We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The First Luxury Art Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The First Luxury Art Hotel to your Saves list
The First Luxury Art Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Our second stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at First Luxury Art Hotel. The hotel was excellent last year and just as good this year. Thank you again to the wonderful staff for making our stay so easy and enjoyable.
On our last stay we were excited to see the sights of Rome. This stay we were able to further enjoy all that the hotel's neighborhood has to offer. It is surrounded by lovely shops, cafés, restaurants bike stores, art galleries, and even local hairdressers which were reasonably priced by Australian standards. It's a beautiful area of Rome to explore and we are so glad we took the time to return.
An excellent choice in Rome.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla H, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are glad to have the chance to welcome you for the second time at The First and delighted to know that your have had an even more enjoyable time this year round exploring the neighbourhood attractions. Our team remember you very well and please know that you are always welcomed at The First, your home away from home.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    68
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
58
285
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maida Vale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nothing to fault this well kept secret of a Hotel. The staff at check in was impeccable, nothing was too much of a problem for them and it wasnt just because its their job, they did it with passion! The suite was well appointed, spacious and the forniture was at a par with an art gallery. Breakfast could be improved, but all in all a very enjoyable stay. We will go back for sure

Room Tip: higher floors rooms have more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla H, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are glad to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us and that our staff have been most helpful. We thrive on hiring the right person with the positive service attitude to be part of our team, so your comment only give us even more encouragement to do our very best.

We have taken note about the breakfast and will discuss it with the restaurant management to find ways to improve it.

Hopefully we will get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is a little gem.

The location is ideal, close to many sights but also in an area where you can escape from the crowds.

Our room (a junior suite) was spacious & comfortable - the bed was perfect. The bathroom excellent - nice towels - lots of nice quality products. The espresso machine was a bonus as was free wifi.

Housekeeping was impeccable.

We had Christmas lunch in the restaurant & it was very good food reasonably priced - last year in Paris we paid 3 times more for a much much less enjoyable experience. Markus the Maître D is lovely & the team were great.

Actually, every staff member we dealt with in our 4 night stay was charming & helpful.

We really loved this place & we will go back.

One small complaint was how hot the room was but we opened our bedroom window & it cooled down pretty quickly & everything else was so good it would be mean to give it less the 5.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla H, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor and for having chosen The First to spend your Christmas holiday. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed our beautiful and spacious suite, bathroom and our different amenities and that you have had a wonderful Christmas lunch in our Michelin starred Restaurant All’Oro. We will definitely pass along your kind comments to Markus and team.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you back at The First and in our Restaurant All’Oro soon.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Booked as surprise for wedding anniversary

The hotel and staff could not have done more to make our stay perfect

Every detail was thought of from trips to sorting out our cocktails on the Terrance ( which in winter is closed)

Will rush back soon

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment in Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to hear that our team have taken a great care of you during your stay with us and that you have had a memorable stay at The First. We look forward to having you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Let me first by saying like many people I guess I'm guilty of using TripAdvisor solely to read reviews but not posting any reviews. My awful experience at this hotel has prompted me to post my first review.

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during a 2 week vacation that included stays at the Bulgari Hotel in Milan, the St, Regis in Florence, and the Shangri-La Paris. These hotels were all true 5 star hotels and were a great experience.

THE FIRST LUXURY ART HOTEL IS NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL AND SHOULD NOT CLAIM TO BE!!

I read a few reviews that mentioned this fact and I should've paid attention.

My experience:

First off at check-in I was offered an "upgrade" to a bigger room "for only a $100 euros". This offer came without prompting from me and almost seem scripted and came off like I was being sold. I own a retail business and have many salespeople and this felt like it was a common pitch. My issue with this was as the frontdesk person asked me to wait to handle a phone call I pulled up the hotels site on my phone and checked the rates for that night and the standard rack rate was only around $80 euro more for the exact same room type he was offering me at a $100 euro. This was not a prepaid rate or special rate, but the normal rack rate. I declined the upgrade.

