We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The First Luxury Art Hotel

Save Saved
You added The First Luxury Art Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TRIP ADVISOR 3YEARS OFFER
Ranked #23 of 1,266 hotels in Rome
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Time in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in Rome for 6 nights at this wonderful hotel in mid to late April. The place is located in an excellent and convenient part of town, in a completely renovated charming building. The property is very small so it feels cozy, romantic and intimate. Upon checking in they agreed to give us a very nice upgrade (we're part of the IPrefer reward program) even thought we booked through Expedia, so we were able to enjoy an amazing deck with views of Rome in our very own room. In general, the service was top notch and everyone was extremely pleasant. Front desk was always happy to help, they booked restaurant reservations, tours (the wine tasting tour to Tuscany was awesome) and activities. My husband and I can't wait to go back! Don't forget to spend sometime on the rooftop deck, the drinks can be a bit pricey but it is absolutely worth it given the great views!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    60
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
50
256
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We checked into the First Luxury in early April. Having just travelled over 28 hours, getting upgraded to the First Suite (we had booked a Junior Suite) was a great start to the holiday. Nice firm bed (to recover from the jetlag), two beautifully large bathrooms and two spacious living rooms.
The room was nicely furnished and the art pieces added to the ambience.
The hotel is positioned just north of the shopping/tourist area and just east of the Vatican. This meant that both of these main attractions were in easy walking distance.
The hotel is located in a small laneway though … so when we initially arrived, our taxi pointed us down the wrong path.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is excellent if you want a romantic place to stay in Rome ! I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights and we really enjoyed both the excellent service and the nice atmosphere of the hotel. It is nicely decorated with great rooms. The lobby and common areas could be improved, but overall a great place to stay !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I arrived on a Sunday in November 2013 at the First Luxury Art Hotel around 9a & was pleasantly greeted by the staff. Unfortunately, my room was not available – understandable since the hotel was at capacity. That afternoon, they notified me that the room was ready & I was pleasantly surprised with the complimentary upgrade to an ‘art suite’. The room was grand - HUGE marble bathroom with spa shower (great water pressure), soaking tub, and luxury amenities. Nice sitting area with a working desk and comfy seating area centered on the decorative fireplace. The bedroom was a very nice size with large walk-in closet and ample storage areas. The private terrace access was a great plus from both the sitting area & bedroom. The staff was quite helpful setting up a private guide for the Vatican tour and restaurant reservations. Location PRIME!! Easy walk to most of the sites & the location quiet…though right around the corner from shop & restaurants. Very pleased with the hotel & will certainly return for future visits to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed March/April 2013 for our honeymoon. This hotel is truly luxury and the staff is fantastic. Most of the staff speak English, and they are extremely welcoming to Americans. They have no problem calling a cab, giving directions, or making recommendations. Their customer service is on another level - once we arrived the lady who checked us in gave us a tour and the doorman shortly arrived with our bags. Once we got settled I realized I left my comb on the airplane. I called the front desk to request a comb, but they did not have any. However, they said they had no problem going to a local shop to pick one up for me. Within 30 minutes they came to our room with a comb - it was wonderful and free of charge. That set the tone for our great stay. I gave them 4/5 stars because you cannot control your thermostat in the room, so we were very hot at night, even with sleeping with the window open. Had we been able to control our thermostat I'd have not a single complaint. It's definitely worth the stay, not to mention we were walking distance from several shops/restaurants.

Room Tip: get the junior suite - it's spacious and the bathroom was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed late December, the location is perfect for the centre, quiet but just a few minutes from shops and restaurants. We would recommend the rooms higher up, our original junior suite was v nice, but a tiny window with an alley view and too hot so the charming manager upgraded us to a roof suite. We found the bar and lounge area rather clinical and unwelcoming, this should be improved, the art itself was ............odd, however it's an excellent hotel and the staff could not be more helpful or friendly, we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher floors are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We just finished a stay at the hotel in April of 2013. The hotel and it's staff truly deserve five stars. We arrived at check in to English speaking staff and were upgraded upon check in. Inside our room, a First suite was a bottle of champagne and some cookies. The room was nice, very modern and spacious. It consisted of two rooms; a living room and bedroom. The bathroom was modern with a rain shower and one sink. The bed was hard and pillows very soft. It was winter and the air conditioning was turned off. Opening the windows solved the problem and made it quite nice. There was a bit of noise from the street when opening the windows but it got quiet around 1130.

A minor gripe about the room was the shower door didn't close and water went out on the floor. The floor was marble so it wasn't an issue. Also, the wifi in the room was absolutely terrible. It only worked (sort of) near our door and not a foot further. I got one bar in this location. The problem was especially true in the bedroom, couldn't even see the network. This was frustrating.

The hotel itself is simply elegant. The staircases and common areas are lined with fine marble and art. The bar is beautiful and restraunt gorgeous. We didn't eat breakfast there as it was quite expensive- 15 for continental or 30 for buffet. Upon check in we were informed it wasn't included in our rate and we could purchase it or just order items ala carte. Then, when I went down the first morning I was informed no ala carte items were available, only two choices were possible which were continental or buffet. Therefore, if I wanted one egg scrambled it would be 30. Yikes. Not too worry, plenty of coffee shops just around the corner provided nice eats in the morning.

The location was great. The furthest we walked was 25 minutes to the Vatican and colesum. Everything else was closer. Tons, means tons of places to eat around. Another note is the staff, they do go out of their way to help you. They will tell you "we are always here" this is true as we could always ask them anything. We had our laundry done a few times, it was expensive but we are on a two week journey and needed it. The hotel also rents small electric cars but I wouldn't dare drive in this city, it's crazy.

I would highly recommend the hotel and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsthotel, Direttore generale at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the First Luxury Art Hotel Roma and also for having taken the time to share your comments with your beautiful words of praise.

We are happy that you found everything to your satisfaction. It is indeed our constant aim to make our guests feel at home and to render their stay as memorable and comfortable as possible. We were therefore delighted to learn that we succeeded in doing so, and that you enjoyed being here. Your kind words of appreciation were also passed on to the staff.

We look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#50 Business Hotel in Rome
#109 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The First Hotel is located in the historical center of Rome, a step away from The Spanish Steps, Piazza del Popolo, Via del Corso and Via del Babuino. The historic building that houses it dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials. 29 elegant and stylish rooms including 6 Deluxe Rooms and 23 Suites, are equipped with king size bed 180x200 cm/ 71x79 Inches, 42"flat screen, minibar, safe, iPod(R) dock and free Wi-Fi internet. Guest are also welcome to experience the creations of Star Michelin Restaurant All'Oro and enjoy the breath-taking views from the Roof Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The First Luxury Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.