We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous! Like staying with old friends in their beautiful guest room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The First Luxury Art Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The First Luxury Art Hotel to your Saves list
The First Luxury Art Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
USA and Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Like staying with old friends in their beautiful guest room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel more highly, in fact I have been raving about it to anyone I know going to Roma. It was the favorite hotel on our 2 month Europe trip. We have stayed in many of the top Roma hotels and this is our favorite.
We knew we were at a great place, when after the taxi that delivered us from the port and a recent cruise, required cash not credit card, and when we didn't have enough, the concierge made up the difference and just added it to our bill. Within minutes of check in we were greeted by name by Daniele the manager and this courteous recognition continued from all staff thru out our stay.
Our room was in the lead in (cheapest) category, but was fabulous. I can only but imagine how nice the larger suites are. It was like a guest room you would be lucky to stay in if you had well to do friends in Roma.
The King bed was very comfortable, linens wonderful. It was beautifully and warmly decorated, Had a fully functioning air conditioner/ heater which at the time of year we were traveling -Oct/Nov was rare in Europe even in 5 star hotels.
There was a large flat screen TV, which after a few operating problems and personal help from Daniele the manager ( yes the hotel manager even came to our room to help work out how the TV worked!.. Now that is service.. And typical of this amazing hotel) had it sorted and had a huge variety of English channels to watch ( again a rarity in Europe,) but when a night in to relax and do nothing was what we wanted after a busy cruise, it was a great asset.
There was a small balcony off the room with doors that opened fully. In summer this would be a very nice bonus as this room is quite small but a typical size in Europe.
The bathroom was large and very modern and tasteful. The toiletries -provided were fabulous and restocked if used everyday. The only negative I have with this hotel is there was an unpleasant drain smell in our shower and in elevator area. I'm sure this was temporary and fixed by now?
The location was great, within easy walking distance of most tourist areas, shopping and restaurants. It was just off the main shopping street/area. Note however it is not amongst a lot of eating places and you do not walk out your door to a plethora of restaurants as you do in some areas in Rome. The roof top bar was sadly closed during our visit.
We did not use the restaurant or bar, but both looked great.
The Art throughout the hotel was wonderful colourful and varied.
The concierge recommendation and booking for a Sunday lunch restaurant was wonderful.
I can't fault this hotel, Daniele was the nicest hotel manager we have ever encountered an each if the hotel staff was also fabulous.
We will definitely return to First Art Hotel when we return to Rome this year and if we can afford it, would love to try one of the larger Rooms this time. We can't recommend it more highly.
Thank you Daniele and your lovely team. You have a Wonderful hotel here. See you again later in the year!

Room Tip: Lead in rooms are lovely but I imagine for a perfect stay with extra pace you should book a suite if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsthotel, Direttore at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you personally for your lovely comments, and moreover, we were delighted to read renewed words of appreciation you kindly expressed.

We are happy that you had a great time with us. Our aim, in the hotel business, is to allow our guests to experience a unique and enjoyable break and make them feel “home away from home” – Your kind words of appreciation were also passed on to the whole team.

We look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to stay with us.

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    64
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
54
270
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

this hotel was really excellent.very clean, the room spacious, comfortable, with all the facilities of a 5 star hotel, and the service was really superb.the personnel was fantastic, very polite and helpful to all our requests, and they knew very well their job.the hotel is located in the heart of room but it's very quiet, no noise at all! i wish i will go again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsthotel, Direttore generale at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma, but also for having taken the time to share with us your satisfaction.

We thank you for pointing out our high standard of services in all areas of the hotel.

We do our utmost to enchant our guests and we are glad to hear that we have achieved our aim.

We look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to stay with us.

Best regards,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Superbe accueil en ce soir de Noël 2012 par Dario et l'équipe du first luxury art hotel
Très bien situé, séjour réussi
Je recommande vivement cet hotel

Wonderful welcome in this late december 2012, specially Dario and all the team working That day at the first luxury art hotel
Very good location, successful stay
I sincerely recommand this hotel

Francois

Room Tip: The one with toproof jacuzzi .... What else... ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsthotel, Direttore generale at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,

Nous souhaitons vous remercier d’avoir pris le temps de nous transmettre vos impressions suite à votre récent séjour à The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma.

Nous sommes enchantés d’apprendre que vous avez passé un agréable moment.

En espérant avoir le plaisir de vous rencontrer lors de votre prochaine visite à Rome, nous vous prions d'agréer nos sincères salutations.

