We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Italia to your Saves list
Hotel Italia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Venezia, 18, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed in one of their family rooms for a couple of nights last August (2011). We picked this Hotel mostly based on Rick Steeves’ travel guide recommendation, the good location and reasonable rates. However their impressive website fool you, it just doesn't match reality, at least not for the room they put us in. The furnishings and decor is not nearly as clean, spotless and maintained as it looks on their website. The bathroom was ridiculously tiny (for four), smelled mouldy and had a A/C drain pipe coming out of the ceiling, dripping directly into the shower stall. Because room service left the floor mat neatly folded on the shower threshold, it soaked up some of the A/C drain fluid and caused it to leak all over the bathroom floor. The staff was not particularly friendly and the breakfast was simply not worth sitting down for, (if you can find a table in a very cramped and noisy dining area during peak morning times) - nothing fresh, just pre-packaged foods, including the 'croissants'. In regards to the A/C charges, beware they will charge you as long as you have the remote in the room, even if you don’t actually use it. I made the wrong assumption they monitored A/C usage with their computer, as most hotels are able to control the A/C from the front desk. Even though we didn’t use it the first day, they insisted on charging me. It wasn’t so much the 10 EUR/ day, as the attitude I received from Sabrina which really annoyed me. We also had noisy neighbours above us, (kids jumping on beds it sounded like), and when I made enquiries at the front desk, they told me that the floor above does not belong to the hotel, and are private residences. The one good thing was the location in terms of nearby attractions, however the actual street (via Venezia) and building entrance was very unattractive, sooty and dirty. Overall not a great value. I emailed the manager after our return to tell him of our experience and he said he would try to address some of the issues I had raised.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Sir,
I personally think you posted your review by referring to a wrong Hotel .

More than six months have passed and maybe now it is a bit confusing to
remember each travel experience during the same period ( specially if you visited many places during your trip ) .

Please email us directly to discuss this !

Best regards,
Gabriel / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    309
    82
    29
    15
See reviews for
155
277
67
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in September. It is in a great location, close to the train station. The rooms were very nice and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The exterior rooms are quite nice, if they have any available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Robin ,
thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor .

We all hope to see you in 2012 .

Best regards,
Sabrina / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Italia from December 26th, 2011 to January 1, 2012 and everything about our stay was excellent.

The staff are friendly, helpful, and always available. They helped us with arrangements before we arrived and made reservations/recommendations for us and answered all of our questions while we were there.

The room and bed were comfortable. The entire hotel was spotlessly clean.

The breakfast very good. The coffee is some of the best we had during our visit to Rome.

Hotel Italia is located right off of Via Nazionale and is located a few blocks from a Metro stop. It is within walking distance of everything from the Colosseum to Vatican City. Having the Metro stop nearby makes traveling to outside the city very easy. The neighborhood is safe relatively quiet (remember, this is a big city.)

The cost of the hotel was a good value.

All in all we were very happy with our stay. We will gladly stay there again and recommend them.

Room Tip: The rooms are different buildings, across the street from each other. Logistically it is easier if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItaliaHotel, Front Desk at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Guest ,
Thank you so much for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.com
Hotel is very pleased for having offered good service and value .

Best regards,
Abdul / HOTEL ITALIA Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised when we stayed at the Hotel Italia, in Rome, last evening.

Having followed the advice given in earlier reviews on Tripadvisor, we asked for the family room in La Residenza. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The room itself was spotless. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of space for our family of four to make ourselves comfortable. Breakfast, moreover, was comprised of fresh pastries and capaccinos on demand, and set us up nicely for a day of sightseeing.

It is true that one could hear outside traffic, at night, but this is probably the trade-off for staying so centrally in Rome. Most attractions were within walking distance and, otherwise, the 64 bus took one almost directly, door to door, from the hotel to the Vatican (tip: you can buy your 1Euro bus tickets from the hotel reception on your way out the door).

All in all, this hotel lived up to its reputation and is good value for money!

Room Tip: Well worth it to pay for a "superior" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItaliaHotel, FRONT DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Donna ,
Thanks for sharing your experience through Tripadvisor .
We are all pleased you had a wonderful stay .

Staff wish you a Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year !!!

Regards,
Gabriel / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is a small boutique hotel located perfectly for walking to most of the historical sites. The rooms are small, but we spent little time in them anyway. (led a group of 18 persons) Very comfortable beds, very very clean. A small negative.......the corner showers are tiny! (Heaven help you if you drop the soap!) The included breakfast was more than adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful. Another small negative......the reception is on the second floor, and there is just a small cargo elevator. Quite a few steps. On balance, this hotel offered the essentials at a very good price. Would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Start with location when in Rome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItaliaHotel, FRONT DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Guest ,
Thanks for having stayed here with your Group .
We are glad you all had a pleasant stay .

Best wishes ,
Abdul / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Hotel owner is day clerk. Does anything you want and refused tip. Nice Continental breakfast. Location is wonderful! Don't be afraid to stay here. Very clean, well run Hotel. Just visited Rome, Florence, Venice, and Paris. Would certainly go back. Stayed a week in Hotel Italia...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItaliaHotel, Owner at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Sir ,
Thank you so much for having stayed with us .
Your words are really appreciated .

Best regards,
Andrea / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed 4 nights in a small single room.

Why the hotel is recommended:
1. Good price/value and clean room
2. Including standard breakfast
3. Free wifi, good connection.

What I really like is that the reception can help to arrange tours. Big thanks to Miss Sabrina.

What's not good is the window of my room opens up to an inner not so clean concrete court-yard. The bathroom is super small, very difficult to take shower in it. Location is okay, short walk to via Nazionale.

This hotel has all the basic things you need at budget/affordable value.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItaliaHotel, FRONT DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest ,
Thank you so much for having appreciated the help of the Staff !
Next time room will be a little bit bigger !!!

Have a good day ,
Sabrina / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Via Venezia, 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#208 Family Hotel in Rome
#223 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Italia!In the heart of the storical Rome next to the Quirinale, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Termini station and the Colosseum, an exclusive and elegant place is going to offer you a relaxing and confortable stay ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.