Secondly, as we had arrived at the hotel in the evening I asked the front desk/concierge a recommendation for dinner. I specifically told the gentleman I didn't want a "touristy" restaurant as Rome tends to have many restaurants specifically aimed at the tourist crowd. I was assured that the place he was sending us was not a touristy place at all and was in fact a favorite of his and his family and was a hidden gem with some of the best food in all of Rome.

Well sure of enough when we get to the restaurant and were seated we soon realized every table in the place was speaking English and we were indeed in a place full of people sent there by there hotel. All the type of things that you would expect to occur at a tourist restaurant happened. Ordering a bottle of wine only to be told they were out of that particular wine and then attempted to be up sold on wines more expensive. Ordering white truffles with eggs for $50 euro only to be served a plate of scrambled eggs with the smallest and thinnest amount of truffles I've ever seen. Just coming from Milan and Florence during white truffle season I know what $50 euro should get you and this was maybe $5 euro worth. Then my wife ordering "king prawns" only to be served previously frozen shrimp the size of something you might see at Sizzler or Long John Silver. Finally, the couple sitting next to us with the gentleman wearing his Jets hat on backwards, drinking to much, cussing, mocking his Italian waiter and just being the classic "ugly American".

Upon arriving back at the hotel after spending about $300 euro on a meal on par with Macaroni Grill I saw the same gentleman who made the suggestion and when he asked how are meal was. I politely and without trying to be rude told him about our experience. He became very defensive and then told me why I the paying customer of the hotel was wrong. That how could this be since it's a "place that he goes to" and he's a "native of Rome"?

He began to justify the prices for the truffles explaining they were more expensive in Rome then in Milan or Florence? Also, that king prawns are much smaller in Rome. Then my favorite he began to tell me how Italians only eat out on Fridays and Saturday nights and since we went on a weekday that's why everyone there was speaking English. Now this was so ridiculous I didn't even respond. I have business partners in Italy and have been going to Italy 3-4 times a year for the last 15 years. This statement that Italian who are some of the most social people on earth only go out on weekends was so ridiculous I just ended the conversation by saying, "goodnight" and going upstairs.

I have been traveling long enough and know what games are played to tell you what another reviewer on TripAdvisor claimed to be 100% true and that is..... THIS "CONCIERGE" WAS WITHOUT A DOUBT GETTING KICKBACKS TO SEND GUEST TO THIS TOURIST TRAP OF A RESTAURANT. Nothing else would explain his defensiveness and silly remarks in justifying this suggestion or the cost of the quality and service provided by this place. Going forward we solely relied on TripAdvisor and Yelp for picking restaurants and had some great meals.

FINALLY, the straw that broke the camels back and led me to write this review:

Our second to last night there we went to dinner at a great place called AdHoc. A nice restaurant that we went somewhat dressed up, I wore a sport coat and my wife dress and heels. Upon arriving back to the hotel my wife took her heels off and placed them on the floor next to some other shoes. The next day she wore tennis shoes as we did plenty of walking. That night which was our last night we had an early dinner before arriving back to the hotel to pack due to an early departure to Paris in the morning.

Upon packing my wife realized she could not find her heels. We unpacked everything we had packed up to that point and searched the entire room several times. She became upset as these were one of her favorite pair of shoes and rather expensive. They are made by a company called Alaia and had cost around $700USD.

I then called the front desk and told them of the issue and wondered if perhaps housekeeping had accidentally picked them up? This seemed of course unlikely but worth looking into. The front desk then called back after sometime and stated housekeeping did not have them that they had called the housekeeper who cleaned our room and most likely we misplaced them. I assured them that they were not in the room and to send someone up from the front desk or security to look for themselves. They sent a gentleman up who looked throughout the room and I showed him the contents of our luggage, he then left and said the manager on duty would call us.

