We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow.... Simply Wow....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catacombs of St. Callixtus

Catacombs of St. Callixtus
Via Appia Antica 78,110,126 | Via Ardeatina 3, 00179 Rome, Italy
39 6 5130151
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$77*
and up
Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small...
Ranked #109 of 687 Attractions in Rome
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cemeteries, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This first Christian cemetery of Rome houses the remains of 9 popes and saints.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wow.... Simply Wow....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife brought me here on our trip to Rome. We took a public bus and found it ourselves. If you are looking to buy religious memorabilia this is the place to go... Way cheaper for the exact same items they were selling in the Vatican... We paid for the tour and took a trip into the past. Simply an amazing experience. I can't remember our guide's name but she was was so knowledgable and pleasant that it made something very intimidating almost pleasant. I learned sooo much. If you have time.. This is a def place to visit...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    158
    46
    21
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We used RomeinLimo tour company who arranged Stefano as our guide in Rome. Stefano is very knowledgeable. While he did not go into the Catacombs with us, he made sure that we got to the right place we needed for the tours, and that we had the English tour guide in the Catacombs as they offer tours in different languages. The priests give you a history and explain what you are viewing. They are willing to answer any questions. There are steps you will need to climb to enter and exit the Catacombs. There is a gift shop and restrooms.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“beautiful and peaceful place - perfect for catacombs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

you can't miss a visit to the catacombs - this is a great option. take a cab and save their phone - it's quite a walk back to the streets..and they'll meet you very quickly.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very interesting but arrive on time for guided tour !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

You have first of all to get the right bus to get there, departure from bus station Pyramidi. Then just go out when all people going out and ask driver for St Callisto catacumbs as there are other stops with other catacombs. There are only guided tours, you cannot do it by yourself. The ticket office closes for lunch from 12 to 2 p.m.! We arrived 5 minutes before closing and were lucky to have a French speaking group, there are different languages groups. Some people came after us and the office was closed, they were so disappointed as there is nothing else to do around, except walking through the wonderful landscape. Has to be done by good weather. After the visit (about 1 hour) you can follow the Via Appia and have some more visits (a castle etc...) along the street. The way is quite long, take something to drink and some biscuits. We finally found a nice tavern and round the corner of it a bus stop to bring us back into town! Was something totally different from the big city and having been twice to Rom before I hadn't done this interesting visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Interesting but short”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

You are not allowed in the catacombs without a guide, and I felt very rushed through. Plus we were not allowded to take photos. Our group was only small, so there was no problem hearing what the guide was saying. She had excellent English. I am glad I went, and enjoyed being away from the bustle of the tourist Rome.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catacombs of St. Callixtus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catacombs of St. Callixtus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.