We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Class Service in Modern, New Boutique Hotel in Safe, Convenient Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deko Rome

Save Saved
You added Deko Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deko Rome
Via Toscana,1, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Overland Park
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best of Class Service in Modern, New Boutique Hotel in Safe, Convenient Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Deko Rome for 4 nights in late September, 2011. It was our favorite hotel during our Italian vacation. We would stay there again without considering any other place if we are so fortunate to return to Rome in the future. It is clear from past reviews that whether you are as happy with your experience as we were depends on what you want and expect out of your hotel experience while visiting Rome. Deko Rome is NOT a full service, luxury hotel with 24 hour room service and staff, a pool or workout facility, and an on-site restaurant or bar open late in the evening or early in the morning. If those services and resources are important to you and what you are expecting, you may want to consider booking at such a hotel. However, for the reasons below, our stay at Deko Rome will be a treasured memory that we wouldn’t trade for any of the luxuries or services offered at the 5 star, full service hotels.
The owners, Marco and Serena, and their assistant Monica, set Deko Rome apart, and made our stay at the hotel a unique and memorable experience. It is clear they sincerely want to get to know their guests, and eagerly take the time to do whatever they can to ensure that their guests have the best experience possible while exploring Rome. Other reviewers hit it on the head when they described a stay at Deko as staying with friends in a well appointed apartment. Marco, Serena, and Monica are not formal, do not address you by your last name, and do not dress in the uniform’s you find in a luxury hotel chain. Instead, they are informal, dressed in clothes befitting their young age, and interact with their guests much as they would with their friends. Even though I booked the room through Agoda (see edited version of review on Agoda), Marco emailed me a couple weeks before our arrival, offering to arrange to have a private car pick us up from the airport. When we arrived, Marco was upset that we had not buzzed him in advance so he could have helped us carry our luggage up the stairs. Despite one reviewer’s opinion, we liked the old-fashioned lift, and had no complaints using it. It definitely is an old fashioned, quaint, lift. However, we found it charming, with sufficient room for our two huge, over-stuffed duffel bags. If someone is so tired they don’t want to take the 3 flights of stairs to Deko’s floor, the lift works perfectly, even if it moves slower than the modern elevators. Again, it all depends on a traveler’s expectations and standards.
I would also take a different view of comments that there is no reception or concierge at Deko. I travel a fair amount for business, and we are fortunate enough to be able to vacation a couple times a year, occassionally splurging at luxury hotels. We felt that Marco and Serena were more helpful, and spot-on with their restaurant recommendations, and places to see, than any other hotel in which I’ve stayed. We also did not have any problem with the fact we were on our own after Marco and Serena left late in the evening. We made sure that if we wanted extra towels or supplies, we asked for them before they left. But we knew before arriving that we were not staying at a hotel with a staff on site 24 hours a day. I rarely, if ever, order room service or have a need to contact the hotel staff once I’m in for the evening. If you value that level of service, you may want to consider booking at a different hotel.
