We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for all the sites!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Save Saved
You added Kolbe Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy (Ripa / Aventino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great spot for all the sites!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed here for three nights back in January. Lovely hotel, tucked away. Rooms were on the smaller side but nothing different from most hotel rooms in the capital, I expect. Breakfast also good with a wider choice.

Hotel was a great base for exploring, 10 to 15 min walk from the nearest station however, so we explored most by foot! Good for Colusseum, museums and Main Street. Also 10mins walk across the river to where the evening kicks in and an abundance of bars and restaurants.

Would definitely recommend, although ladies may need a helping hand wearing heels on the cobbled street!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    275
    87
    25
    18
See reviews for
178
427
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I wasn't expecting great things but I really enjoyed the place. Often rooms in Rome are tiny and hotels a little grim. I got a great deal and my stay was super. It was hot outside but the a.c worked well and could be switched off. The staff were kind and mostly left me alone.
Didn't rate the breakfast much but it's a taste thing.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was Our second stay at this hotel.The first time we stayed in one of the more basic rooms situated in a sort of side wing to the main hotel,which was o.k,but this time around we thought we'd upgrade to a room with a view.Upon arrival the receptionist informed us that we would in actual fact be upgraded to a suite,'very nice', we thought.The room was indeed really nicely furnished and located on the first floor overlooking the gardens.However it is also situated just above the bar and breakfast area.On Our first night there was a party of loud people who kept going until nearly midnight ( I did have to go down and ask them if they could keep it down a bit as we were trying to get some sleep),this was repeated the following night,along with some screeching children.Add to this the fact that every morning You will be awoken at 06:45 - 07:00ish by chairs dragging on the floor below as various tour groups get stuck in to an early breakfast !I did enquire with reception if they had any alternative rooms,but she just looked at me as if I had two heads and informed me this WAS a quiete room.
However aside from all that this hotel well located and I'm sure given the right room this hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the mayhem that is Rome!
We only had the breakfast in the hotel (there are an abundance of restaurants within walking distance ) and we found this to be plentifull and reasonable quality.
On the whole this is a really nice hotel,maybe We were just unlucky with the some noisy guests,just be wary of the room location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescaMKT, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guests,

thank you for choosing our hotel twice and for leaving your comment here.

As you wrote the Kolbe Hotel Rome is located in the hearth of Rome but in a really quiet district.

We are sorry that you couldn't sleep well during your last stay, our rooms are usually very quiet, as you could remember from the previous stay, especially those facing the garden.

Next time we will make sure you will get a room far from the breakfast area, should you decide to stay with us again.

It's a pity that you didn't have the opportunity to visit our restaurant Il Giardino degli Aranci and try the tasty and traditional dishes prepared by our Chef.

We hope you will have the opportunity to stay at the Kolbe Hotel Rome again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Francesca
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I choose to come to this Hotel for our 1st Year anniversary; and I must say some parts of the hotel were very nice. For starters we had our room upgraded from a standard to the next level up free of charge, also it was a easy 30 minute drive from the airport to hotel.
The hotel it seems was in a nice location, however its around 15 minutes or so walk from hotel to any attraction, which is ironic as the forum is literally a stones throw, but the entrance is on the opposite side to the hotel. We did find the walks some what tiresome after the 1st day but because the hotel is in a spot such as it is, means that any cab ride to post locations are not to expensive.
The hotel staff were helpful, one lady in particular was extremely friendly and helpful and was able to guide us to some nice locations and advised us on prices and areas on where to eat.
Over all the hotel was nice, but there were some elements that the hotel could improve on, such as the broken aircon controller in our bedroom, but that is a minor issue.
In terms of food we choose not to eat Lunch / Dinner at the hotel, but did get round to breakfast each morning, we'd recommend that you eat early as the hotel doesn't put out the same pieces of food once somethings finished and people tend to gather around 9am, but for a four star hotel we assumed that tea pots and jugs of fresh milk would be available and the food could be better quality, which we felt wasn't what a four star could offer.
Despite my comments I'd recommend the hotel to anyone and we did enjoy our selves whilst staying with them.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescaMKT, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel for such an important event and also for having taken time to share your comments concerning the stay.

As you noticed the hotel is in a strategic position, the Palatine and the Roman Forum are just in front of us, even if you have to take a short walk to reach the main entrance.

We are really pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and found our staff attentive and friendly. We all do our best to meet guests' expectations.

We are very sorry to read about breakfast.
Our breakfast consists of a wide variety of food and even if we know that most guests tend to gather for breakfast at the same time, our staff work hard to make sure that nothing is missing on the table.

We are very happy to know that you would recommend the Kolbe Hotel Rome and really look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Francesca
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Basic hotel in a good location. Our room was large ,decor needed updating .It had a small window overlooking the carpark which made the room quite dark.Aircon worked well .Staff were very helpful ,breakfast was basic.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescaMKT, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guest,

thank you for choosing the Kolbe Hotel Rome for your stay in the eternal City.

We are very pleased to know you particularly appreciated the location of the hotel in the center of Rome, just few steps from the Palatine and Roman Forum.

We are delight that you appreciate the size and the decor of our rooms, and we are sorry to read that you found your room dark. Every room is different, so we invite you to address your special requests to our staff which would be please to meet your expectations.

Our aim is to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible.

We really look forward to welcoming you again at the Kolbe Hotel Rome,

best regards,

Francesca
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed a full week and researched many locations as possible choices for lodging in Rome. Kolbe Hotel Rome was definitely the right choice for our family. We enjoyed a very clean, and contemporary loft type room that faces the beautiful and private garden behind the hotel. Quiet, Safe, and very centrally located in the heart of the ancient landmarks in Rome. A very good breakfast is included each morning, and lunch and dinner is also available in the restaurant. Also a very easy walk to the Trastevere area filled with amazing restaurants and shops. Plenty of photos and other information can be found on their website. Next time in Rome, we'll return to Kolbe for certain!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the garden in the back... very quiet and relaxing. I believe the rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was surprised at how good the hotel was. We checked in at the last minute as our appartment had sewage problems and the member of staff at reception was excellent, she was efficient, polite and immediately checked us into a suite- rather than the standard room we had booked. The room was lovely, overlooking the garden and the facilities were all that you would expect from a 4*, In fact better. We had drinks outside one pm, after a long walk around Rome. These were reasonable in price, the setting perfect, and the initial waitress who served us was very pleasant indeed. The location is excellent and just far away enough not be in a tourist trap zone. There is a very good bar just down from the hotel as well very good and reasonably priced dinning in O.75 (restaurant/bar) at the end of the road. All in all the stay exceeded our expectations and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The suites are lovely although we initially booked a standard room at the very last minute so this w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#118 Family Hotel in Rome
#125 Business Hotel in Rome
#231 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolbe Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.