Giuseppe Falconieri
Directeur général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My sister and I just had a 15 hour flight to get to Rome for our 5 day stay. We where greeted by English speaking and the most accommodating staff available at the hotel. This hotel has to be one of the best in Rome not only for the welcoming and friendly staff but the hotel in its own right.
We had also booked a deluxe room but was upgraded upon check in to a Jr suite. It is situated perfectly and walking distance to most shopping Streets.There is nothing I could possibly fault this hotel on . I would certainly stay here when and if I should return to Rome .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsthotel, Direttore generale at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderfull comment regarding your recent visit at The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma.

Our daily main aim is to make our guests happy and we genuinely put a lot into it to provide the highest standard of services. We are most thankful to you for your kind words which are a true encouragement for the whole team.

On behalf of everyonel, we thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma in the nearer future.

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We find this hotel through Tripadvisor. And what a find it was for my wife, 2 kids and myself. The location is, in my view the very best in Rome. The hotel is a true boutique hotel and has a very modern yet warm feeling everywhere - it is an absolute pleasure to walk into the hotel lobby at the end of a great day walking the streets of Rome. In addition, the rooms are spotless, very comfortable with great, modern, warm interiors with the most comfortable beds in Italy.
The real differentiator, as is often the case, are the exceptional staff. They cared so much about our well being and did so in a way that shows their genuine concern for our enjoyment and comfort and could not do enough to personalize the experience. Each and every person we dealt with was exceptional (absolutely at the same level as a Four Seasons hotel for example) and the recommendations, which were clearly tailored for our preferences, were spot on.
I have stayed at the Eden Hotel and St Regis in Rome previously and without any hesitation, I would chose The First Luxury Art Hotel over those.
Congratulations to management on running a first rate hotel with absolutely world class staff. You are all completely attuned to what the 5 star traveler expects today and are exceeding those expectations. I will tell everybody I know to stay there when in Rome. In addition, I hope to return soon.
Thanks for contributing to a wonderful experience in beautiful Rome!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsthotel, Direttore generale at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the First Luxury Art Hotel Roma, but also for having taken the time to share with us your satisfaction.

We are happy that you found everything to your satisfaction. It is indeed our constant aim to make our guests feel at home and to render their stay as memorable and comfortable as possible. We were therefore delighted to learn that we succeeded in doing so, and that you enjoyed being here. Your kind words of appreciation were also passed on to the staff.

We look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to stay with us.

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a two night stay at this wonderful hotel.its in a great location- convenient for restaurants, shops and sights.this is by far one of the most personable and friendly stays we have experienced in a hotel.upon arrival we were introduced to the team and made to feel so welcome. Dario suggested options where to eat as it was Christmas Eve, and Veronica and her colleague behind the bar were so helpful with the history and culture of Rome. We will certainly be back. Marshall and sue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsthotel, Direttore generale at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, and that the service is the best you have ever had.

It is indeed our constant aim to make our guests feel at home and to render their stay as memorable and comfortable as possible.We were therefore delighted to learn that we succeeded in doing so, and that you enjoyed being here. Your kind words of appreciation were also passed on to the staff.

We look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a 3 night/4 day vacation in Rome. We are delighted to have picked the First hotel for our stay. Although we booked a deluxe room, they upgraded us to a Jr. Suite. The suite was beautiful and had all the luxurious details you would want while on vacation. The King size bed with frette sheets was delightful and it was very thoughtful of them to leave us a note everyday to let us know what the weather would be like the next day. The wireless was free in the room and never dropped and you could enjoy the breakfast served in the restaurant our in the luxury of your suite.

All the staff on the premises were polite, informative and so friendly. The location of the hotel is a 10 min walk to all the best shopping and the Spanish steps. It is also walking distance to the Vatican, Colloseum and Pantheon. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsthotel, Direttore generale at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderfull comment regarding your recent visit at The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma.

We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the Hotel service and that we were able to meet your needs.

Our daily main aim is to make our guests happy and we genuinely put a lot into it to provide the highest standard of services.

On behalf of everyone at The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma, we thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With regards,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#16 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
#126 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, in a charming street next to Piazza del Popolo, a drop from The Spanish Steps, Via del Corso and Via del Babuino. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials bringing life to a modern class atmosphere. Opened in May 2011, the First Hotel welcomes guests to venture into the new concept of luxury lifestyle with dedicated staff, to make your stay a memorable experience. The perfect match between culture and elegance, where 29 rooms and suites stylish furnished blend seamlessly with the charm of an old building. Art is everywhere, more than 150 contemporary artworks are showcased from common areas to the rooms. The Michelin star All'Oro restaurant has three locations from where guests and locals can experience the amazing creations of Chef Riccardo di Giacinto: the elegant restaurant at the lobby, the Misceliamo Bar at ground floor and the Roof Garden, from where guests will enjoy breath-taking views of rooftops of the Eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The First Luxury Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.