We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst 2 nights of a holiday EVER” 1 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Eleven Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Eleven Rome to your Saves list
B&B Eleven Rome
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Via Merulana 117, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,247 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
Uk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst 2 nights of a holiday EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this "b&b" in July 2013...NEVER again! Having travelled around Europe for 2 months prior, staying in cheap hostels this was by far the most disgusting place we visited! Upon arrival we called "Alessandro" who arrived about 15 minutes late to tell us that there had been a "mix up" at the laundrette which meant our room would not be ready for another 2 hours as he still needed to make up the bed (how could this take 2 hours??) he suggested we leave our backpacks in the hall but when we refused and insisted that we leave them in our locked room, he had no choice but to let us in..where we discovered that the bed remained unmade from the previous guests and he clearly had just been too lazy to make the room up in time! The bathroom was horrific and the dirtiest place I have seen (especially for the price). The most awful part came on our 2nd night when we were awoken in the middle of the night by a group of men shouting in the street and ringing the b&b doorbell repeatedly. They gained access to the building and came into the b&b itself. They created a huge amount of noise and rummaged around in the "reception" desk and hall for about 45 minutes, slamming doors and shouting while other members of the group remained on the street yelling. The individuals then left and (presumably by accident) shut the door behind them so proceeded to scream and bang on the b&b door for an hour demanding to be let back in! IT WAS TERRIFYING!!!! Whether the intruders were guests I do not know, but the area is dodgy and I suspect they may have been "Alessandro" and his friends as a lot of time was spent going through drawers in the reception desk while making phone calls. They also stopped suddenly when we made a noise and crept around..THER was DEFINITELY SOMETHING SINISTER GOING ON! Needless to say, we found alternative accommodation for our final night in Rome. AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS!! To stay here will ruin your trip, I cannot stress this enough!! I have never written a review in my life but felt I had to as this place deserves to be shut down, presumably thanks to the lazy crook of an owner Alessandro.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    15
    6
    14
See reviews for
13
33
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Me and my friend had booked and paid to stay at this B&B for 3 nights, but on arrival, we were told that a family had lost their passports and luggage so they were currently staying in our room until they managed to sort something out. Having seen another review on here with the same story, I have to wonder whether this is a scam. We were told to go and stay at a sister B&B called Eleven Star and the manager even told us that the room there was even better than the one we had booked. Ha! First of all, he didn't even have the courtesy to take us there himself; instead he just handed us a map and told us to find it ourselves. When I asked him to take us, he said couldn't as he only had a scooter. Well, how about a taxi then? But no, apparently this B&B was only 5 minutes away and very easy to find. Maybe for him, but as me and my friend were tourists who had never been in Rome and who also had luggage with us, it took us 20 minutes to finally hunt this place down. Needless to say, this other B&B was even worst than the original. As many people have already said in their reviews, DO NOT trust the pictures as they have all clearly been photoshopped. The rooms were dirty and dark, the breakfast consisted of a stale cellophane-wrapped croissant, the hairdryer was broken, the water in the small shower never heated up even after 10 minutes of waiting, the room service consisted of someone making up the bed but leaving us with the thinnest wet bath towels and an overflowing bin. There were also never any staff around, and on our last day as we checked out, we asked if we could leave our luggage with them and collect them later in the day as we had a late flight, and they said yes. I thought, finally they’re doing something right! However, when we came to collect our luggage, the staff were nowhere in sight and our bags were left in the reception, which another reviewer had already said was a two foot wide corridor. We didn’t even have to notify anyone; we simply walked over, picked it up and left. Anyone could have done the same thing, and it was just pure luck that no one had thought to steal anything. We booked through lastminute.com and saw that this B&B had a three star rating. I simply cannot understand how they ever managed that as I wouldn’t even give it two. In fact, I have been in two star B&B’s that were much cleaner and had better service. Avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

i went whit my boyfriend in this b&B for 5 nights , the b&B is so nice and clean , the staff is very friendly and gentleman, location is very good 5 minutes to colosseum and metro , you are very city center... the b&B is normal and beautiful price very cheap. for every problem there is the staff that help every guest. in the future if i came to rome probably i came here.

Room Tip: every rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

When I arrive at the place it was locked and there was noone to answer the door. Finally, after some time the manager arrived. I have spent there 4 nights. The place is located very well, close to the tremini station (15min walk) and 10 min from Colosseum. However there was no breakfast nor morning refreshments although promised. Towels could be rented for €1 per towel. Terrible interiors.
If you just want to sleep there then please book it however if you expect real BB then avoid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

B&B without breakfast
( change of law he said :/) 2 small butter croisants from the second day and after.photos in here are fake. the room was dirty no sweep no scrub from the second day only sweep. bathrooms was cleared once every day and there was a mess after. so much noise from the road not good windows to stop the noise. warm water very rare. the owner was never there only a few minutes every morning. on the corners of the ceiling was spiders. 4 nights 300 euros for nothing. avoid this one!!! the only good was that's close to town nothing else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

When we arrived in Rome, we rang to say we would be at B&B Eleven Star Rome, which was our choice, at a certain time. When we arrived there, the place was locked and no one answered the door. Finally, as we were telephoning again, the manager arrived and told us that a couple had lost their passports and so they had to stay in "our" room but that he would take us to his other B&B, Eleven Rome. We were unhappy about this and thought the other couple could have been asked to relocate. The entrance to Eleven Rome was messy, the room large but very ordinary and the two bathrooms were in serious need of updating. We asked how many people would be staying for the first night in the four rooms and were told just two in each room, but there were four in two of the rooms. The next day, the manager told us that as he doesn't live on site extra people are sometimes brought in to the rooms. However, we saw that extra beds had been set up in at least one of the rooms for that night. The breakfast was a disgrace, with a croissant in a cellophane bag and 20c for a small coffee from a machine. No tea available.
The photos on the website for this B&B are not all true to the reality of the accommodation.
The location is excellent and the price is reasonable, but people need to know what they are getting.
We cancelled our second booking and found alternative accommodation for our return to Rome a few weeks later.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Eleven Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Eleven Rome

Address: Via Merulana 117, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,247 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Eleven Rome 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The b& b Eleven Rome is situated in the historical center of Rome, exactly in the street Merulana . Eleven Rome is found in an extraordinary position, between the church of Saint Greater Maria and the church of Saint Giovanni. In the area you can find a lot of restaurants and pubs, cinema and Theatre.From the main station Termini you can come to us 10 minutes walking, 5 minutes walking from the Colosseum and nearest the tube station Manzoni and aslo bus station for all directions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your B&B Eleven Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Eleven Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.