We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Rome

Save Saved
You added Gran Melia Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Madrid
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you are looking for the advantages of a city centre hotel with the tranquillity of being outside the town then this is your hotel. This is a spa hotel with its own grounds on the Gianacolo hill so this comes at a price but...
The hotel is a leisurely three minute walk downhill to the Principe Amadeo bridge and on to the Corso Vittorio Emanuele (take a short cut through the hotel car park) so the major sights are really only minutes away. We were there four days and didn't need to take a taxi or public transport once.
The Vatican is less than ten minutes away. This time you need to take a short cut through the Gianacolo hill car park (which also has a cheap non-touristic coffee shop in the entrance), across the road from the hotel, and down the escalators to St. Peter's square. Another ten minutes walk gets you to the San Pietro railway station if you feel like taking a train somewhere.
The rooms at the hotel are new, spacious and bright, with two ample wardrobes, although no drawer space and the bathrooms well fitted and everything spotlessly clean. Our bath was a bit awkward to get in and out of and would be difficult for someone short or with a bad leg and the lights take a while to figure out, but I'd still give ten out of ten for the room. Breakfast is fine. If you want eggs you'll need to order but the cold buffet is adequate with warm pastries, fruit, cold meats and cheeses etc. and the coffee excellent (as you would expect). The staff were friendly, helpful and looked happy. I must say the Gran Melia hand on heart greeting makes me giggle every time I see it, but if it makes the marketing department happy...
In all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a stay in the eternal city. We had blue skies for our four days in November and might not have enjoyed crossing the bridge so much in the freezing cold and driving rain but it really is a great location.

Room Tip: The higher floors get a nice view of St. Peter's dome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are extremely glad to learn through your review that you lived a pleasand experience with us while visiting the Eternal City.

We are happy to know that you appreciated our services and facilities, especially as to the room comfort , and that you found our location perfect for all your needs.
Like you described, the main city sites are at walkingf distance from our Luxury Urban resort, so to make each guest experience a true "discovery" through the Eternal City because Rome is a city which beauty and magic you need to discover step by step, by walking...

Looking forward to welcoming you back in Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina soon...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    104
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
121
308
4
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Combining the physical form and structure of a large modern hotel into one of the most architecturally sensitive settings in the world (adjoining the Tiber and the walls of the Vatican), and at the same time providing accommodation of the highest standard, is an achievement in its own right. However, when these physical aspects are combined with the highest standard of customer care within an ambience which is luxurious, unpretentious and homely is all too rare in present day hotel catering. The Gran Melia model has set the standard which will assure the future of this brand for years to come.

The room we were allocated was modern, impeccably clean and well-furnished and equipped: in particular the bed was one of the most comfortable experienced in years of world travel. Where this hotel excels, is in the attention to detail and in particular the quality of staff all of whom were efficient, professional and above all friendly, helpful and welcoming. It is evident that the management and in particular Maria, the Guest Relations Manager, place a high value on customer care and this ethos is evident throughout the hotel. If all Gran Melia Hotels reflect the same values as Hotel Gran Melia Rome Villa Agrippina, I would have little hesitation in choosing this chain above all others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

what an emotion to read your comments about your experience with us! It really was a matter of great pride to know that we were able to transmit you our professional values, which move our daily work to reach a unique team objective: our guests' satisfaction.

We wish to thank you for sharing your opinions and above all for the kind words addressed to our staff professionalism.

We look forward to receiving you back soon in the heart of the Eternal City to let you keep enjoying your experience in our Luxury Urban Resort.

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Took my girlfriend here for a nice weekend away and this place is well worth the money!

Great staff, great location, can walk anywhere from here!

Room was awesome and it was generally a really nice place to stay would go back

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

it was a great pleasure for us to learn that you had a nice stay at Gran Meliá Rome, appreciating both service and staff attitude.

Thank you for sharing your experience which we hope you wiil have soon the opportunity of cointinuing during your next visits to Rome...

