We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful New Boutique Hotel w a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The First Luxury Art Hotel

Save Saved
You added The First Luxury Art Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful New Boutique Hotel w a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We have been to Rome a few times. We knew we liked the area. Near the Spanish steps with great shopping and restaurants nearby.
This hotel is sleek while keeping the old world charm of this building intact. Very nice rooftop bar with spectacular views. Spacious rooms,with elegant baths, comfy bed and freee Internet. The multilingual Staff is welcoming and personable. Sometimes they seemed to be overwhelmed due to the front desk does everything. Ie concierge/Hskp dispatch/ bell capt. Etc. They do get the job done and with a smile. I will stay there again for sure.
Ciao.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    60
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
47
252
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I booked three rooms over three nights for my Dad's 80th birthday. The hotel staff (Priscilla, Michela and the others) were so nice to my dad, putting a free bottle of Proseco in his room and making him a birthday cake - they even upgraded his room on a busy weekend. The rooms are very well done - contempory but comfortable and not too modern. As with all of Rome - they are smaller than traditional US hotel rooms. The bathrooms are large and well appointed. There is a rooftop bar with really nice views of the city. The location is a bit more lo key than the other touristy central area of Rome - a few blocks North of the Spanish steps and a few blocks South of Piazza del Popolo - and a great walkable neighborhood. The Hotel is about a year old and is really hitting its stride. Wonderful stay with the family. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and book directly - they are a pleasure to deal with
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Booked largely by accident this hotel turned out to be a real gem! Very much a boutique hotel it did lack some of the amenities of the larger hotels (Gym, pool etc) but it more than makes up for this. It is located on a quiet side street just off the Piazza del Poppolo within easy walk of the Spanish Steps and Villa Borghese and only a short walk to the Colliseum. The hotel is immaculate with various are works adorning its walls. The decor is mostly white marble giving it a crisp contemporary feel without the cold clinical feel of so many modern designs. The restaurant was outstanding and we enjoyed an excellent meal there. It remains a little undiscovered so was lacking somewhat in atmosphere when we ate dinner there, but the food was some of the best we sampled in Rome and the service was very attentive! The breakfast buffet was expensive but worth it. As my wife did not select anything off the hot menu we were only charged for one breakfast each day which was unexpected! We had a junior suite and the only thing I would comment on was the lack of a shower. We managed fine with just a bath (And quite a bath it was!) but for those who prefer showers this could be an issue. The bedroom itself was beautiful and came with complimentary fast wireless internet. The hotel itself was very quiet indeed and the bed very comfortable meaning we slept wonderfully well. The air conditioning left us a little baffled though. Overall it really is a good hotel with excellent service and is a beautiful place to stay, with far more character than most of the bigger hotels. I will definitely be staying there again when I return to Rome and have no hesitation to recommend it very highly to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My Fiance and I have just returned from 5 days in Rome and it was my fiance who chose this hotel for us. We had the most wonderful stay here. The ambience throughout the hotel was just perfect. It is situated down a lovely quiet cobbled street. Our suite was stunning and incredibly quiet and we loved returning to enjoy our room after a busy, warm day of visiting all the incredible sights of Rome. Our bed was the most comfortable bed we have slept in around the world. Amazing. We had breakfast every morning in the stylish and gorgeous breakfast/dining room. The food was fresh and of the highest quality and it truly set us up for the day. Yes it was 30 euros each but worth every euro!!! Wonderful Italian coffee, fresh apricots, yoghurts, cereal, fruit, juice and a cooked selection to follow!!!. The staff were extremely polite and friendly. We will return to this hotel one day soon and if you are looking for a perfect hotel look no further than the 1st.

Room Tip: Chose a suite if you can and email the hotel your requirements beforehand. They couldn't be more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The First Luxurt Art Hotel is modern, stylish and chic without being cold or inpersonal. From the moment we walked through the door the staff were polite and helpful, and everything appeared absolutely immaculate. Despite being a cleanliness fiend, i couldn't find anything wrong with our lovely room. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite, so can't comment on the size of the Deluxe rooms, but our suite was certainly generously sized, especially the great shower. Do ask for exactly what you want in the room (shower, bath etc) to guarantee you're not disappointed.
The location of the hotel is ideal, down a small sidestreet, just two minutes walk from Piazza de Popolo. Despite being near enough to walk to most of the sites (with comfy shoes on and a few cafe stops), it was reasonably quiet and there were plenty of Italians around. There was a a good selection of local, reasonably priced restaurants and bars also- so it needn't be horrendously expensive to stay there.
We didn't try the hotel breakfast, as it wasn't included in our room rate and we didn't feel it justified the 30 euro pp charge. The roof garden was beautiful, and very peaceful whilst the hotel was quiet. Even if you don't want to eat/ drink up here, it's worth just sitting and taking in the view of Rome's rooftops.
We had a small problem with the bill on checkout, but it was speedily resolved by the efficient staff.
If we returned to Rome we wouldn't hesitate to come back here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from a long weekend trip to Rome, staying at the First with my boyfriend. We both loved the hotel, with it's quirky art dotted around and the fantastic location... we would definitely come back again.
The service in the hotel was great and the room was just what we needed for a weekend trip. Our room was fairly small however the large king size bed was a welcomed addition!
The one negative I do have is that all of the deluxe rooms are adjoining and as mentioned in other reviews, you can hear everything your neighbours are doing (even if they are just talking at a normal volume). This didn't bother us too much though as we didn't spend much time in the room as we were out enjoying the sites!
As a whole I would definitely recommend the hotel and would return here again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsthotel, Direttore at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you to taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.
We took good note of the inconvenient occured due to the "noise" generated by a nearby room.
At the occasion of a next (hopefully) stay at The First,we will ensure an adeguate accomodation to satisfy your legitimate expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you, to The First Art Luxury Hotel Roma,in the near future

Sincerely
Giuseppe Falconiere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

After reading such good reviews on this hotel, I booked it and was expecting perhaps more than I should. Very good location, modern tasteful decor and nice and clean. Big drawback is (actually this I subsequently found out, as one always do, this has been mentioned by other reviews) the room is not sound proof at all. I could clearly hear my next door neighbors having a great time laughing and chatting in the middle of the night. As a result, we have to constantly remind ourselves to speak in whisper. Next drawback is the hot water in the bath room is not that hot sometimes (sometimes it's okay). We tried to get hotel staff to fix it but they seem to think it's hot enough! Air-condition cannot go past 23 degrees, which for us was a bit cold because my hubby wasn't feeling too well and we ended up having to turn it off completely from time to time. Lastly, there's no free bottled water.

Room Tip: Don't accept a connecting room if you are not the one using both rooms, because the walls are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#46 Business Hotel in Rome
#83 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The First Hotel is located in the historical center of Rome, a step away from The Spanish Steps, Piazza del Popolo, Via del Corso and Via del Babuino. The historic building that houses it dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials. 29 elegant and stylish rooms including 6 Deluxe Rooms and 23 Suites, are equipped with king size bed 180x200 cm/ 71x79 Inches, 42"flat screen, minibar, safe, iPod(R) dock and free Wi-Fi internet. Guest are also welcome to experience the creations of Star Michelin Restaurant All'Oro and enjoy the breath-taking views from the Roof Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The First Luxury Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.