We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini comes to life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini

Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini
Via IV Novembre 119/A, 00187 Rome, Italy
+39 06 32810
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 731 attractions in Rome
Type: Museums, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
gourock
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini comes to life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

So you have seen some of the amazing sights of the Roman ruins, now you have to visit this attraction to bring it all to life. This is possibly one of the best value for money tours you could take. Sadly no photography is allowed in this place, this disappointed me greatly, but the experience was vivid enough to imprint itself on the memory. The visitor is guided through a series of chambers built over an actual Roman palazzo, excavated underneath civic buildings. One walks over a glass floor which is suspended only a foot or two above the original floor below. This can be a tad unsettling at first, but as the incredible scene of this excavation appears before you, any anxiety fades quickly. Any difficulty you would have in visualising life 'back in the day' is taken of through very creative use of overlaid projection. Nothing is left to the imagination as a narrator brings it all into sharp relief. We had no problem booking this tour online and picked up our tickets at the venue an hour before the scheduled start. Drinks and food are available in a cafe/ canteen area right next door to this attraction, which is in the square of this government building.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,273
    224
    52
    9
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crowhurst
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

brilliant presentation, video, also tragens column. Inside is magic. combination of lighting and amazing remains

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Interested in Ancient Rome? This Experience is a Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you are interested in exploring Ancient Rome but need help visualizing how buildings appeared thousands of years ago this is the experience for you! Through multi-media technology you will feel like you are standing in a beautiful palazzo. I thought this presentation/tour was extremely well done.

One word of caution...you will be standing in a very dark room on a glass floor viewing what is beneath you. At first it is a bit disorientening but after several minutes I adjusted.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A look at ancient Rome through modern technology”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Domus is a very different experience of Rome compared to everything else. The guided tour takes you through a series of chambers under a government building where you walk on glass over the excavated remains of ancient Roman baths, houses, and ruins.

The use of multimedia helps one to better understand how the ruins used to look and functioned, which can really brings them to life.

Some of the ruins are very well preserved and really make you gape in wonder.

The tour takes about an hour and a half and we highly recommend it. It's good value and the groups are quite controlled so you get a chance to look at the ruins, although in some of the smaller chambers you sometimes have to peer through people and their legs to get a better view.

We recommend booking online at least a week in advance. The booking website can be quite confusing. It rejected our application a few times saying we had missed certain boxes even though we had already filled them in. We had to try a few times for it to finally work, so keep trying!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wye
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go here first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

my wife say this single attraction opened her eyes to the joys of Imperial Rome. We've been to the city twice in 4 years and I've been boring her for years with my interest in Roman history. This attraction suddenly made it all go 'click' for her. Its superbly presented, and real value for money....the graphic projections to fill in the renaining ruins are a triumph of technology. It is a guided tour, presented at different times in various languages so you MUST book in advance . I cant recommend it highly enough

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.