day we had lunch at a great pizza place across the street from the hotel, which was only 5 Euro. Later in the evening we went to a small Opera production and had a great dinner, for about 15 Euro each. The only bad thing I could possibly say about the Hotel is that there is no sign indicating the location. It is located on the 3rd floor of a building, so you have to look for the address, then get buzzed in for check-in, however, once we realized we had found the right spot, everything was smooth sailing. There is also no elevator, but if you are able to walk the stairs, it is well worth the little bit of exercise you will get to have this hotel experience! If I ever go back to Rome, this will be one of my top hotel choices!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi there and thank you for such a terrific review!!!!

Especially because you mentioned that we are at the third floor without an elevator and that we have no sign on the outside and, in order to have best information about how to reach us, we suggest everyone to go on our website.

Location is really on of our strenght and our focus is to let the people enjoy Rome at the best through our tips and advises and we are always glad to provide to our guests!

Wish to meet you again as soon as possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Located in the middle of the triangle between Roma Termini, Colossseum, and Trevi Fountain there is easy access to the main attractions by foot. There are also a lot of restaurants close to the hotel. According to the hotel-specifications there are no lift, no restaurant and limited manned reception, but still this qualify for a five star rating when considering price/value. The reception (Mr Mauro) gives a lot of priceless advices about skipping lines bying tickets, restaurants, walks and interesting areas to get lost. The rooms are what you can expect for the room rate, and they are well kept and very clean. There might be some noise from the room next door (crying kids), and the street if you leave the window open (there is aircon), and there is not much room for suitcases and clothes. We enjoyed our stay very much and will come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hello Sir and thank you very much for writing this review!!!

Via Panisperna is one of the oldest street in Rome, that is why our building has not an elevator (it was built in the 15th Century) and we have no sign on the outside (our website has all the directions).

It is always busy, being in the living heart of the City and we put double glassed windows in all our rooms, trying always to do our best in order to let your stay be as better as possible.

Our small rooms are sized normal to be in the historical centre of Rome and thank you very very much for reminding everyone that we are not a luxury Hotel and our rooms facilities are just air conditioning, towels, a private bathroom with shower and a safe.

We look forward to meet you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Monti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.