The service and advice that Marco and Serena willingly offer is more sincere and personalized than I’ve received at well known 5 star hotels. As the other reviewers have noted, when we checked in, Marco shared a complimentary drink of our choice while he showed us on a map his favorite tourist attractions and sites, and his favorite restaurants. I highly recommend following Marco’s restaurant recommendations. We dined at 4 of the 5 recommended restaurants, and each meal was fantastic, reasonably priced, and busy with many more locals than tourists. Marco and Serena recommend restaurants that they go to when they get a chance to eat out. At the end of the day, when we returned to Deko, Marco and Serena wanted to hear about our experiences as we shared a drink at the little bar in the breakfast area off the lobby.
The hotel is not in the middle of the crowded tourist sites, or within throwing distance of the Colosseum, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, etc. For us, however, Deko is perfectly situated because it was an easy 7 to 10 minute walk from the Spanish Steps and a Metro and bus stop to take you to any spot in Rome. Yet the neighborhood is quiet, peaceful and secure. The hotel is located in a safe area, a block from the U.S. Embassy and the police station. You need a key to enter the historic building in which Deko Rome is located, and you need a second key to get into Deko’s reception and rooms. The hotel is only 3 blocks from the Villa Borghese, the equivalent of New York’s Central Park. If you are in Rome on a Sunday and have time, we highly recommend strolling through the park to mingle with the locals and their families taking boat rides on the ponds, picnicking, and riding bicycles.
The hotel is new and the rooms are decorated in a modern style, with the newest conveniences, such as fog-free bathroom mirrors, electronically controlled flat screen T.V’s and AC. The pictures on the hotel's website and from the TA reviewers accurately show the condition and decor of the lobby, breakfast area, and rooms. The rooms are quiet, with heavy curtains shutting out any noise from the outside. We booked the junior suite (the room with a picture of an elephant as seen on the hotel’s website), which had a large living area with a large couch, in addition to the good sized bedroom and king sized bed (as oppposed to the more typical arrangement of pushing together two twin beds). The bathrooms were relatively large, with great water pressure and shower doors to keep the floors from getting soaked. The room and bathroom were spotless and sanitized each day. Because we paid for an all-inclusive rate, the water, juice and prosecco in the mini-fridge was included in our rate.
Monica, who is as sweet as Marco and Serena, helped prepare at least one of our breakfasts, and should be applauded for keeping the rooms so clean. The breakfasts are typical of many other Italian hotels, and varied little each morning. But there was more than enough food, including cereal, yogurt, croissants, cheese, ham and bread (to make a sandwich), toast and jam. You can order a variety of juices and coffee made to your likeing. The cappiccinos were great.
If I was going to nit-pick, and try and find areas for improvement, I’d suggest that Marco and Serena add a dresser or armoire to increase the storage space in each room. Our room had a standing closet with room to hang a few items of clothing, but there was nothing to store our clothes if we wanted to unpack for our stay. Also, when you book your room, you may want to call Marco or Serena and ask if the room is adjacent to the breakfast area. When breakfast was being served, you could hear the voices and meals being prepared through the walls. It didn’t bother us, because we were getting up by around 8 or 8:30 to get started on our day. But if you plan on sleeping in, it may be worth asking for a room set away from the breakfast area.
In conclusion, we knew the sort of hotel we were looking for, and found it. We could not have known, however, that we’d meet hotel owners and staff that clearly enjoy getting to know their guests and doing all they can to ensure their guests have a wonderful experience while visiting Rome.
Thank you Marco, Serena, and Monica, for making us feel welcome in your wonderful city. Daryl and Lynne

