We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini

Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini
Via IV Novembre 119/A, 00187 Rome, Italy
+39 06 32810
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 682 Attractions in Rome
Type: Historic Sites, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Crowhurst
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

brilliant presentation, video, also tragens column. Inside is magic. combination of lighting and amazing remains

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,499
    258
    61
    11
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Interested in Ancient Rome? This Experience is a Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you are interested in exploring Ancient Rome but need help visualizing how buildings appeared thousands of years ago this is the experience for you! Through multi-media technology you will feel like you are standing in a beautiful palazzo. I thought this presentation/tour was extremely well done.

One word of caution...you will be standing in a very dark room on a glass floor viewing what is beneath you. At first it is a bit disorientening but after several minutes I adjusted.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A look at ancient Rome through modern technology”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Domus is a very different experience of Rome compared to everything else. The guided tour takes you through a series of chambers under a government building where you walk on glass over the excavated remains of ancient Roman baths, houses, and ruins.

The use of multimedia helps one to better understand how the ruins used to look and functioned, which can really brings them to life.

Some of the ruins are very well preserved and really make you gape in wonder.

The tour takes about an hour and a half and we highly recommend it. It's good value and the groups are quite controlled so you get a chance to look at the ruins, although in some of the smaller chambers you sometimes have to peer through people and their legs to get a better view.

We recommend booking online at least a week in advance. The booking website can be quite confusing. It rejected our application a few times saying we had missed certain boxes even though we had already filled them in. We had to try a few times for it to finally work, so keep trying!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wye
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go here first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

my wife say this single attraction opened her eyes to the joys of Imperial Rome. We've been to the city twice in 4 years and I've been boring her for years with my interest in Roman history. This attraction suddenly made it all go 'click' for her. Its superbly presented, and real value for money....the graphic projections to fill in the renaining ruins are a triumph of technology. It is a guided tour, presented at different times in various languages so you MUST book in advance . I cant recommend it highly enough

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best 10 Euros Spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We couldn't book on web via smartphone but turned up and were able to get into 1:35 English (30 Nov) same day. However strongly recommend booking well in advance if u plan to visit in summer. It is a 'long tour' at 1.5 hrs, but I was entranced the whole time. I enjoyed the multimedia presentation as it brought the house to life ie watching mosaic floors complete. I wish ALL ruins were presented this way. Note: the first stairs r clear perspex and yes it's quite disorienting but u soon acclimate. And def if u have limited mobility then this prob isn't for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.