We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Monti to your Saves list
Hotel De Monti
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Durbanville Hills, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our stay at the Hotel de Monti was excellent. The staff were extremely helpful in giving advice about Rome's attractions, calling taxis, etc. The room was simple -- clean and neat. The hotel is very centrally located (less than 1km from the central train station) and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello there and thank you for writing!

We of course have to remind that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that our Hotel is in the oldest district of Rome.

It has been a pleasure to host you (twice!!!) and we look forward to meet you the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    95
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
309
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Secaucus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

First of all, they make it very clear that there are a lot of stairs to get to the hotel... but I didn't read that. If you have trouble with stairs, keep that in mind.

The staff is amazing... carried up our luggage and spent a good 30 minutes talking to us about the area, where to eat, what to see, how to get there... how much cabs should cost if we need to take one... areas that are safe at night... and just about any other question that we could have.

The room is very nice and clean. Beds are comfortable and exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was served in bed daily and there was a nice selection of options to pick from.

The location could not have been better. 20-30 minutes of walking to nearly every major location in Rome... including The Vatican.

I highly recommend Hotel De Monti and if I am in Rome again, I will not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
What could we say more after you review?! You described everything! Not only the good things (which we infinitely thank you!) but as well all those kind of descriptions that is always good to know before reserving.

Let us add an information: as our Hotel has no sign outside, it could be hard to find. We suggest anyone to have a look to our website in order to have the best directions about how to reach us!

Next time in Rome, we will be warmly waiting you to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a 4 night break. This hotel charges 30 Euros for late check in after 18:00, so it is advisable to arrange your arrival earlier if you want to avoid this charge. The rooms are in the 3rd floor with no lift, so do not stay here if this would cause peoblems. Now for the positives .....

We were greeted by Mauro who was full of information and gave some excellent advice. He told us to walk everywhere, which we did. 10 mins to the Colosseum, 50 mins to the Vatican. He also told us how to avoid queues and some great restaurants.

The room was very clean and well equipped but quite small. Excellent breakfast delivered to the room is included.

Would stay here again if visiting Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review, it has been more than appreciated!

Our reception only works from 1pm and our check-in is ONLY possible until 6pm and we thank you for reminding it. That is why a late check-in has an extra cost that a guest could wave ordering our pick-up service that could be a good idea for who's coming late.

All our rooms are the same size and for being in the historical centre of Rome (where all the rooms are small) they are standard sized.

Thanks for the compliments about breakfast, our maid really appreciated! It is served in room every day and it consists in all regional fresh products of the Roman area.

Look forward to meet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I booked Hotel De Monti for our stay in Rome based on TripAdvisor reviews I'd read, and it was overall, a pretty positive experience.

The hotel is located in the Monti part of town, just a stone's throw away from Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica and the Termini Station.

We arrived at the hotel pretty tired from flying all night, and we had arrived at the hotel a little earlier than our check-in time. I seemed to remember that we could unload our luggage at the hotel in the event we arrived early, so it seemed like a good idea to do that at the time. To make a long story short, a young lady (one of the owners) met us at the door and arranged for us to meet with Alessandro (another owner of the hotel) to do so. I initially felt that Alessandro was a little put off with us arriving early because we did not make prior arrangements to do so. (Honestly, we had so many emails and confirmations from all of our different reservations, it was a little difficult to remember everyone's rules. My fault.) We were scolded by Alessandro who reminded us that everyone is notified via email that they must make prior arrangements for dropping off luggage before check-in time when they make their reservation. I must say, I was somewhat offended by being treated so brusquely, however, once this was all over with, my adult children and I found Alessandro and the rest of the staff to be very helpful and accommodating during the duration of our 3 night stay.

Alessandro was very helpful in providing us with information about the Italian culture, where to visit and where to eat while in town. He gave pretty good information about making eye contact with drivers when you want to cross the street so they don't run you over. (This really worked - no kidding!)

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and we felt quite at home there. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and very satisfying. Each night, we ordered from a vast selection of items we wanted for breakfast. Items included, but were not limited to: croissants, toast, biscotti, Nutella, butter, homemade applesauce, fresh blood-orange juice, prosciutto, formaggia cheese, yogurt, jam and various types of coffee drinks (espresso, cappuccino, etc.) Everything was fresh and made for a great way to start the day.

The only thing to be cautious of is that you have to climb three flights of stairs to get to the rooms. This was not unexpected - it is noted in several reviews and by the hotel, itself, when describing their accommodations. I am not in the best shape and was quite winded by the time I approached my floor. (But hey - this is Italy - you DO have to expect to walk and climb stairs everywhere, right?)

All in all, we had a good experience staying here and would do so again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Madame, first of all thank you for writing such a good review, describing everything.

We would like to apologize, probably because there has been a misunderstood; as our check-in is possible ONLY from 1pm to 6pm, who comes before that time can leave the bags here. It is even written on the confirmation letter that we always send to our guests. When someone comes early, without informing us, we do not scold anyone!!!! It is just that we would like to provide the best service possible and if you had informed us about your estimated arrival time (even earlier than check-in) we could organize our time in order to, at least, meet you, giving you some tips and advises about what to do meanwhile you were waiting for your room to be ready.

We are sure you understand there was no rudeness or intention to treat you badly and, for your next time in Rome, let us offer you a glass of wine!

We hope to see you and host you again soon!!!

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Tiny room, but clean, serviceable and quiet... It is well situated in the older part of Rome, with fantastic side streets and alleys, as well as everything being accessible. Plus the cheerful and friendly staff make up for the inability to swing cats around the room! They have excellent advice about all aspects of Rome, including my favourite "get lost!", which also stood us well in Florence and Paris. Highly recommend the Hotel de Monti, and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks a lot for the wonderful review, even for the cats thought!!!!

We would like to warn everyone is reading that our Hotel has no sign outside, nor on our front door and, in order to reach us, we warmly suggest to get some information about how to exactly reach us from our website!....after you have reached us then, you will not have any hope, we will teach you how to get lost!!!!

See you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A fantastic little b&b. Small room, but immaculately clean and in a great location. Service was superb - right from taking luggage to the room, the breakfast in the morning, and organising taxi's for us. Very good value for money, but not for anyone with disabilities - the 3 flights of stairs are quite hard work!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you and that is why we are never too tired to continue saying that we are at the third floor without a lift, so that everyone could know before to reserve.

But thanking you (!) we can also inform everyone that our service does not finish only to our rooms and through a map of Rome, we can explain how to visit the City at its best.

When in Rome again guys, do not hesitate to contact us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We are very glad for booking this hotel, beautiful location, very interesting places around and all the main services we needed. We are going to make “pass the word” for them, don’t hesitate to spend your holiday here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We like the phrase "pass the word"!!! aahahaha!!!! And we look forward to meet all your friends you would like to send us and why not? you again!

We appreciate you had nice time here with us and this review is so good that you left us describing the "bad" information, such as the fact that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift, and our building has no sign outside.

Seriously, thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Monti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.