We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ROMAN HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Teatro Di Pompeo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Teatro Di Pompeo to your Saves list
Hotel Teatro Di Pompeo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo del Pallaro 8, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€35 off room rate
Ranked #241 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A ROMAN HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What more could you ask for in Rome than a hotel built on its own ruins, sit and eat breakfast in stone surrounds dating from 55 BC. The hotel is fairly small but has everything that you need including staff who are welcoming and helpful at all hours of the day or night - special mention to Paolo for his indefatigable sense of humour and entertaining chats about an unusual range of topics. Our room was large, had a small ante-room and ensuite, traditionally furnished, usual mini bar, all very acceptable (I love the wooden ceilings); the only downside was that it was an inside room so the windows looked over the central well, meaning a little darker, less privacy with open curtains and obviously no street views. We did know that this was what we booked, last room, but would recommend anyone trying for an outside room as we shall when we return. Location as everyone has said was unbeatable. Tucked away in a maze of lanes, largos, piazzas, cafes, restaurants, shops, full of character and exactly what you go for. Lively Campo di Fiori on one side and the beauty of the Pantheon and Piazza Navone just a few minutes further on. Have given this 5 because it is exactly what we wanted and expected and felt part of the Roman experience, it would not be that for people looking for interior design and spa luxury.

Room Tip: Look for a room on the outside for street views although I do understand they may be a little noisie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    108
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
109
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great little hotel with bags of character within walking distance of 90% of the main attractions in Rome....what's not to like! The staff are very friendly and have some great recommendations within the local area. The hotel is small but clean and the rooms are functional but perfect. The location is spot on, close enough to Campo di Fiori and Piazza Navona to soak up the atmosphere but out of the way enough to be quiet. Breakfast was perfect....all in all, this is a gem of a hotel and if my coin in the Trevi fountain works then i will be back here again! Can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very fine hotel. Location near Campo di Fiori. (Also Plaza Navonna and lots of other stuff) Good restaurants nearby. Good internet. Full time front desk staff (very courteous and helpful). Elevator in main section so if it's important to you make sure to ask/specify. Good/not the greatest breakfast. Bathroom good. Bed good. A little noisy at night in the courtyard but we were there in the holiday (Pasqua) timeframe. If you like Venetian masks there is a fabulous store a few doors away. Also a great bakery ... but try finding a place in Rome where there isn't one. Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent th Easter in Rome and stayed at the Teatro di Pompeo. The location is just perfect very close to Campo di Fiori and Piazza Navona and the staff is great - happy and helpful! We really enjoyed our stay here.
The rooms were very Italian but comfy and it surely feels special to enjoy the breakfast in the cellar - the old roman thatre! I truly recommend a stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: Room 15 has a view of the piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here during our Easter trip to Rome, and the hotel managed to exceed our expectations. The location is perfect in the middle of Centro Storico, with walking distance to many of the great sights and restaurants in Trastevere or the Ghetto. We reached the hotel quite easily by regional train to Trastevere and then tram to Arenula-Cairoli. Total cost: € 9.50.

The hotel offers great service and is very well run. We met the man who did our check-in again every night, and he always seemed genuinely interested in our day and also had different tips to offer. The rooms are not very modern, but the entire building has a unique charm and an interesting history. We used the complimentary wifi on both our phones. It was a bit slow, but worked fine in our room and in the bar. No reception in the dining room, though.

Speaking of which – the breakfast buffet was really nice with sandwiches, yoghurt, bacon and eggs, different pastries and hot and cold drinks.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was spacious and the bathroom was old but clean. The bed was somewhat old and uncomfortable. The staff members are friendly and helpful. The windows cut out the noise enough even for rooms facing out onto the street. Wifi is terrible though. It was unusable.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 via mobile

Great hotel....as others have noted - the location is perfect, staff friendly and the room was very clean and maintained well during my stay. You can walk to most locations in the city with 30-35 minutes and there are lots of dining options close by. Those traveling light - there is a drop-off laundry within 5 minutes. I look forward to staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Teatro Di Pompeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Di Pompeo

Address: Largo del Pallaro 8, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#183 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Teatro Di Pompeo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE TEATRO DI POMPEO HOTEL IS LOCATED ON THE REMAINS OF THE ANCIENT ROMAN POMPEY'S THEATRE DATING BACK TO THE YEAR 55 B.C. IT IS SITUATED IN THE HEART OF ROME'S HISTORICAL CENTRE, JUST FEW STEPS FROM PIAZZA NAVONA AND CAMPO DE' FIORI. GUESTS MAY ENJOY BREAKFAST AND DRINKS IN PRESENCE OF ANCIENT ROMAN REMAINS. THE HOTEL IS DEDICATED TO SELECT AND EXACTING GUESTS WHO APPRECIATE QUALITY COMFORT AND EXCELLENT SERVICE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Teatro Di Pompeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teatro Di Pompeo Hotel Rome
Teatro Di Pompeo Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Teatro Di Pompeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.