We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kolbemazing Hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kolbe Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Kolbe Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy (Ripa / Aventino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kolbemazing Hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I chose this hotel through my booking with British Airways Holidays. Hotel was comfortable, clean and staff were helpful and polite. Bedroom was made up each day. It was lovely to come back to a clean and tidy room after a long day sightseeing. Buffet breakfast was plentiful and a very good selection was available. Tea/coffee/hot choc/juices. As much as you like! The boys loved it! We stayed in a room overlooking the beautiful and quiet garden. We requested this as this had been advised by another Trip adviser reviewer. We were not disappointed at all. Close to all the attractions and the Trastevere district. Had a fabulous time and bumped into some friends also staying in the same hotel!!! We couldn't believe it but we had a good catch up one evening in the bar!!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are located looking over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    319
    101
    31
    23
See reviews for
203
480
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family vacation while visiting our daughter in Rome. Very nice hotel with a large room & clean with an attentive staff. This hotel is on a quiet street and is a 10 minute walk to major sites (Forum, Colosseum, etc)....a definite plus. We had a room facing the garden. Definitely enjoyed staying a hotel with some character instead of the typical "chain" hotel. All in all a very nice time!

Room Tip: Hotel was a monastery in the past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Julie,

thank you for choosing our hotel and for dedicating your time writing this review.

We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay with the family in Rome and found our hotel ideal for visiting the city.

As you could see the Kolbe Hotel Rome is something unique: a historical building (former Franciscan convent) with a lovely internal garden just a few steps to the Colosseum is not common in Rome and we are glad you appreciated it.

We would lijke to thank you for your positive feedback in regard to our staff, we will share it with all members.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

The Managing Director

Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Kolbe early March. Despite arriving and having our passport stolen on the metro. This was a fantastic hotel. The staff at reception were always there to help. The breakfast was brilliant, plenty to choose from. It was kept warm and replenished consistently. We had the deluxe room and it was not disappointing. On sweet jacuzzi bath with views overlooking the gardens.

The location is perfect. Circo massimo station is just up the road. It is easy to get around Rome as it is but the staff are willing to help whenever needed.

Would definitely return to the Kolbe.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth the extra. We were apprehensive at first but we are glad we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Thomas,

thank you for choosing the Kolbe Hotel Rome for your stay in Rome and for leaving your review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the double deluxe room, in particular thanks to the breathtaking circular jacuzzi for 2 and the excellent garden view.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff: assisting our guests during their stay is of utmost importance to us.

We are also happy to learn you loved our location close to the ancient Circo Massimo and appreciated the quality and broad choice of dishes we offer for breakfast.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

The Managing Director
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 4 fantastic nights in the Kolbe hotel and had a great stay.

The staff were all lovely and friendly. We had originally booked a Double with a view, but I hadn't realised this meant a view of Palatine Hill and at the front of the hotel. The room was fine but I was concerned about overlooking the road as it was warm and sleeping with the window open would be noisy. We request to swap to a room overlooking the garden. The guy at the front desk organised a porter within minutes and moved us to a garden side room.

The garden view room was great, more airy and the view of the garden is very peaceful.

From then on everything was great. The location is great. We walked everywhere. The breakfast is good although maybe not as much choice as at big chains. Every morning is the same - yogurt and fruit, pastries and cakes, scrambled or boiled eggs, bacon, hot dog sausages, cheese and cold meats.

We had a few drinks at the hotel bar. They were relatively expensive but standard for a hotel I guess. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room and when I ordered 2 cups of tea if cos €7. So stock up at breakfast!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

thank you for staying at the Kolbe Hotel Rome and for dedicating your time to write such a detailed review.

We are delighted you loved our hotel and appreciated both the Palatine and the Garden views.
We would like to inform your that all our rooms with view are very quiet, even those that face the Palatine hill!

We are also glad to hear you found our location excellent for discovering Rome, as you could see we are right in the heart of Rome and everything is within walking distance!

Thank you for your feedback regarding our breakfast menu. It is very important as it helps us to identify aspects we need to improve.