The manager on duty then called and started of by sayingf that we perhaps misplaced them somewhere else or forgot that we left them somewhere other then the hotel. I assured him this was not the case and although I hated to say it that perhaps they may have been stolen. This was met with denial and claimed as not an option or possibility. I told him that if housekeeping didn't have them and no one else knew of there location that there was no other possibility. This was met again with denail at which point I asked for the General Manager to call me the next day as it was late and this was going nowhere.

Please keep in mind at no time did I ask for a credit or discount of my bill based on this incident, I just simply wanted my wife shoes returned.

The following morning we departed for Paris and I heard nothing from the GM. I had given the hotel my email, my cell number, and the hotel information in Paris so they could get a hold of us yet nothing from the GM all day. That evening I did receive an email from the front desk manager suggesting that we look again in our luggage?!? Also, stating it was unfortunate and hope we enjoyed our stay!?! At this point I'm getting upset as it was simply just being passed along and brushed over by the GM. I sent a reply saying this was not acceptable and that as requested previously for the GM to contact me.

I finally get an email from the GM some 72 hours after the initial complaint.

Now the best part.......the GM states he's sorry we lost 1 shoe from a pair of shoes (where it became 1 shoe not a pair I have no clue) then states that in the 2 years that the hotel has been open nothing like this has ever happened, but rest assured because they have insurance for these type of situations. All I have to do for him is to file an insurance claim with the following:

File a police report with the police in Italy
Send the original purchase receipt of the shoes
Send a detailed account of the incident

Are you kidding me!!!! This is the response after 72 hours and when he knows I already left the country. I can only imagine the struggle of trying to file a police report in Italy from another country then trying to dig up the original receipt for a pair of shoes?

Like I stated before I have a retail business and part of doing retail is having to offer goodwill from time to time to make a customer happy even if you know your not necessarily in the wrong. In this case the hotel was indeed in the wrong because we had a pair of shoes stolen from our room! Yet no token of goodwill was even extended only the option for a complex process that I simply don't have time for nor wish to pursue over a pair of shoes.

The simple fact is as many travelers know a TRUE 5 STAR HOTEL would have handled this situation completely different. Also, it must be stated that in my many years of staying at 5 star hotels I've never had anything stolen, and I would assume thats due to the background checks and expecation of standards of employees at that these 5 star establishments by its management and ownership.

I would implore the ownership of this hotel to re-evaluate it's process and procedures and question the actions of a few employees including the General Manager that keep this hotel from being 5 stars.

SIMPLY STATED THIS IS NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL

TRAVELER BEWARE

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla H, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We took acknowledge of your severe comment on Trip Advisor.
Uniquely for the sake of truth, allow me to recapitulate the facts.

On your arrival day, you requested to obtain a free upgrade. Regrettably we were not able to offer a complimentary upgrade from the deluxe room to a suite, being the hotel almost fully booked and also out of respect to other hotel guests who had indeed booked (and paid) the suites. We however have offered a special rate for the upgrade at forfeited cost Euro 100 vat included instead of the official rate of Euro 110 ­to Euro 220 vat included according to the type of suite. You refused our proposal.

Regarding the restaurant, we have taken a good note of your review. It took us by surprise because we have sent many of our guests to the same restaurant with always positive feedback. This restaurant is known to be the local meeting point for the local vips, such as celebrities, soccer
players, politicians, etc. However being the location so centralised it is not avoidable to have also international clients. However if you could provide us more detail information about what dishes and wine you have ordered, we would definitely speak to the owner of the restaurant to get to the bottom of this story and make sure such issue to be clarified.

As for the situation with the missing shoes, we have indeed a complete record from our team that was on duty that day. You reported about the missing shoes around 11 pm to our Night Manager in which he said that he will verify with the housekeeping team that was already off duty at that time. Unfortunately our Night Manager did not have the time to verify with the housekeeping team since your departure was early morning around 7 am, therefore the same Night Manager reconfirmed our next action to verify with the housekeeping. During the day the manager on duty contacted each and every housekeeping staff that serviced your room during your whole stay period. Only after verifying with all staff with a satisfactory answer from each one of them, the same night our Duty
Manager (acting on behalf of the General Manager who shared the contents of the message) sent you an email advising of our finding. It was in good faith to suggest you to double check your luggage since we ourselves have experienced misplacing items during travelling. It was not at all meant to disregards your complaints. You then sent a reply asking me, the General Manager to contact you on Monday.

