We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It can't get better than this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Grillo Ai Fori Romani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Il Grillo Ai Fori Romani to your Saves list
Il Grillo Ai Fori Romani
Piazza del Grillo,10, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 2,892 Rome B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It can't get better than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We reserved this place based on the Tripadvisor ratings. We weren't disappointed. This place is very centrally located, within striking distance of the Collosseum, Fori Romani and 10-15 mins walk to the Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps. You don't really need a means of transport if staying in this apartment. The apartment itself is very charming, located in a vintage building, with all amenities that one could ask for. The apartment is big enough to fit 6 persons. The owners have given considerable thought while furnishing this apartment as there wasn't anything that we wanted and didn't have in there. The kitchen was well stocked with breakfast, snacks etc. The owners are extremely nice people and we were provided with assistance and guidance right from the time of our booking till our arrival and stay and till our departure. We would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to visit Rome. We hope to be able to stay here again during a future visit to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was a very pleasant stay, the place could'nt be more central in the city. The host was very friendly and helpfull. Rooms were big and kichen well equipped (we were with 4 persons). Watch channel 69 the 80's music channel, very entertaining. There is a restaurant next door which is very good, shops are everywhere in the surrounding. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

There is absolutely nothing I could fault with this apartment. The location was superb! You could not be anymore central. Roman Forum - across the road, 5mins - Colosseum, 10mins - Trevi Fountain, 15mins - Spanish Steps....ideal for getting about and site seeing.
The apartment is very charming in an authentic Italian style that totally adds to the overall Rome experience. 4 of us stayed (2 couples) the set up was ideal, allowing plenty of space and privacy. The apartment had everything you could possibly need and more - all appliances etc.
The service Silvia provides is faultless - the fridge is stocked with water, milk, cheese, butter and meats for breakfast - along with bread, crackers and much more to nibble on. There was also a cheeky bottle of vino for us to enjoy on our arrival. Extremely good value for money!!! If I ever return to Rome I would definitely stay here again.
Lisa & Joe :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PistellaS, Proprietario at Il Grillo Ai Fori Romani, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thanks Lisa and Joe.
Your review is fantastic.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Hello
S. Pistella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location could not be more perfect, the owners are lovely and responsive and we enjoyed our stay immensely. The kitchen was stocked for breakfast and snacks and it was wonderful. Finding a neighborhood market isn't as easy as you would think and it saved us time that we used to tour Rome! We will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Four of us stayed two nights at this cosy little apartment right by the Roman Ruins and it was ideal for our last two days in Rome. The location as perfect with easy access to all tourist sites. Upon arrival, we were met by Silvia's parents, who are the sweetest people. Between their English and our very limited Italian, we were welcomed into the clean and comfortable apartment. The kitchen and larder was well stocked and wi-fi was very good. There was also a washing machine and hairdryer (hooray)! Silvia was kind enough to let us stay past check out time on the last day, and helped arrange for transportation to the airport, making the whole process very pleasant and fuss-free. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a base in Rome.

The four sisters.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I would like to say some good words for this pretty flat! Special thanks for our hostess Silvia for such good reception and details.
We are very glad to choose this place, because it's really 5 min. to Colloseo. It also has everything you need: iron, hair dryer, toaster, vacuum cleaner, washing machine. The last one and the hair dryer was specially important for us and the second day, because we came under heavy rain like group of wet chicken.
In general, i'm sure that you wil love this place. It's very calm and comfortable staying to enjoy the trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We had the pleasure in staying in this great apartment during our vacation. There we two couples traveling, so the two bedrooms were just what we needed. The apartment was extremely clean, comfortable and in a terrific location. Everything we needed was provided. The wi-fi was a great bonus. Sylvia was a saint. Our flight had landed at a later time that expected and I had no way of contacting her to let her know. Once I spoke with her, she promptly met us at the apartment so we could check in. One day I would love to return to Rome (yes, I threw a coin in the Trevi fountain) and hopefully enjoy this apartment again. Thank you Silvia!!

Amber Williford

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Grillo Ai Fori Romani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Grillo Ai Fori Romani

Address: Piazza del Grillo,10, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 2,892 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"IL GRILLO AI FORI ROMANI" (The Cricket at the Roman Forum) is an holiday house in the historical center of Roman Empire. Apartment in historic building, overlooking Augusto Forum. 2 minute walk Colosseum. you will experience the atmosphere of the epic film "Ben Hur and Gladiator"IL GRILLO AI FORI ROMANI" (The Cricket at the Roman Forum)is a welcoming home for your Roman holiday.Apartment in historic building, in the historical center of Roman EmpireFrom the windows you can admire the ruins of the Forum of Augustus and Trajan's Market, home of the Knights of Rhodes and the beautiful square where the famous palace of the Marchese del Grillo (see movie).The Coliseum, Palatine Hill, St. Peter in Chains, Piazza Venezia and the Vittoriano, the Spanish Steps, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, the Capitol, the Ara Coeli, Teatro Marcello, the Mouth of Truth, Circus Maximus, Terme di Caracalla, the Tiber Island and the Quirinal and the beautiful Trevi Fountain are reachable with a pleasant walk (10 "real" minutes!).Besides the historical value of the area, the Rione Monti offers a wide range of recreational activities and fulfillment of the most refined palates thanks to the local taverns and restaurants specializing in traditional and modern cuisine.The house, tastefully renovated and equipped with every comfort and can accommodate families and small groups of friends up to six people.To meet all his needs, guests have access to a kitchen (breakfast included in price. "product packaged from housewife pantry"), and a living room with a sofa bed, a bathroom with shower and two bedrooms..The double bedrooms "Suite of Augustus" from the windows you can admire the square and the Forum of Augustus.The double bedrooms of "Trajan" quiet.Each room has air conditioning and indipendent heating, TV and wireless Internet wi-fi access."The Cricket at the Roman Forum" is ideal Holiday for a romantic and exciting for those who love the story of "Caput Mundi Rome". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Il Grillo Ai Fori Romani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Grillo Ai Fori Romani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.