We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The secret treasure of Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini

Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini
Via IV Novembre 119/A, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)
+39 06 32810
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$51*
and up
Rome City Bike Tour
Ranked #9 of 1,499 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The secret treasure of Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I did not hear about it before, but my hosts in Rome invited me to see Le Domus Romane. It was a very nice surprise, as it is perfectly designed, showing both context and details, giving a full picture of the history of the area. Roman riuns meet 21th century multimedia - and the result is phantastic! Entry is 10 EUR, certainly worth it!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,884
    328
    75
    11
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fusing the old with the new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The archeological remains of Rome's ancient baths and houses have been uncovered below street level, this place once belonged to the great "domus" of ancient Rome.

What is different about this place from all the other ruins in Rome is they managed to integrate modern technology by presenting virtual reconstructions through graphics and videos -- you can literally picture yourself as if you were taken back in imperial Rome. Walls, rooms, kitchens, decorations are seen in pure form and living color. All through the 1+ hour tour, I kept saying, "how did they do that?!"

The Palazzo is still fully operational and has government offices that surrounds the archeological museum. There are guards standing at the entrance that will question you, just tell them that you're here to buy tickets or that you are taking the tour. We tried buying tickets online but their website isn't very user friendly and very slow.

A very interesting history lesson for 9.50 euro/person and kept us dry from the unpredictable weather! the only sad thing is, taking photos are not allowed inside.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very interesting- but not good if you are claustrophobic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The media show is very well done and the location is fascinating. Only issue was that the rooms are very dark when you are going from one room to the next, so some group members took so long to creep their way along, that you missed out on the intro in the next room. The room with the 3D display at the end is tiny, so if you don't like enclosed spaces you might like to skip this.

You definitely have to reserve well in advance, as only small groups are allowed. The website for ticket reservations doesn't seem to work well, so call to reserve.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Unusual and enjoyable tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Never heard of this place until I loaded the Trip Advisor app. We had to fight our way around police road blocks (there was an anti-austerity protest on) to get there but it was worth the effort. A very enjoyable visit though not my personal favourite in Rome. Particularly enjoyed the film at the end explaining Trajans column. Remember you have to book in advance.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do not miss this fabulous archaeological wonder!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Embedded in the fondations of the Palazzo Valentini, they have unearthed the home of a Roman nobility. They not only show you the magnificent unearthed ruins, but through a multimedia miracle, they brought these ruins back to life. A magnificent example of history not to be missed. We were so awed by this that we encouraged our limo driver to take his family and shared it with many others we met durning our visit in Rome. Now I tell you.......do not miss this one. It is only an hour and a half, and you can't believe how they did it. You too with be amazed how the artistic heritage of antiquity can be brought back to life through technologies!!! You need to call for reservations and it is only 10euro, or 8 if over 65.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini also viewed

 

Been to Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.