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed there for three nights, highly recommend this hotel, staff really nice and helpfull, locationis great , beside all best places to see. Real 5 star hotel
If you visit restaurants in surrounding area, be carefull, waiting staff will try to overcharge you, happened to me twice

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments about your experience at Gran Meliá Rome, which we are glad to know that it was a very pleasant one!

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon at the occasion of your future visits to the Eternal City...

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caesarea, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in November and it was wonderful. The decor is a gorgeous mix of modern and some classic elements (like the paintings on the headboard). The service was very five star and it is just next to the Vatican. The rest of the sites are a five minute taxi ride or thirty minute walk. The only thing that is true from the negative reviews is the high price for food, drinks, spa etc but what can you do? It's rome and its a five star hotel.... We just had coffee in the morning and drinks one night and the rest of the meals ate out. Make sure to hang out in the beautiful spa (included in the price) and ask for a room with a BATH while booking! Not all rooms in the same category have the same layout. Our first room had a big closet and small shower and we switched to a room with no closet space but a huge bath and shower area. I would stay here again if I go back to rome and would not even bother trying another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for the time you spent in sharing your positive feedback as to your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome.

We are extremely glad to know that you lived such a great experience with us while visiting a unique city like Rome, where we look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible.

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Surprisingly well located (nearby the walls of Vatican City, 10 mins away by walk of Saint Peter's square and 25 mins walk away from the heart of Rome). Modern, elegant, fashionable, very comfortable, easy and with a great service. All the team is young, very professional and willing to please the guest. Not just because the hotel is new and they have to 'earn their way up' but also, and very specially, because all the team is committed to deliver the highest standards of service of the Melia chain. And they live to it! Rocío (Deputy Director) and Fernando are just fabulous! Kind, gentle, accessible, fun! Great professionals and extremely nice people. The food was great (the kitchen is run by Alfosno Iaccorino, one of the most reputed italian chefs), the building impressive (Villa Agrippina, Nero's mother residence), the room comfortable... But by far, the service was the best of it all. Highly recomendable. We will come back.

Sorprendentemente bien situado (pegado a los muros del Vaticano, a 10 minutos a pie de la Plaza de San Pedro y a 25 del centro histórico de Roma). Es un hotel moderno, elegante, con una decoración de muy buen gusto, fácil para el cliente y con un muy buen servicio. El personal es muy joven, bien preparado, muy profesional y con muchas ganas de agradar. Y no sólo porque el hotel sea nuevo y tengan que 'ganárselo' sino porque realmente se creen y 'viven' el más alto estándar de servicio de la cadena (Meliá). Rocío (la subdirectora) y Fernando son fabulosos. Siempre amables, accesibles, simpáticos. Grandes profesionales y muy buenas personas. La comida del hotel exquisita (la cocina la dirige Iaccorino, uno de los chefs más reconocidos en Italia). El edificio es impresionante (Villa Agripina, en su día residencia de la madre de Nerón). La habitación amplia y cómoda. Pero lo mejor, sin duda, el servicio. Hotel muy recomendable. Repetiremos.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

what a pleasure to know that your experience at Gran Meliá Rome was such a unique one!
It will be a great experience for us too to welcome you back in your "Roman house" soon!

Thank you for the lovely comments you shared, and above all, for the kind words addressed to our Deputy Manager, Mrs. Rocio Galan, and one of our RedGlove team members, Fernando. They are exactly as you describe them, contributing to turn our guests' stays into unforgettable experiences together with the rest of the team.

We will be waiting for you whenever you wish to visit the Eternal City again, to make your experience continue...

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here for a few nights as part of our honeymoon, and were extremely happy with the experience. It is a few minute walk from the Vatican, piazza Nuvona, and great restaurants. The room was very modern and chic, and the staff were extremely accommodating and helpful to us throughout our stay. Highly suggest the breakfast they serve daily. Overall I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Rome looking for first class accommodations

Craig, delray beach fl

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to realize that you lived a pleasant experience at Gran Meliá Rome during your visit to the Eternal City.

Thank you for your nice feedback as to our staff professionalism and our service.
We are glad that we were able to transmit you our values and "passion for job".

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back at our Luxury Urban Resort soon.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.