We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and quiet real Roman Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Birreria Pizzeria Galilei

Ristorante Birreria Pizzeria Galilei
12, Via Galileo Galilei, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)
06 70454098
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,129 of 9,253 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Description: 12, Via Galileo Galilei Zona: Colosseo 00184 ROMA - Colosseo Tel.: 06 70454098 Sito:
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Calm and quiet real Roman Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

So we had a discussion about real Roman pizza and it was one of their suggestions: the atmosphere is good, the service? Well not very fast but okay, the staff are all Italian, the pizza is in Roman style not Neapolitan (means the pasta is much thinner), the starter were fine and in total everything was okay. I'm amazed that why this place isn't very much popular since there are loads of lower quality restaurants in Rome that happened to have more costumers and feedback, it's not the best that Rome has to offer but one the good ones.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    50
    22
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dishes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

A very nice restaurant! We took two specialities: pizza and pasta both named "Galilei", and both were delicious, big portions, a very hearty filling on the pizza.
Anytime we had lunch afterwards in Rome, Firenze and Venezia, we always recalled this restaurant and missed its great dishes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unfriendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Recently had an evening meal here. Any time I am in Rome I call here. The service was distinctly cold and lacking at a basic level both from waiters and the owners. Given the variety of places to eat in Rome, I won't be eating here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“GO and get all the cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Seriously, this place was great. We went because of the reviews we saw and it was close to our apartment. There were 5 of us, we got the eggplant parmesan (awesome), the wurtzel (awesome), italian sausage (awesome), a calzone (good, kinda salty) and I got the veggie pizza (fantastic). With the house wine and some beers, both of which were good.
The service was good for Italy. Didn't wait around too long, and the place got busy by 8 pm.
I can't recommend getting all the cakes enough! If you have enough people just get one of each and share. The chocolate was AMAZING, the chocolate cheese cake was AMAZING and the apple was too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon this looking for another restaurant in the area which happened to be closed. The food here is excellent, great pasta especially the carbonara. They also have a blonde beer on draught which supplemented the meal nicely. We noticed that is was mainly locals that use it which is always a good sign. We sat next to service pass and could see everything was made with fresh produce and to order, the pizzas looked amazing. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Birreria Pizzeria Galilei also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Birreria Pizzeria Galilei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Birreria Pizzeria Galilei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.