We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the walk!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria I Caruso

Gelateria I Caruso
Via Collina13/15 | oppure Piazzale Adriatico oppure via di castel porziano 424/426 oppure via Gadames, 00187 Rome, Italy
+39 (0)6 42918674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #438 of 8,267 restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

It's less than a 10 minute walk from the Termini area and really easy to find...just look for the queue of locals out the door!

They have fresh, seasonal flavours plus some familiar favourites. I had pistachio and coffee...the coffee was seriously strong but really excellent and the pistachio was the best I've had in Italy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    243
    82
    32
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I stumbled upon this gelateria after walking my feet sore. I plan on stumbling back everyday until I leave. Delicious...especially the pistachio!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“The best gelato I have ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have had gelato many times on both this and a previous trip to Italy. I can quite easily say that this is by far the best gelato I have ever eaten in my short time on Earth. The consistency and creaminess is unparalleled, we ended up eating two medium cups inside (it was raining) before getting a small cone to go. The banana flavour was so real it was actually like eating a banana, and the dark chocolate was full of chocolatey flabour without being overwhelmingly sweet. Needless to say they complemented each other perfectly. This is one of those places you do not find too many tourists, just lots of Rome residents. They are there for a reason, believe the hype, just go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite Gelato in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having tasted gelato all over Rome, we voted this one our favorite. Flavors to die for - will definitely be back!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
464 helpful votes 464 helpful votes
“Hubby sought this Gelateria out.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

.....thanks to all the reviews here. This Gelateria has been on my hubby's mind since we arrived in Rome. He talks about it everyday. Today, we deliberately headed out to this neighborhood to try the Gelato. It was a Monday afternoon and upon arrival, we saw locals hanging out by the shop savoring their gelato. What is even more heartwarming is seeing local kids devouring their gelato with their grandparents helping them.

Well, our friend told us GROM has the best gelato in Italy. If you compare GROM and Caruso, they all serve their gelato from metal containers. Yup, you never get to see you gelato till you actually buy it. We tried the hazelnut and pistachio. It is awesome. GROM's famous for their dark chocolate gelato without milk. So we can't compare. Both are just as good.

Opposite Caruso, is this amazing cheese store. Yup, we saw restaurants popping over to buy their mozzarella.
This is a quiet district, and the trip has satisfied by hubby's delight in life's small little pleasures.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria I Caruso also viewed

 

Been to Gelateria I Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria I Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.