We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel in the best location with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kolbe Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Kolbe Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy (Ripa / Aventino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #257 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury hotel in the best location with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

the location of this hotel is unique, direct face to face to the Palatine Hill. We booked a double room with view and we had aa room facing the Palatine which was at only 3 mt. The garden of this hotel is also unique, we were in the historical city center but in the same time a peace like we would be in a monastery , in effect this hotel , not long time ago, was a Franciscan convent. Now it is a modern and comfortable 4 star hotel in the best location you can immagine. We could walk all time and visit the most important monuments, Forum romano, Colosseo, Circo massimo, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain etc. etc.
The staff is professional and friendly in the same time. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the service at the breakfast is very attentive and personalized. Giorgiana and Mirella, the 2 girls at the breakfast service, welcome us in the morning with a nice "buongiorno" and with a good cappuccino which gave us good and positive energy for enjoying the day. We will suggest this hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: the room with Palatine view are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Lisa,

thank you for your stay at the Kolbe Hotel Rome and for your positive review.

We are so glad to hear that you loved our hotel above all for its strategic position -face to face to the Palatine Hill and close to Rome's main attractions such as Roman Forum, Colosseum, Circo Massimo, Spanish Steps,etc - and for its enchanting internal garden, which is an oasis of peace in the center of Rome.
Thank you for also sharing your appreciation in regards to our rooms, fully equipped with all modern comforts, we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the breathtaking view over the Palatine Hill!
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast time, due to the rich variety of breakfast delicacies and the excellent service from our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

best regards,

The Managing Director

Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    292
    93
    29
    19
See reviews for
185
449
18
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has the best location. Walking distance from the centre but also situated on a quite street away from all the noise. The breakfast was nice. The room we stayed in was small but clean and comfortable. The staff where polite. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Jameela,

thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your positive feedback on trip advisor.

As you wrote, the Kolbe Hotel Rome is located in a strategic position being in the heart of Rome but in a very quiet district, we are glad you appreciated that.

We are very pleased to read you truly enjoyed and appreciated the considerate care and assistance provided by our staff, customer service is of the utmost importance to us.

We are also glad to hear that your stay was even more enjoyable due to our rich breakfast buffet and our comfortable rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kolbe Hotel Rome for another unforgettable stay in the Eternal City!

Best regards,

The Managing Director of the Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My stay here started out fine but turned terrible at the end when my room was broken into.

I stayed at the Kolbe hotel in Rome for 6 nights. The room was adequate and comfortable and the staff reasonably helpful, though surly. The location is quiet but within walking distance of the Foro Romano and within easy access of the FAO, and there is a lovely farmer’s market on the same street. The hotel breakfast is also quite good and extensive.

On the 5th night, when I returned from dinner, I found that my room had been broken into and my laptop taken. The door had been jimmied open and there were pieces from the wall and doorframe lying on the carpet nearby. I immediately went to reception to report it but the receptionist was very casual and nonplussed. I then met two other hotel guests in the lobby whose rooms had been similarly broken into that evening and laptops/cash/tablet computers/ phones stolen.

The lethargic receptionist wasn’t too bothered and said that the hotel key card records show that no one entered the room (with a key card) while we had been out. I suggested they come and look at the doors to see how this could have happened but he ignored this request. He just told us to go to the police station the next morning (apparently the police station is closed at 11pm…) and file a report. No apology, no consolation, no help, no offer to arrange to accompany us to the station, nothing.

They changed my room the following night and I had expected the least they could do was give me an upgrade – again, the same receptionist just said this was not possible. And that was that.

The morning I checked out, the hotel manager spoke with me. He apologised for what happened and gave me a refund of one night’s stay, as well as waiving the city tax. I explained to him that money and the loss was not the only point and that the hotel had handled this whole situation terribly. He accepted this but also went on to blame the receptionist saying he’s not very good - I pointed out that it is the manager’s responsibility to ensure the right staff are at front of house. He then went on to blame the city of Rome and rising crime rates – again, I pointed out this may be a fact but while we can’t do much about the crime, the hotel’s responsibility is to its guests. I’ve stayed in many less safe cities around the world and this has never happened to me. When I suggested these robberies may have been done by someone that works at the hotel since the person that broke in obviously knew we were all out to dinner (I had a do not disturb sign on my door but somehow they knew no one was in the room), the manager said he has no control over the external contractors that work at the hotel. All these just struck me as unprofessional excuses, nothing more.

I stayed at this hotel with 8 other frequent traveller colleagues. We will certainly not be staying at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Rome and for appreciating our position and the kind of accommodation offered.

