We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent crisis management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kolbe Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Kolbe Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy (Ripa / Aventino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
Madrid
1 review
“Excellent crisis management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Besides the normal service and hotel facilities which are excellent I experienced a crisis management situation where the hotel staff customer orientation waskey.

Due to renewal works in a nerby building the power supply of the hotel was cut for several hours. The hotel staff was well prepared to handle the situation and offered me a solution without questioning or making the situation more difficult. I felt I was taken care of and understood.

This hotel has an excellent location and charming atmosphere but above all, the staff customer orientation and kind approach will me me go back in future trips.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    300
    94
    30
    19
See reviews for
192
457
19
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

conference center in a first-class hotel in the heart of Rome.
a combination like it had never happened. I was in Rome for a conference that was held at Kolbe Hotel Rome. a 4 star hotel in the center of rome face to face with the Palatine, the hill where the Roman emperors had built their imperial villas. just from my room I had the spectacular views of the Palatine, was an emotion that every morning I got up and I looked out the window. just think about the fact that if I stretched my hand I could touch the history of 2000 years ago, excited me. My room was clean, spacious and equipped with all modern comforts. The hotel has a conference center composed of more than 15 meeting rooms. In fact, our congress was held in a meeting room for 120 people with 6 other small rooms for 15 persons. Everything worked fine, the preparation of the rooms with all the technical equipment, big screens, big TV, that connects you to iPad, iPhone, video projectors. The assistance of the staff was excellent. Even the coffee breaks, working lunches were to our full satisfaction, the food was genuine and fabulously presented on the various buffet.The breakfast served in the main restaurant connected with the faboulous garden court was superior at any other breakfast we had in other 4 star hotel. We saw that this hotel has a professional organization with friendly and professional staff designed and formed to offer a service at that level. I and my colleagues who took part in this conference we were surprised by such professionalism and courtesy. if I had to give a rating from 1 to 10 where 10 is the maximum. definitely would give 10 plus

Room Tip: reserve room with view and you can have with garden view or Palatine view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

we are really delighted to receive such a good feedback from you, we work hard to make sure every aspect of the conference runs perfectly- from the set up of our 19 meeting rooms, the arrangement of coffee breaks and working lunches to the accommodation and free time of the delegates.
We attach great importance to delegates' satisfaction and we are glad to hear we were able to meet your expectations.
Thank you for your good comment about our organization and the standard of service offered.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the delicacies prepared by our chef and the morning buffet breakfast.

Thank you very much and we hope you will choose the Kolbe Hotel Rome for your next trip to Rome!

Best regards,

The Managing Director

Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here during Christmas and new year. Perfect location for exploring rome. Weather was around 12 degrees. I am half Italian and food, staff, atmosphere all perfect. Would not hesitate to return here

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guests,

thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your review with us!

We are happy to read that you had a wonderful stay and you felt at home at the Kolbe Hotel Rome.

We hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,

The Managing Director

Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Kolbe Hotel Rome is in a Great location……easy to walk to all the sites, lots of restaurants nearby, and all most important monuments at walking distance ( Colosseum, Forum Romano, Circo Maximo, Palatine just in front of the Hotel) . And once you arrive at the hotel itself you feel you are somewhere in an other magic age! The garden is magic! We were able to enjoy it for drinks, lunch, and dinner Lunch time is so special sitting in the garden also in this winter period but we had warm temperature, in the evening we had dinner inside by candle light was very nice too.
We had the great pleasure to spend 4 lovely nights at the Kolbe hotel Rome. The minute we arrived at the hotel the receptionist gave us a warm greeting and took care of our bags. Francesca and Mirella at the reception gave us an excellent asistance From there we were quickly checked in, to get lunch reservations nearby and to get a good plan for sightseeing. We felt immediately welcome and "at home"!
Great service, great rooms, wonderfull atmosphere and great location. It just gives us the best Italy has to offer! . We've stayed in some other 4 and 5 star hotels and each time got good experience! But at kolbe hotel Rome was an excellent experience!!! Thanks you Francesca, Mirella and Nicola for making us feel so 'home' away from 'home'!
This is what we expect form a professional run hotel and aminities! and it is what we had at this first class hotel in Rome. It was to our satisfaction and will tell it to all our friends

Room Tip: book a room with a view over the innercourt gardens, they are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lorenz,

thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your review will all Trip Advisors' readers.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our strategic position so close to Rome's main attractions and directly in front of the Palatine Hill.

We are happy to learn that you loved our internal garden, as you could see it is an oasis of peace in the center of room where you can relax having a drink or tasting the delicacies of our traditional Garden Restaurant "Al Palatino".

Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff, we are pleased to hear that you felt welcome at your arrival and received all help and assistance you deserved.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again at the Kolbe Hotel Rome!

