We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Etruscan Museum (Museo Nazionale di Villa Giulia)
Piazzale di Villa Giulia 9, 00196 Rome, Italy (Parioli)
(+39) 06 3226571
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 1,442 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 16th century palace housing a world-famous collection of ancient Roman and Etruscan sculpture and artifacts.
千葉県
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
162 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The museum was in a park. From Metro station, I walked through the beautiful park for 15 min. and I reached to the museum.
Actually I did not know about early Etruscan at all. I went to the museum because I was just interested in pictures in my guidebook. But my choice was not wrong.
I got to learn early Etruscan was more sophisticated than I expected. There were a lot of bronze things exhibited.Etruscan people had trade with ancient Greece. On 2nd floor of the museum, many products which came from Greece and Turkey were exhibited. I did not expect that I could see so much ancient Greek articles there.
It is very interesting to learn ancient civilization. I would like to visit again

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    60
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami FL
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Etruscan treasures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you are into Etruscan history this is the place for you. In my opinion the finest collection of Etruscan artifacts in the world. Clean and well kept, it houses many items not found anywhere else. Easy to reach by public transportation. We spent about 2 hours in here in May and we have visited it at least 3 times over the years. Not sure it would appeal to young children.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
199 attraction reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“History, artifacts, jewlry, mosaic, garden,murals, vases”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Before the Romans and in the same timeline as the Greek Mycenae the people of present day Rome were already well civilized and living well until the Romans overcame them and later conquered but kept and copied a lot of their cultural advances like they did with the Greek civilization.
This museum is well organized and full of artifacts, excavated burial grounds, crypts, sarcophagi, scultures,jewels, vases, art, paintings, written materials, frescoes, murals, statues, daily living equipments a nd a lot of other geologic materials and a lot of other antiquities from the pre Roman era.
The museum is arranged very well in two floors, climate controlled and well thought noff for educational viewing.
Too bad that No photography is allowed.
Before entyering the museum notice the murals, frescoes and tiles on the floor. There is also a very relaxing place to rest and think and review what you have seen and read inside.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Very good exhibition of ancient Etruscan history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This museum is a really great exhibition of Etruscan history, objects and life before the Romans.

If you're interested in history then this museum is a must... it actually explains a lot about life in pre-Roman history and the objects on display are of stunning quality.

It is quiet so you can take your time and aren't overwhelmed by crowds. And the building itself is a lovely 17th century papal villa.

Recommended... :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Before the Romans, there were the Etruscans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Villa Giulia was built as a summer residence for Pope Julius III and is worth visiting just to see how the popes lived and entertained in the 1500's, but today it houses the most important Etruscan museum in Italy. Beautifully laid out, with explanations in English as well as Italian, the museum takes you through the history of this pre-Roman civilization. And, if that wen't enough, it is off the beaten path so we were able to enjoy the. Museum and extensive gardens in peace with few other tourists and NO groups of ducklings plodding along behind their leader.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Etruscan Museum (Museo Nazionale di Villa Giulia) also viewed

 

Been to National Etruscan Museum (Museo Nazionale di Villa Giulia)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Etruscan Museum (Museo Nazionale di Villa Giulia), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.