We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but ..................” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Papareschi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo Papareschi to your Saves list
Borgo Papareschi
Pietro Blaserna, 101, 00100 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good but ..................”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The positives and negatives of Borgo Papareschi are the same as when we stayed there a year ago.
On the plus side, great location, big rooms, clean, good value. In comparison, some of our complaints are perhaps minor: decor is minimal, there's an absence of clothes hooks and no mirror except in the bathroom, which we pointed out a year ago. On the other hand, shelf space had improved since our last visit.
These negatives aren't show-stoppers. Heating is a whole other issue. I would imagine that for 11 months of the year this isn't a problem. The rooms are big, with stone floors, ideal for hot weather. Very few of the windows, upstairs or down, get much sun. Before the heat is turned on, in mid-November, mornings and evenings are bone-chilling, towels and clothes permanently damp. The property has a drier but at one euro per 10 minutes it's hardly worth drying socks and undies. It would be cheaper to go out and buy new ones. I'm not sure the owner appreciates this. Talking to him out in the courtyard on a sunny morning, he doesn't see any problem with the lack of heat. Go inside at 7 in the morning or evening and you'll be shivering. To appreciate the problem (in the ground-floor rooms at least), he or his staff should spend a night or two in one of the rooms in November when the overnight temperature is dropping to low double-figures.
Any month but November, or late October, we'd be happy to return to Borgo Papareschi. It has a lot going for it. If we take future vacations in the late fall we're going to have to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room unless you're staying June to September.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    54
    18
    5
    9
See reviews for
69
40
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacile, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

The apartment that we stayed in was absolutely fantastic; clean and comfortable. The kitchen was adequate (would have been nice to have a microwave) but for those that want to cook large quantities, know that there are limited kitchen utensils. The location might not be suitable for some as the apartments are situated on a back road in a typical Roman neighborhood next to an abandoned factory. This means there is garbage and graffiti dotting the landscape and squatters in the factory ruins. Despite this, we never once felt uneasy when walking around and the people in the local businesses were friendly enough and most spoke some English. The staff at the apartments was very friendly and helpful and had answers for all of our questions. For those whose blood is not too blue for public transportation, the bus stop is a 5-7 minute walk with at tobacco store at the location where you can purchase bus tickets (1.50 Euro for one way tickets, all day and multi day tickets can also be purchased). The 170 bus will take you all the way to Piazza Venezia (about 20 minutes) which will put you within walking distance of some of the most sought after sites in Rome (Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Forum, etc.). We also took a taxi from the center of Rome one night and the cost was a little over 15 Euro. Overall we had a great experience with the apartment and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose an apartment on the top floor if possible. We had a family above us that was particularly no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I stayed in Borgo papareschi for 6 nights and it was really nice. Our apartment was big, comfortable and silent. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. It is not so far from the city center and you can easily reach it by bus. Besides, the price was wonderful. I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury st edmunds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have just returned from a mon - fri break here with my partner and 13 ur old son. A booking mix up meant we were upgraded to a 3 storey house. Huge rooms with beamed vaulted attic ceilings & a four poster bed. Lovely patio area with a table outside. Staff were lovely and anything we needed was supplied instantly. 2 minute walk to euro spa for all our shopping and 5 mins to the high street where you can catch 170 bus or no 8 tram from outside the railway station into central rome which takes 10 mins by tram. We walked to the collessium from the apartment which took about 1 hour and was very hot so tram is best. Round the corner from apartments we found lovely restaurant Retro, which had a Really nice out side seating area around the back and had a good menu to choose from. Would definitely stay again if in Rome. Local shop keepers friendly and nice atmosphere to the place. The surrounding area is run down and in need of a face lift but this added to the charm and character.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/ Dublin
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I'm sure I had written this review already but maybe since they changed the name from Casali to Borgo it has disappeared. Stayed there for a night at the start and end of our tuscany holiday. There was 2 couples and we had the superior apartment which was huge and you could probably sleep a few more on the sofas. Very Clean and the front desk staff were not only very attentive but looked like they enjoyed their job. Gorgeous! I'll use them again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent 4 nights in the double storey studio and the experience was wonderful.