Best regards,

The Managing Director
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

fabulous stay in this magnificent first class hotel. we booked directly on the website a superior double room with garden view. since our arrival we knew we were in the right place and knew as well that our choice was correct.
In fact, we arrived at 9:30 am and usually at that time you do not get the room while at Kolbe hotel rome the girl at the reception welcome us with a warm smile and informed us that she would check and try to assign immediately the room.
In fact, after only three minutes, while filling out the check-in form, always the same girl told us that she had managed to find a nice room for us already free and clean.
We really appreciated her effort to give us sudenlly the room.
The room was clean, quiet and very spacious. with a nice bathroom with shower column vascaidromassaggi and Jacuzzi. The hotel is located in a strategic way, just in front of the Palatine. walk you can reach all the most important monuments of Romacome: the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, the Forum of Trajan, Trevi fountain and spanish steps. To get to Trastevere where there are all the restaurants of the city, by foot, just across the bridge Tiber island and in 10 minutes you are there. During our stay we bombarded of questions the two receptionist Elena and Mirella and the two were able to give good advice to discover the charm of the city, museums and other places unknown to tourists.
my compliments for the assistance they gave us.
we had 2 or 3 evening dinner in hotel and we enjoyed the italian food at reasonable prices.
We will come again in this hotel in our next trip to Rome and will suggest this first class hotel to all our friends

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Naxos,

thank you very much for choosing the Kolbe Hotel Rome and spending time to write your review.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and that you are happy with the stay and the service provided by our staff.

I'm glad to read that our staff was helpful and that you could get a earlier check-in, we always do our best to accommodate our guests as early as possible.

Moreover I'm very happy to hear that you visited our Garden Restaurant "Al Palatino" more than once and appreciated the delicacies prepared by our chef.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to all your friends, we look forward to welcoming you again at the Kolbe Hotel Rome!

Best regards,

The Managing Director
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the location of this hotel is something unique. basically it is like a total and full immersion in imperial Rome,at the shade and the Palatine, the hill where the Roman Emperors had built their villas and imperial palaces. The hotel despite being in the historic center for excellence, is a haven of peace with its garden. In fact this was a Franciscan monastery, building and then was completely renovated and converted in a four star superior hotel in an ideal manner respecting all the architectural elements that make the kolbe hotel rome hotel is unique and unrepeatable. apart from its exceptional location, this hotel offers all modern comforts and a very personalized service. Hotel to suggest and we will do it

Room Tip: room with garden vie are very quite, large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Patrick,

thank you for choosing our hotel and for your kind review.

We are delighted to read that you know and appreciate our history.
Not many people know that the building that hosts the Kolbe Hotel Rome was a former Franciscan monastery and that the Hotel takes its name from Padre Maximilian Kolbe, a Polish priest who lived and studied in the monastery and was deported to Auschwitz during the Nazi invasion where he gave up his own life in exchange for that of another prisoner.
For his heroic act Padre Kolbe was awarded sainthood in 1982 by Pope John Paul II.

Now it's a luxury four star hotel but we are proud of our history and decided to retain the original features of the XVII century building.

We are glad you appreciated our central but quiet position and the service provided.

We hope to welcome you again at the Kolbe Hotel Rome!

Best regards,

The Managing Director

Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It can be hit and miss booking hotels for city breaks but luckily my partner and I nailed it with the Kolbe Hotel Rome. The location is absolutely perfect - minutes from the Coliseum, a road away from the nearest tube and a bridge away from Trastivere where the food is fabulous. The room was spacious, the bed big and comfy, the en suite well sized. We had a few problems with the toilet flush but the staff came within 30 seconds of ringing reception to fix it. Breakfast was delicious, I definitely stuffed my face every day. Access to Apple Macs for some last minute research was fantastic. Local bars did great food and drink. Literally cannot fault this hotel, it made our trip to Rome perfect.

Regards the airport, we took the train from the airprort to the station in the centre of Rome and walked to the hotel. It took about 50 minutes but the weather was glorious and it was wonderful to just wander and explore. I'd imagine you could get a taxi for cheap and it would take about 10 mins.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

thank you for staying at the Kolbe Hotel Rome and sharing your positive feedback with all Trip Advisors' readers.

We are glad to hear that you loved our hotel thanks to its strategic position- very close to Rome's main attractions such as the Palatine Hill, the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, the Mouth of Truth etc., and to Trastevere district, well know for its traditional bars and restaurants- and standard of service provided.

We are glad to read you appreciated the Apple computers in the lobby, we do also offer complimentary wifi throughout the hotel to ensure our guests a pleasant and relaxing stay in Rome.

Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to our rooms and our breakfast buffet, quality is for us of the utmost importance.

Moreover I'm happy to read that you easily reached our hotel from the airport, anyway, may you come back again don't hesitate to contact us, our staff will be glad to help you arranging a private transfer at a very competitive price!

Looking forward to welcoming you,

best regards,

The Managing Director

Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#111 Family Hotel in Rome
#171 Business Hotel in Rome
#217 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolbe Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.