We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff......Very hot room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The First Luxury Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The First Luxury Art Hotel to your Saves list
The First Luxury Art Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
cambridge
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff......Very hot room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights in the First. All the staff could not help us enough and really did make the experience wonderful for us.
However, a couple of negative points: The room was so hot and after speaking to reception they advised they are unable to switch on the air conditioning until May, so we had to keep our window open, unfortunately could hear noise from staff from the kitchens below. The staff were very apologetic and did offer me the upgrade i already paid for free of charge. This was very generous but this did spoil the overall weekend.

The roof top bar was not open due to the weather, however, we were very disappointed with the bar downstairs, no atmosphere at all, all weekend we did not see anyone, this needs to be more inviting. I don't think Sy TV in the bar area gives the right impression.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    67
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
58
284
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria,BC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is an amazing hotel, perfectly situated between The Vatican and the Colosseum, around the corner from the Piazza del popolo and the Via del Corso. It is quaintly tucked on a side street, a fabulous market on the corner where you can purchase wine, cheese, sweets, etc. One block from the Tiber river, you will never be lost and navigation to any site is a breeze. The breakfast was delightful, hot entrees, cold meats, cheeses, fruits, fresh baking, quality yogurt (no cheap plastic containers!) and prosecco. There was also an option for eggs to order, which we declined already having too many options. We arranged for airport pick up through the hotel, and while more expensive than a taxi it was direct in all ways, a necessary luxury after a long trip. The driver graciously offered cold water, Italian candies and a narrative of the ancient city while enroute. The welcome at the hotel by Giuseppe was warm and efficient, and included invaluable recommendations to local restaurants off the tourist path for afforable and excellent Roman cuisine. When our plans fell through for a cooking class, staff at the hotel arranged private classes for the next day which included pick up and drop off at the hotel. Our suite was spotless, a comfy haven with dreamy mattresses and pillows. Our room had two French doors onto a quiet patio which allowed us to sleep blissfully with the doors open to the fresh air. Our only complaint was the lack of adequate lighting for make-up application in the dark bathroom, perhaps a lighted make up mirror? The roof top deck is spectacular to say the least, and is featured on Luxury Link as one of the top 9 hotel decks in the world, rightfully so. We were greedily happy that the roof bar was closed (off season), we often had the multi-tiered beauty to ourselves!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We arrived after our all night flight. The room was not quite ready. The manager offered us a glass of prosecco was very refreshing. We were recommended a place for lunch. More on that later. We were taken to our room where we settled in. Everyone out of their way to accommodate us.

Room Tip: A jacuzzi suite with a patio is the room to select.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Rome is one of the most beautiful historical cities in the world. When you visit Rome, you would like to stay near these historical monuments.
I visited Rome in March, it was one of my honeymoon destinations, so I was looking for a hotel that has a romantic nature, quiet and comfortable. So i had chose this hotel after I read about it in many web sites.
The hotel was amazing, its located in a quiet and beautiful place close to all the historical monuments and near the shopping area, also there are a lot of restaurants close to the hotel.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful especially the shift leader Mrs. Meriam ,she was very cooperative.
The hotel has a special character you won’t find it in other hotels, which is the beautiful paintings spread across the hotel.
Really i enjoyed stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Great location and splendid hotel, the highlight being the views from the roof terrace which are spectacular. On arrival we enjoyed a glass of prosecco which was a lovely touch. The continental breakfast was very comprehensive and we particularly enjoyed the smoked salmon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent five days at this hotel celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary.Our flight ( courtesy of Monarch ! ) was four hours late so the warm welcome and glass of Prosecco was particularly appreciated.We had a junior suite which had everything you could wish for with a fantastically comfortable bed.Only negatives were that the roof top restaurant was not open so dining restricred to the michelin starred restaurant which as you would expect tended to provide brilliantly presented and cooked but expensive small quantity dishes.When we dined there ( just the once ! ) they surprisingly ran out of one of the very limited first courses by 8.30 when it was only half full.At the time of year we stayed (April )they did not switch on the air conditioning which meant we opened the windows only to be awakened early in the morning by noises from the street mainly being deliveries to the hotel or refuse collection.
That said the staff at all levels were brilliant and helped us find some great places to eat !

Room Tip: The junior suites are worth the extra ! If the air conditioning is not switched on and you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We got in after a long flight to find the concierge named Meriam who helped is tremendously to find our way around the city and to find the best restaurants. I would definitely go back. In addition to the service, the restaurant was exquisite. Definitely the best experience I could have asked for.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#60 Business Hotel in Rome
#96 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials bringing life to a modern class atmosphere. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the new concept of luxury lifestyle, with dedicated multi-lingual staff that will make your stay a memorable experience. Perfect match between culture and elegance, all 29 rooms and suites are provided with LED TV with cable sports and movie channels, minibar, iPod/iPhone docking stations, a selection of books and marble bathrooms. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like a small art gallery, yours for a few days. Michelin star All'Oro restaurant offers guests and locals amazing creations by Chef Riccardo di Giacinto. On the sixth floor, enjoy the Rooftop Garden, with breath-taking views of rooftops of the Eternal city. The First is a smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The First Luxury Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.