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    470
    20
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
307
19
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

If you want to experience some of the best customer service in Europe then you have to stay at Deko Roma! From the moment your cab pulls up to the door, Marco and Serena will go out of their way to make sure that your stay in Rome is amazing. From the welcoming glass of Prosecco, recommendations of where to go, where to eat and how to make the best of this fabulous city to booking popular attractions and making sure that their friends look after you, their friendliness and attention to detail is spot on.

This hotel is nothing like your average, anonymous gaff which is what makes it worth recommending as far as I'm concerned. If you want a great base with a little je ne sais quoi for a stay in Rome, you would struggle to beat Deko Roma.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

If you want to stay in a non-touristy but convenient location, in very nice guest-house style accomodation, with perfect hosts, then Deko is for you!Marco and Serena were so helpful from the minute we arrived-a welcoming cup of coffee as Marco sat us down with the map.They suggested excellent restaurants, places to see and how to get there and on our last day even gave us use of a room to change in as we had a late departure.Deko takes one floor of a nice old building, so there is no big hotel sign out front. There are only 6 guest rooms.Our room was actually 2 rooms, with its own sitting room, very modern furnishing and all the comfort we needed(however an extra cupboard with drawers or shelves would have been good).Breakfast was lovely fresh fruit, meusli, yoghurt ham, cheese and pastries with good coffee, so I don,t know how anyone could complain about that! I would highly recommend Deko as a great base in Rome and wish this lovely young couple every success- they already know how to run a great small hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front street may be a little noisy. Our room faced an internal area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I can’t say enough positive about DEKO ROME and Marco and Serena. We were greeted with open arms and welcomed to the city of Rome with an offer of breakfast at 4:30 am (US time) after our overnight flight from Boston. After only a few minutes and a brief conversation, we knew we had found some very special people. Our intent was to stay at a small boutique hotel, well appointed, clean and close to the center of Rome, and that is exactly what we found; not to mention that’s its brand new, in a beautiful historic building with marble floors and lots of security.
We stayed for a total of five nights in two different rooms, pre and post our cruise. Both rooms were lovely but we enjoyed number 3 that opened up to the street we were on. The pictures provided on this site are the real thing. Feeling very safe with the US embassy on one side and a police station on the other; we were able to walk around after dark. You are close to taxis, buses and the subway. Actually, Marco will call you a cab that will pick you up at the front door. They arranged tickets, limo’s and recommended sightseeing and local restaurants that were perfect for us.
We had everything we needed/wanted including a great breakfast of Italian pastries, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, cheese, meats and breads served with coffee and tea in a delightful café setting. The most impressive times were our personal conversations with Marco, Serena and Monica. They talked about the places to visit in their city but more importantly their lives, the culture and their dreams, and guess what; they were truly interested in ours. When we left, it was like leaving family behind, not knowing if we would ever see them again. You manage to “bump” into people along your journey that make a difference in the world and we found three of them at this hotel.
So if you’re looking for the Ritz or midnight room service or a pool or 100 people dining at breakfast, skip this place; but If you want an up close and personal experience with wonderful owners who are passionate about what they do, this is the place to stay. We love you guys; you made our trip so memorable.

Room Tip: Room 3, street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

not sure why this is number 1 on TA. its definitely a B&B. to be fair the staff were extremely nice and place was very clean. on the downside it was locked up at night with no staff and the walls were thin so could hear banging in the kitchen area at 7am. its nice but not 1 out of 1300 come on people. and way to pricey for what it is as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DekoRome, Proprietario at Deko Rome, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
..Dear guest,

-First of all TA is a website that is not rating hotels by star but is ratings hotels guests's satisfaction then, if we are rated #1 is because people is loving to be at Deko Rome and is loving to don't be a tourist as all the others tourists in Rome!!
Our guests are different !!
-Second: before to book an hotel you've to read others reviews and have a look to the hotel's website and then you can easly understand that our property is NOT a luxury hotel but, we are an elegant Boutique Hotel with 6 rooms located on the italian 2nd floor of an historical baroque building of the center in the most exclusive, elegant and safe area in Rome.
We always send an email with the full descriptions of our property and then you can decide if you want to be our guest or easly cancel your reservation with us!
-Third; in this area you can find luxury hotels and bars then, you can understand what are the prices in this area and why!!

Anyway we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us but for the next time it's better for you if you read emails, reviews and descriptions about the place you are going to book!!

Best regards from Rome,

Marco Cardillo Piccolino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed at Dekorome during our trip to Rome with a tour group. We chose Dekorome due to others reviews here. We were not dissapointed. We stayed 10-15-17-2011.
We stayed in the suite and the double room and loved both rooms. The decor is beautiful, the breakfast fresh and great. Marco was wonderful and helped us get around Rome and gave us suggestions on places to go in Rome. The reviewer on the "more of a b&b" might be correct, but that is the best thing about this place. It is NOT your typical hotel, if you want that there are plenty of those. That is what separates this place from the same ole thing.
I stay in many hotels; and this by far will always be in our memories. Thank you for the wonderful last 2 days in Italy!

Room Tip: We enjoyed room #3 it over looks the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I stayed four nights in September. Great accommodations and great location. The owners make you feel at home. Take their advice on dining recommendations. They were excellent. We'll stay again next time in Rome for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deko Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deko Rome

Address: Via Toscana,1, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Deko Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deko Rome Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deko Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.