We regret you found our drinks at the bar a little bit expensive, as you wrote these are standard prices for hotels in Rome.

We hope you will choose the Kolbe Hotel Rome again for your next stay in Rome.

Looking forward to welcoming you,

best regards,

The Managing Director

Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a nice hotel, far enough away from the crowds but still within 10 minute walk of the centre.
It's clean and hospitable, but not particularly luxurious. If they added a few touches it would be really super.
We stayed in a Family Room, overlooking the Palatine hill. The ceiling height was amazing and really makes the room feel huge. But add some more storage ! There were 4 of us and no chest of drawers etc so we had to use suitcases.
Breakfast could be a little better - a bit of fresh juice, better range of bread, fruit salad etc....
And just a note for families, the garden is a "quiet zone" rather than somewhere for the kids to let off steam .... this is because of the history of the hotel which used to be a monastery and some monks still live next door....
But, friendly and helpful welcome, so recommended. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,

thank you for choosing the Kolbe Hotel Rome and for sharing your review.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the central but quiet location of the hotel as well as the service provided by our staff.

Thank you for your comment in regards to the rooms. As you could see our family rooms are very large and all have a a nice view (to the Palatine or to the internal garden), high ceiling and simple but yet refined furnishings.

The building which hosts the Kolbe Hotel Rome was a former Franciscan convent, for that reason the decor isn't too sumptuous and the internal garden is an oasis of peace rather than a play area. These are some peculiarities of the Kolbe Hotel Rome.

Thank you also for your comment regarding our breakfast menu, your feedback is very important to us and we will do our best to improve it.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

best regards,

The Managing Director

Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

great location, nice room, highlevel service, reasonable price... but avoid rooms at street level: lot of noise from the street
breakfast is ok. rooms are big. perfect for visiting the ancient rome and very convenient to every location in the city center

Room Tip: no street level: lot of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Dear guest,

thank you for staying at the Kolbe Hotel Rome and for sharing your review with all Trip Advisor's readers.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay even if short and appreciated our location and the service provided by our staff.

Thank you for your feedback with regards to the rooms. The room you booked, the double economy, has the same design and equipment of a standard room but is located on the ground floor with street view, we regret you didn't like that.

Please do not hesitate to contact our booking staff for your next stay in Rome, we will help you booking the room you dream for an unforgettable stay in the Eternal City.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

best regards,

the Managing Director

Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Stayed at the Kolbe March 8-13. Very clean (except for the remote control). Nice quiet room. Being from North America - I was not prepared for the extremely small shower but made it work. The room was small but great for sleeping. Had a garden view.

The free breakfast was ok. The temperature of the eggs and bacon was not hot like it should be and the toaster only toasted one side of the bread. However the chocolate pasteries are to die for!!

I could hear our neighbours showering at 5am.

Tissue boxes are not automatically provided (however once I asked, I was given an opened one but it was not replaced when it ran out).

The tv didn't get any amercian channels and that was a bit frustrating. It's always nice to watch tv when getting dressed and ready.

The staff were great and honored all requests.

All in all - a good stay at the Kolbe. Some of the challenges (small shower, no tissue in rooms) could be common in Europe so I won't judge the Kolbe on that.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Dear guest,

thank you for your stay and for your detailed review!

We are happy to hear you had a great time in Rome and appreciated our hotel in particular for its nice and clean rooms and for the service provided by our staff.

You had a double room facing the garden, we are glad you appreciated that!.

We are sorry to read you found the shower in your room small, as you wrote, this is a standard size in Italy.

Regarding the tissues, these are not automatically provided in the room but guests can ask our attentive staff should they need some.

We regret to read you couldn't find any English channel, of course we have some, we invite our guest to contact the reception staff for this and other problems that may occur during the stay.

Finally we would like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding our breakfast buffet and hope you will choose the Kolbe Hotel Rome for your next stay in Rome.

Best regards,

the Managing Director

Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Rome
#124 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#213 Business Hotel in Rome
#231 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolbe Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.