Promptly I contacted you on Monday around 11 am, fully acknowledging the situation, suggesting you to take the next step and advising you about our Insurance Company
policy. However in order to report to the insurance company, as I wrote on the email we would need additional supporting documents, such as the declaration of theft to the police authority (I didn't specify Italian authority), copy of the billing/invoice (this could be a copy of your credit card charges just as a prove of purchase and value of the shoes), and a formal statement of you explaining the facts. I am quite convinced that above documentation would be required by every hotel in the world regardless of the numer of stars, USA included. All was done in the highest esteem to help you solve the unfortunate situation: we have anticipated our Insurance Company that they will be hearing more details from us regarding this clcim and that we were waiting to receive some information from you. Instead of receiving the needed information to proceed with claiming the amount from our insurance company you wrote this likely unfair comment on Trip Advisor.

We were at await of your feedback and truly sorry if there was some misunderstanding along the way. All actions that we have taken in good faith were unfortunately misinterpreted. However we could comprehend the situation and therefore continue extending our offer to assist you solving the
situation with the help of our insurance company, given that you provided all needed documentation within a week time. Rest assured that we never found ourselves in this situation, I reconfirmed that our staff has been working with us since the opening of the hotel, they are extremely loyal to the company with the unique purpose to ensure that our guests have the most pleasant and memorable stay.

I trust this further effort to achieve a mutual comprehension has been succesfull. I would have suggested to refrain from using Tripadvisor like an unconventional weapon, however I respect your
initiative.

I look forward to receiving on my company email the needed documentation in order to hopefully meet your expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay. The hotel entry and lounge are very pretty and perfectly kept, the room was very nice, and the hotel is in a terrific location. Staff was very cheerful and helpful. The restaurant in the hotel is amazing. In fact, we had one of our two favorite meals here during our one week stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Really enjoyed my stay. The hotel entry and lounge are very pretty and perfectly kept, the room was very nice, and the hotel is in a terrific location. Staff was very cheerful and helpful. The restaurant in the hotel is amazing. In fact, we had one of our two favorite meals here during our one week stay.

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and its strategic location and that you have had a wonderful dining experience in our michelin starred restaurant. Morely we are happy to hear that our staff has been very helpful to you during the stay.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back at The First the next time your travel plan brings you to Rome.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a mid week break. We chose it for its location and the reputation of its restaurant. On so many levels this hotel delivers impressively. The staff are super helpful and welcoming, the location is excellent, the decor is stylish and modern and the views from the roof terrace of the whole of Rome are fantastic. The Michelin star restaurant delivered a truly memorable and delicious dinner. The were however a couple of niggles. We found the suite too warm and you can't use air conditioning at this time of the year in Rome. We also found that noise from the dining room travelled too easily into our suite (but in all fairness there was a large function being held on that night). Meriem on reception was so helpful and friendly and is a great ambassador for the hotel. Niggles aside we would stay here again but would ask for a room higher up and at the back or side of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#62 Business Hotel in Rome
#96 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials bringing life to a modern class atmosphere. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the new concept of luxury lifestyle, with dedicated multi-lingual staff that will make your stay a memorable experience. Perfect match between culture and elegance, all 29 rooms and suites are provided with LED TV with cable sports and movie channels, minibar, iPod/iPhone docking stations, a selection of books and marble bathrooms. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like a small art gallery, yours for a few days. Michelin star All'Oro restaurant offers guests and locals amazing creations by Chef Riccardo di Giacinto. On the sixth floor, enjoy the Rooftop Garden, with breath-taking views of rooftops of the Eternal city. The First is a smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The First Luxury Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.