We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in excellent location; exceptional staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Monti

Save Saved
You added Hotel De Monti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #30 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel in excellent location; exceptional staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at Hotel de Monti at the beginning of November and it really is a gem. The hotel is little hard to find, but if you do your research on Google Maps and Streetview you'll be fine. We had told Mauro our expected time of arrival and he was waiting at the hotel when we got there. His welcome was so warm and genuine that he immediately put us at ease and it felt like we were old friends. Our room overlooked the street at the front and there was some traffic noise throughout the night, but the windows are double-glazed and we always travel with earplugs so any noise does not bother us. The room was quite small but was spotlessly clean and had a lovely en-suite shower room. Breakfast is served in the room and there's not really enough space for this to be comfortable (it's breakfast in bed or standing up!) but the quality of the food and drinks was excellent. Throughout our stay Mauro was very helpful and gave us lots of tips on places to eat and drink.

All in all Hotel de Monti is an excellent place to stay in Rome. The location is brilliant - everything is in quite easy walking distance and the standard of the accommodation is a cut above what you would expect for the price. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for your stay in Rome. Thank you Mauro for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    82
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
282
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is really a bargain, the rooms are great and well maintained, the service is impecable and the location is superb - 10 minuts on foot from the Coliseum. The neighborhood also has great restaurantes and cafes. However, this place is more of a guest house rather than a traditional hotel. Hence, do not expect the same set of services that you would find in a traditional hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Roman hotel B&B is in a perfect location for touring on foot or via Metro. I give very positivie reviews to Mauro and Alessandro, the most helpful, friendly hosts. The room was a bit on the tiny side, but understandable based on the price. A minor negative is the rest of the building. Guests must climb two flights of stairs (not the issue) that need some repair and the stairwell itself is rather unappealing. Mauro gladly carries the bags upstairs.It is also easy to miss the front door unless you are keeping a good eye on the numbers. The building is shared by a few B&Bs and there is no prominent sign. Breakfast is more than adequate with plenty of choices and it's delivered on time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very good hotel, small but perfectly organized. Nice breakfast on the rooms and the location as compared to the various sightseeing locations is perfect.
The hotel staff was very helpfull in pinpointing the various locations for great diners, entries to sightseeing locations etc (thank you Mauro!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

To be honest we don't normally write reviews but due to how impressed we were, I felt compelled to share our experiences.Firstly the location is great, close to the train and bus station and no more than 15 mins from all the main sights e.g Colosseum, Spanish steps, Trevvi fountain etc, Vatican city is a bit further but still walking distance and with Romes beautiful scenery its well worth walking. Hotel was a little difficult to find initially but this is no big deal. The room itself was nice, clean, a good size and has everything you need, breakfast is brought to your room at a time chosen by you and consists of local produce and is lovely. The best part of this hotel are the staff, Mauro and Allesandro, these guys make your Rome experience. They are friendly, good fun and go above and beyond the help you any way they can and with the excellent local knowledge they have their recommendations and tips were always spot on. They recommended restaurants as well as gave us tips on how to skip big ques at the major sights. In summary we couldn't be happier with our choice of hotel and would recommend this to anyone and everyone that is looking to stay in authentic Rome.

Thank you Mauro and Allesandro.

Jamal + Adelle

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver,bc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed on two different occasions - both times we arrived late in the evening, but they accommodated us easily. The room was extremely clean, though the bed was very hard. The location is very handy to Termini and to many sights. Rome is such a great walking city and this hotel is in the heart of an area in transition, so it is perfect for great restaurants that are not overrun with tourists. Mauro and Allesandro are full of tips and recommendations. There did not seem to be a question that they could not answer. They sent us to some amazing restaurants. Allesandro even came in on his day off to carry our luggage down to the taxi. Their commitment to providing superb customer service is exceptional.

The hotel is basic with limited reception hours, but for us this was not a big deal. You also need to be able to handle walking up several flights of stairs because there is no lift. Again, no problem for us, but it is something you should be aware of.

Breakfast is delivered to your room. It is varied, but the croissants could definitely be fresher. They taste like they came out of some day old package.

Hotels in Rome are quite expensive, so I would say this hotel offers great value for what you pay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

At first glance, the diminutive front door and cardio workout worthy staircase might give you cause for concern, but DO NOT let this put you off. Believe me, this place is worth the climb! The location is perfect - we walked absolutely everywhere, never caught a bus or taxi. The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. But what makes Hotel de Monti so wonderful is the staff. Mauro and Alessandro were so helpful, caring and accommodating, they really made our trip. Mauro took the time to go through a map of Rome, point out all the places to go and avoid and gave us helpful tips on making the most of our time in Rome.

I had a disaster with a package being delivered to me from home and these guys spent so much time on the phone with the delivery companies and customs to get it sorted for me - something they didn't have to do but it was their pleasure to help me out.

If you're looking for a fancy hotel with all the trimmings but no personality, look elsewhere. But if you want a place that is comfortable, with a great location and a whole lot of heart, stay at Hotel de Monti. I can't imagine my Roman holiday being half as good without these wonderful people.

Thanks Mauro and Alessandro!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It has been a real pleasure helped you and gave you all our tips!

Our location is quiet perfect as we are situated in the oldest district of Rome (Monti) about 20 minutes walking from everywhere, as well if our rooms are at the third floor of an ancient building NOT provided with an elevator.

We suggest all our guests to visit our website in order to have all the directions about how to reach as we have no sign outside (being in the historical centre) and check-in is possible only within 1pm and 6pm.

Rome has to be discovered well and we think that the best way to do that is get lost in the soul of the city, our staff is always here to explain you how!

Thank you so much for this amazing review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Monti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.