The room is very clean, spacious with nice decor. The bedroom and bathroom are on the upper floor and the kitchen and living room on lower floor. The bed is comfy.

The apartment is not located in the heart of Rome but you can get to the city centre in around 20min by bus, and the bus stop is just around the corner.
Train and tram station are within 15min walking distance. But I don't mind a little travel to stay in such a comfortable apartment.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, as part of a longer holiday in Italy. .

The apartments are a simple bus ride from central Rome (but fairly lengthy – 35 mins). If I recall correctly, it was the No. 170 bus from the main railway station and a 3-day, all services, bus pass cost around 15 Euro (no need for a taxi, unless you're a large group, or arriving at a very late hour).

Upon arrival, we were greeted by cheerful, helpful and effective staff – even offering to carry our luggage up the stairs.

The apartments are either newly built or have newly been refurbished – all mod cons (working WiFi and a central laundry area, which works well but is rather pricey).

The door to each apartment has a high security lock on it and appears to made of steel. This fits in with the 'gated community' approach – an 8 foot high set of railings run around the whole set of apartments and windows of the ground floor apartments had metal grilles. Having said that, this kind of approach seems to be fairly normal in Italy - we stayed in several places and saw similar locks on main doors, grilles over ground floor windows, etc.

There are no curtains on the windows, but all windows are provided with shutters for privacy (again, much the same as other places we've stayed in Italy).

The kitchen equipment is a bit spartan. But, when we asked for a kettle, one was provided with good cheer, about 10 minutes later. Agree with the point about an oven dish or casserole – would be very handy.

Furniture, towels and bedding – all good quality.

It was a bit pricey. But what we hadn't realised until arrival was that there was a dual canonisation going on – so every bed in Rome was taken.

Surroundings – my guess this is an area where most people work with their hands (cooks, cleaners, nurses, mechanics, plumbers and so on). And where a significant proportion would like to work, but can't (latest Italian unemployment is almost exactly double the UK rate - 14% overall and an eye watering 42% for the under 25s).

The walk to and from the apartments is either , , . along a road, with a new hotel and past a well-used children's playground . . or . . a shortcut via an unmade path, through trees and shrubs, and onto the adjacent road between high rise apartments.

We shopped in local shops and took the bus in an out of the city centre each day. I went for a 30 minute jog through the area one morning. We didn't feel unsafe, but did what we'd usually do in most big cities . . be aware and be careful. Someone made an attempt to pick my pocket on the bus, but that happens in a lot of cities and he soon stopped and moved away when I turned towards him.

There is an abandoned factory 'over the road' and there seem to be some people living in part of it (lashed up satellite dish and lights on after dark). But, three things . .
1. No noise at all from them or from anyone else (in fact, I've never heard so much bird song in the morning, as at this place);
2. Part of the waste ground next to the factory has been converted into an impromptu vineyard and
3. I guess a lot of people would think . . . 'in their shoes, what would I do?' and my answer would be 'I'd probably do much the same as them'.

All in all – a good experience, but if the world economic crisis hadn't happened and Italian youth unemployment was at a more morally acceptable level than 42% then it would probably be that much better. Who'd have thought that a review of apartments would stray into economic and political theory.....?

Room Tip: If you don't like grilles over the windows, better to ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for the detailed description you provided: it will be very useful for our next visitors! All the staff appreciate your kind compliments and we are glad you enjoyd everything in our aparthotel. Curtains have been added in all the apartments, that, as you mentioned, have all been recently renewed.
We are sorry about what occurred to you in the bus: as you said, it is better to be aware and careful in big cities like Rome. We are relieved that everything went right evenutally!
We are immensely happy you had a good experience here at Borgo Papareschi and we hope you will choose us again for your future holidays in Rome!
Lovely greetings from the Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo Papareschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Papareschi

Address: Pietro Blaserna, 101, 00100 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Borgo Papareschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Papareschi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.