We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Respite cafe/bar in Roma.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Friends

Cafe Friends
Piazza Trilussa, 34, 00153 Rome, Italy
+39 06 581 6111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,379 of 8,711 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sandusky, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Respite cafe/bar in Roma.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just got back from Roma yesterday. Loved this little place on the corner of Via della Srofa and Via de Coppola. Great place to sit, rest, have a drink or coffee after a grueling day battling through the streets of Rome. The music is upbeat ambient, with a nice variety. The male bartenders were excellent, creating wonderful, delicious drinks. A nice selection of wines by the glass. Perhaps the nicest discovery was their bar-buffet option. For 8 Euros, one can enjoy a drink of your choice and the delicious bar buffet, going back as many times as you please. A nice selection of items, pasta dishes, petite sandwiches, and the tastiest roasted potatoes you'll eat. Great quality and value. Friendly too. Can't beat this place. Hope you enjoy. But don't tell too many!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    16
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We only went in there for a drink before dinner. When we ordered, the girl asked if we would like the happy hour deal, which meant that for 8 euros we would have our drinks and food from the buffet. We decided to do this, and it was excellent value for money. The cocktails we had ordered would have been 5-6 euros in any other place in the neighbourhood anyway, so it was a really small price difference including the buffet. The food was very nice and you can put quite a bit of food on the supplied plates and it was all very tasty. We actually skipped the "real dinner" altogether afterwards because we felt that we had eaten enough. Talk about value for money!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We wandered down one of the streets and found this cafe. Although we did not eat here, teh food looked lovely!! Cappuchinos were fab, as was the prosecco. Has a nice chilled atmposphere were we sat for a good hour. Very attentive and plesant staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Masters of mixology!! Literally terrific!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

first place in rome where i got a REAL daiquiri!! Omg finally yes... bartenders know the work, i got one more drink kind of home speciality... it was gorgeous!! In the end we had a seat to get some food. A tasty big burger, lovely table service ( she's soooo cute ) and terrific cocktails. 20euro.. What else to say? We'll be back!! No doubt!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails ~~ Great Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is the place for real Cocktails (no flavored substitutes and/or pre mixes). Perhaps the best burger one could get in Rome.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Friends also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Friends, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.