We very much apologize for the inconvenience that occurred and ruined your stay and we are in particular sad to hear that our staff was not able to assist you as you expected and deserved.
Unfortunately, this was the first time we had to face such a problem, I can assure you that our security system is very effective, as a consequence that our staff was unprepared to handle this situation.

We would like to inform you that we are taking care of your missing items, we have already reported the theft to our insurance company and we will get in touch with you as soon as possible for the reimbursement.

We apologize once again for the inconvenience and truly hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you again, next time we are sure we will be able to meet your expectations.
Best regards,

The Managing Director

Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed in this hotel already and had a good stay, why not try again the same place where we stayed well?? I booked a double room with view ( Palatine hill) , the rooms was clean, large and comfortable. Also this time was all like the last time.
what we noted this time again, is that they have improved both the breakfast buffet and the breakfast service as well. In fact, we found the buffet all fresh product and different every day. What most impressed us ?? was the welcome we received every morning when we entered in to the restaurant for breakfast, in fact, there are two girls : Mirella and Giorgia who have always welcome us with a pleasant smile, other positive point was that the first day we had asked for an espresso, the days after, at breakfast Mirella, without asking, served us the espresso we asked the first day. This attention sometimes make the difference from a 4-star to an othe4 star. THE staff in general is very nice and professional. we had a gain a good stay this time, we left a positive review also on their guest book located at the reception, but we think that our Evaluation for this hotels done on tripadvisor may have greater resonance.

Room Tip: the double room with view ( Palatine or garden view) are a dream
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest,

thank you for choosing the Kolbe Hotel Rome for the second time for your stay in Rome, we are happy to read we met your expectations again.

Thank you in particular for your compliments to our staff, we will share them with all members.

Thank you for sharing your travel experience on our guest book and above all on trip advisor, we attach great importance to our guest's feedbacks.

We do hope to welcome you again and again!

Best regards,

The Managing Director
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Rome so location was important. The location was perfect. The front desk staff were very pleasant and professional. We needed an early check-in after a long flight from Arizona and were graciously accommodated. The young ladies tending the morning breakfast were just exceptional. The hotel exceeded every expectation. If and when I return to Rome I will gladly return to this hotel. Romeo and Juliet stole the show and my wife's heart.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Dan,

thank you for sharing your experience with us!

It is great to know that you liked the hotel and our location and that we exceeded your expectations.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the service provided by our staff, customer service is for us of utmost importance.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future and in the meantime, we send you best regards,

The Managing Director

Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place to stay, Andrei was specially very courteous and helpful every day, breakfast was good, great location, you can catch a bus in 5 minutes, and walk to the museum and coloseo, and we will definitely stay here again when back in Rome.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Kashif,

thank you for staying at the Kolbe Hotel Rome!

We are very glad to hear that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You are pleased that you loved our strategic location - in the heart of Rome, face to face to the Palatine hill and easily connected with all means of transportation - and our polite and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

kind regards,

The Managing Director

Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For a 4 star hotel it was reasonable. The room was large and comfortable but the floors need a good vacuum. There was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and when I asked for it I was told it was an extra charge. The kettle was terrible, it had this white film inside. I took it down to the reception and got it changed and again the next kettle had the same white film inside. On one night whilst we were there it rained quite heavily therefore we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. That was a total mistake. The food was horrible, the pasta was not al dente, it was al hard. We travelled in November and apparently they turn off all air and heating. Mosquitoes just outside our bedroom window ( because of the ruins ) made it slightly uncomfortable. We turned on the towel heating rack then the following night it stopped working. It was turned off by the hotel, probably to save $$$. The breakfast was good but it depended on the chef. The ricotta, the fresh fruit salad of pineapple, apple and pear, the chocolate pastry were bellissimo. I miss that part of the hotel. Andrea was a perfect host, the women at the reception were not very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are noisy due to people arriving and departing and also it's on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Is,

thank you for sharing your comments with us and with all Tripadvisors’ readers.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast during your stay, but we regret to hear that you visited our restaurant and were not satisfied with it, our cuisine is of high quality so, I'm really surprised and sad that you found the food terrible.

Regarding the heating, since this November was really hot in Rome it is possible you found it off at your arrival, anyway the temperature can be adjusted manually, the same for the towel heating rack; we are sorry if our staff didn't inform you about this possibility.

Thank you also for underlining the negative aspects of your stay, your feedback is very important for us to find out where we still need to improve.

We truly hope to have the possibility of welcoming you again and show you we can meet your expectations.

Best regards,

The Managing Director

Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#132 Family Hotel in Rome
#203 Business Hotel in Rome
#221 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolbe Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.