We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, modern rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Save Saved
You added Kolbe Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy (Ripa / Aventino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location, modern rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Kolbe Hotel for three nights in June 2014. The location is excellent...an easy walking distance to the Forum and the Colluseum. A metro stop is about 15 minutes walk. The rooms are modern and nice size for Europe. Breakfast was good and hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They assisted us making reservations at a restaurant one night and recommend a spot for viewing a World Cup match. Would visit this one again.

Room Tip: Unless you really want a second or higher floor room with a forum view, recommend asking for an inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    314
    94
    26
    18
See reviews for
168
411
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Arrived to be told the hotel was overbooked and we were being sent elsewhere for the first night..after speaking to other guests at the second hotel we realised this seems to be quite a problem with this hotel
as other guests had also been "overbooked". Even though the room itself was amazing - I will never come back to this hotel. Wasted part of my short trip to Rome travelling between hotels, just what I needed. In fact this has put me off Rome so won't even be going back. Worst hotel experience I've ever had on a city break!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I didn't realise how much I would appreciate being in a quiet area- Rome is so much busier than I remember! It's also fantastic to pass by the Forum and be so close to the Capitoline Hill.
We had a family room, nice size and well cleaned. Breakfast more than fine. Could do with tea-making facilities in the room. We didn't eat here but chose to walk to the Jewish Quarter, and incredible cafe at the Capitoline museum ( side entrance). Would definitely come back.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stumbled into this hotel after our very long flight to Rome feeling exhausted and disoriented. It's easy to feel overwhelmed by Rome, even if you're from New York City, but this area is a nice little oasis--very close to the Coliseum and other sights, but in an area that is very quiet and scenic. The hotel itself doesn't have a lot of charm or character, but it's fine--the rooms are standard-sized for Italy (a little smaller than Americans are used to), but clean, with any amenities you might need. We didn't eat at the hotel as we were only there for two days, but there are a few sweet places nearby, including a wonderful little place to grab coffee and a breakfast treat, and a restaurant/bar with good food and a warm, lively vibe. I've been wavering between giving the hotel a good or very good ranking and settled for very good primarily because of the location, helpful staff, and quiet. You could probably find hotels that are much more quaint but if you want something that is modestly priced and with everything you need...this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauhajoki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family stayed at Kolbe Hotel for five days, the four of us. I very much recommend this hotel because of its location, peace, and quality of food and sleep it offers. We stayed at a room for four and it eas perfect for us. Children slept at the loft and we, the parents, were downstairs. It could be the other way around too, obviously. Both beds were very comfy. The cleaners did a smashing job each day nad the breakfast was very good. But it was more or less the same for all five mornings, though. Air conditioning and the Wi-Fi were very good, which was very important for me.

We liked the room facing the garden. Absolute peace right at the heart of Rome! You can walk to all the major sights easily. And we did. And we saw. Choose Kolbe - you wo'nt be disappointed!

Room Tip: We liked the room facing the garden. Absolute peace right at the heart of Rome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner purchased this for my 21st and it didn't disappoint.

Ideally located for all the attractions of ancient rome. There was no noise pollution in our room at all.

Breakfast was okay enough to keep you going for the day. Typical European that you find in most city hotels.
There is a bar just to the right of the hotel down the street and it's lovely. Well worth a visit if you're too tired to venture into town.

The service at the bar at the hotel is terrible. They don't have anybody on it full time. The atmosphere in the restaurant in the evening was very dull and so we chose not to eat here.

Perfect for a city break to see the sights.
We waited over an hour for the shuttle so get the metro - much quicker and there's a station around 10 min walk from hotel.

Download the TripAdvisor Rome City App it was a god send! you can use it offline with gps enabled and get directions for anywhere and reviews on the nearby restaurants - plus it's free so you can't loose.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Family of 4 with two teens stayed 4 days while in Rome. The immaculate hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance to the Forum, Colosseum, restaurants in Trastevere, and much more. The tranquility of the hotel was welcome after long, hot days of walking through Rome. Our room was comfortable for the family; free Wifi was appreciated. I was concerned about traffic noise after reading reviews here. Our room was very quiet, even though we faced the street toward the hotel entrance.

The staff were very courteous and helpful. We booked a guide through the hotel; she was knowledgeable, interesting, and reasonably priced. Staff also arranged transportation to the airport which was much more comfortable than the taxi we had taken from the train station to the hotel. Breakfast each morning was a tasty assortment of eggs, meats, fruit, cereal, pastries, juice, coffee, etc. The garden was a lovely locale for starting the day.

I highly recommend this hotel and would stay again. Grazie mille!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#104 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Business Hotel in Rome
#237 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Venere, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolbe Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.