We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was as good as I had hoped” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Monti to your Saves list
Hotel De Monti
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“It was as good as I had hoped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Where do I start? It has to be with Mauro and Andrada who run the place. they are lovely. Listen to Mauro...listen to what he tells you about Rome because he lives it and knows it. The hotel is spotless, the location is excellent, and even the front door is full of character! Some people have said its hard to find but with google maps I can't see how you could miss it. Breakfast in bed, good showers, comfy beds, nice pillows, and even a good Kebab shop over the road with a really funny young lad serving. Nope, I have tried to come up with a negative about this hotel and just can't. If you want the Ritz with five stars and a snooty receptionist go stay there. If you want to experience Rome and be in a hotel that has character and wonderful staff.....go to the Hotel de Monti.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    100
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
320
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were extremely pleased with De Monti Hotel. It may have been the best Hotel we stayed traveling around Europe for more than three weeks. It is very well located, within walking distance to all main attractions in Rome so we did not have to bother using public transportation means or taxis. We walked everywhere we wanted to go and could return back to the hotel get some rest and continue exploring the city. What I loved most about it was the staff. They seemed to be able to answer all our questions, they advised on restaurants, on shopping, on Museums on anything one wants to know. I highly recommend it. 5 stars+++

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is well placed in Rome, only 20 minutes walk from the Colosseum and the ancient city. We found it quite hard to find initially as the entrance is quite inconspicuous (take note of the photo on here of the brown door and be sure to take a map!) however the room was clean and modern with a good shower. Breakfast is served in your room at the time of your choice and is locally sourced. What makes this hotel stand out from others is the personal service you receive, we were given tips on the best places to eat and how to avoid many of the queues. We holidayed in November which admittedly isn't the busiest season for Rome but the longest we queued for any tourist atttraction was 5 minutes. A good hotel with very helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Myself and my husband recently spent 4 nights here on our first trip to Rome. It was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay and it was my birthday on one of those days and the owner ( Mauro) gave us a small bottle of Prosecco and a bunch of flowers in our room, which was a lovely touch. Mauro was very helpful in giving us tips on what to do and how to avoid the rip offs. He was very helpful and most friendly and would chat to us every time we came back from an outing. The rooms and bathrooms were smaller than I thought but they were extremely clean and tidy as someone came in evry day while we were there to clean our room. I was very happy about this. Location was brilliant as only 10 mins from Colesseum and lots of nice restaurants and bars. Breakfast was served in the room and was very nice. Was definitely glad I picked this hotel

Room Tip: Only 7 rooms, quite similar and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is in terrific location - less than 10 mins away from the Colloseum or Termini station. The area is packed with small traditional restaurants and local bars. It is, however, off the scale hotel. The feature I found very attractive - that you leave a breakfast card with your personal choices in the evening and in the morning you get all you wanted straightly to your room! No common breakfast area for the guests though. And the staff was exceptionally helpful - either picking up from the airport or giving directions around the city (even Berlusconi's house!).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid November 2012. It was the perfect place for us: great location for walking everywhere and close to train station, easy to access once you find it, includes breakfast, and average accommodations. It really is like a 2 1/2 star hotel. Despite the low stars, I would stay there again. The only reason I am giving this hotel a lower star rating is for the following: (1) our bathroom smelled like sewage where we were literally gagging when we went in there - we mentioned it to the staff but it was just assumed that it had to do with the flooding going on in another room. I doubt this was happening in any other room so it really could have just been a temporary issue; (2) beds are hard (but that really was everywhere we stayed in Italy); (3) It is really hard to find - there is no real big sign outside so make sure you write down the address; (4) you need to walk up four flights of stairs to reach the hotel (there is no elevator); and (5) the front desk was only open in the afternoon - from like 2-8pm.

All in all, it is a good accommodation for a good value (we paid 70 Euros per night) and it is in a great location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at Hotel de Monti at the beginning of November and it really is a gem. The hotel is little hard to find, but if you do your research on Google Maps and Streetview you'll be fine. We had told Mauro our expected time of arrival and he was waiting at the hotel when we got there. His welcome was so warm and genuine that he immediately put us at ease and it felt like we were old friends. Our room overlooked the street at the front and there was some traffic noise throughout the night, but the windows are double-glazed and we always travel with earplugs so any noise does not bother us. The room was quite small but was spotlessly clean and had a lovely en-suite shower room. Breakfast is served in the room and there's not really enough space for this to be comfortable (it's breakfast in bed or standing up!) but the quality of the food and drinks was excellent. Throughout our stay Mauro was very helpful and gave us lots of tips on places to eat and drink.

All in all Hotel de Monti is an excellent place to stay in Rome. The location is brilliant - everything is in quite easy walking distance and the standard of the accommodation is a cut above what you would expect for the price. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for your stay in Rome. Thank you Mauro for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Monti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.