We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Take a Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Sugo

Ristorante Sugo
Piazza Nicosia 18, 00186 Rome, Italy
+39 06 68891458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,286 of 8,759 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Laredo, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Take a Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were a block and a half from the famous Spanish Steps and happened upon this little "ristorante" with a familiar looking sticker in the window- TripAdvisor! We thought it was worth checking out and it was! We started out with arancinis- little fried rice balls- that were scrumptious. Then we progressed to the Chef's Pizza, which was out-of-this-world real Italian flavor on a plate, topped off with a goblet of an excellent house red wine.
A welcome break and pleasant surprise after a day of walking.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    132
    85
    44
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good pizza and good ravioli - Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

A very nice place. We had a very good pizza and good ravioli. The waiter was very nice.The prices are good. The restaurant is simple and not pretentious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I found this restaurant when we were walking toward the Spanish steps. I was hungry and picking a specific restaurant is always hard with so many restaurants available. We were convinced to stop by a greeter on the street. Part of Sugo's appeal was their variety of gluten free meals for my wife. We both ordered a pasta dish while our friends limited themselves to cappuccino and dessert. The pasta meals were excellent - better than most that we had during our visit to Rome. We met an English couple who were sitting next to us. They were also very pleased with their meals; the man had a fish dish that he said he especially enjoyed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Ate here as restaurant life was fully booked, we should have kept walking... We have never been to a place before and asked for steak and not been asked how would you like it cooked!!! We had to stop him from going into the kitchen and said, can we have it medium please... The steak came on a piece of toast that was impossible to cut, with a sauce and nothing else.... Would not really recommend... The mozzarella starter was nice but that was it....

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO HERE - Credit Card info stolen!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

The credit card we used to pay for our meal was skimmed or copied and used to purchase almost $3000.00 in merchandise. Had to have been stolen from here as this was only place we used the card!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Sugo also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Sugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Sugo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.