We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value for your money in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest Haus Praetorium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guest Haus Praetorium to your Saves list
Guest Haus Praetorium
Castro Pretorio 28, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #501 of 3,092 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
“Outstanding value for your money in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

After this experience in the Guest Haus Praetorium, there's no other place I'll stay when in Rome. The location is perfect, just a couple of blocks away from Termini (which will connect you to any place in the city) and even within walking distance from Colosseum. We stayed in a room for 4 people, perfectly cleaned everyday, and a nice breakfast in partnership with a small café around the corner. Emilio (the owner) isn't there 24h, but you just arrange with him to get the keys, and he'll provide you with all the details, and also how to get around in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    23
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

good location - near central railway station; excellent staff - not 24/7 but if you book room they will wait you, also very friendly; excellent rooms - clean and with all staff you need; probably some problems with wifi signal in some places but its not so important for us. Finally best hostel/b&b which we already visited this summer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed there for a weekend in June with a friend of mine and it was perfect!
The room is very clean with a spacious private bathroom. Room and bathroom are cleaned every day. The room is also air-conditioned. The host Emiliano is a very nice and helpful person.
Location is central and very close to Termini station.
There is wifi access. Breakfast (Croissant and coffee or juice) is offered a nearby cafe.
I would reccomend it to everyone going to Rome!
Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I've been there in March.

Emilio, the owner, waited for us until 1am. That was very nice of him.

Then, the room was very clean.

The location is good: 5 minutes from Termini station.

The room was a bit noisy but everything was ok.

Regarding the breakfast: he delivers you a ticket and you can have the breakfast in a little restaurant just near the hotel (1 capuccino + 1 croissant).

Have a nice stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambery, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed with my wife for 5 nights, it is nice guest house room and bathroom was clean, staff is very helpful, Room was cleaned very day and bed sheets were changed every 2 days.
Area is bit noisy due to the fact it is very close to termini station.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Excellent location, very clean, spacious room and bathroom. I would recommend it to all people coming to Rome. I think it is a bit expensive but comparing to other accommodation in Rome it could be ok for a few days. Breakfast is tea or coffee and croissant in near by coffee shop. Our host Emiliano is cool guy really. Some reviews say that it is noisy a bit. Yes it could be but I was so tired in the evening that I never heard anything.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Just get back from Rome and really enjoyed our stay in Praetorium. Lovely spacious room and bathroom (it was not en suite but across the corridor). Perfect location near Termini station in lovely street (yes a bit noisy but after you finish all day touring around Rome you would sleep like a baby anyway). it is a bit expensive compared to other similar places we were been in Europe but than again we were in Rome - one of the hottest touristic spots on planet so I guess it is something you have to be prepared for. Anyway - highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest Haus Praetorium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Haus Praetorium

Address: Castro Pretorio 28, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #501 of 3,092 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed to the first floor of a splendid historical building in the corner beetween two important roads of the zone, the room rental GUEST HAUS PRAETORIUM offers the possibility to lodge in lovly bright rooms, elegantly furnished and recently restructurated.The location guarantees proximity and convenience to reach the greatest tourist attractions as the Colosseum, Fountain of Trevi, Navona Plaza, Plaza of Spain and the greatest Basilicas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guest Haus Praetorium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest Haus Praetorium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.