We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time and money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kolbe Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Kolbe Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy (Ripa / Aventino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hello. We booked 7 nights at the Kolbe in March, 2013. We booked 5 nights upon arrival, and even booked the night before our arrival in order to ensure our room was ready when we arrived so that we could check in and take a quick nap. We checked in and our room was not ready, and even though the hotel had emails from our travel agent stating we would not be there for the prior evening, they said "you weren't here the prior date." However, they tried to accommodate us in our Family Suite. When we checked out the Family Suite we found it to be very, very small. It was basically two beds (one of them a sleeper sofa) and a bathroom. No table, no chairs, no room to put anything. Extremely tight space. So I went back to the front desk and they tried to accommodate us by showing us a number of rooms, and offered to put us in two different rooms. That defeats the purpose of traveling with the family, and the rooms were very small too. So they showed us their "Deluxe Junior Suite," and we found that this is the room they picture on their web site when you select Family Suite. It's larger than the Family Suite, and has a jazzy new recliner, a table with two chairs, a jacuzzi tub, and more space around the beds. It wasn't drastically bigger than the Family Suite, but enough so that you would have room to put your things away and enjoy some time in the room together (we like to buy things at a local market and have bread, fruit, cheese, and wine once or twice). The hotel staff said "we're not that type of hotel." We ended up canceling our reservation, but they still charged us for the room the 1st night we were there (which wasn't ready upon our arrival). Other issues: a) Air conditioning. We found that this is not on, and were told it is a law in Italy that they can't use it during certain times of the year. If this is the case, they should state this on the web site. We traveled to Rome and Florence, and the rooms and hotels are very warm. Which means you have to open your windows in order to get cool air. The room is so small, and the window was very large, and opened over the road outside the front of the hotel. The cars driving on the cobblestones was very, very noisy, and we were up a lot of the night. It was too loud, too hot, and too cramped, and the price was high for what we received. It's just not a good policy to tout your air conditioning and modern amenities when they're not really available. b) Location: The hotel claims to be very close to certain things like the Colosseum, and when you look at a map, it appears close. However, there's a giant wrought-iron fence, and wall, and other obstacles across the street, and you have to walk around this to get anywhere. There is no real direct access to the Colosseum and you end up walking around the fence and along the Circus Maximus, or up onto Palantine Hill and the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier if you want to go anywhere. Just a note c) Price: Believe me, when we canceled our reservation I had to scramble to find a hotel. I looked online and our travel agent looked. We found many, many properties that were more spacious, better located, and less money within good areas of Rome. And this was spur of the moment. We found the restaurant to be nice for breakfast, and the staff tried. But in the end, they were adamant that we pay for a room we didn't use, and they were not really mindful of the disruption to our vacation and impact to our family. I wouldn't recommend this hotel because many better alternatives exist. Thanks.

Room Tip: You can search online for any number of rooms, and find good values. We found other rooms, in good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    319
    101
    31
    23
See reviews for
203
480
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I spent weeks researching where to stay in Rome at Easter and what to do. We travelled as a group and as I was spending other people's money, my choice of accommodation for all of us had to be perfect. I chose the Kolbe and it was perfect. I have read pevious comments and reviews, this hotel was exactly as described, 4 stars, the location, the rooms, the food and the price paid matched the rating of the hotel. I e-mailed the hotel in advance re allocation of garden rooms, being located together and in addition a taxi to collect us. All my requests were promptly answered by e-mail and all requests met on arrival.
We wanted to explore Rome and the hotel allowed us to do this based on its location alone. After a long day sightseeing with young children, to return to this peaceful haven was wonderful.You would never believe that you were in the middle of a busy city.

The question to ask any reviewer is simply would you return again? The answer would be yes and I would willingly pay more!! We shall return!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent location - all the sites/sights were within easy walking distance, but transport to or from the Vatican could be a good idea for less able-bodied people.

Staff were friendly & helpful. Room was clean & comfortable - but no tea/coffee making facilities, & no comfy chairs.

We arrived very late after a delayed flight, but they kept the restaurant open for us & I had the best fillet steak I've had for years. Breakfast covered a wide range of eating habits - I was more than happy with bacon, eggs, etc, etc

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden, it will be quieter than overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Perhaps a little difficult to find but once you are there you realize that you have found a true gem. Located on a one way street on the back side of the forum and within easy walking distance to the Coliseum. The staff was ready for our large group and accomodated our every wish. Our room was a loft style with plenty of room and it opened to a beautiful courtyard where I am sure land is very precious. I actually had an orange from one the trees there around a fountain with very fat goldfish. If you are lucky enough to be there on a weekend the farmers market is just a few doors down. If you head back up the one way San Teodoro one block and turn left you will find the wonderful restaurant En Roma. A treat for the eyes as well as the taste buds. I did not choose this hotel but was glad someone had the forethought to do it.

Room Tip: ask for a loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We decided to stay here after some very good trip adviser reviews, but I'm afraid I just don't agree with them, at £165 per night 'off season' I was expecting something better than what we found. We had a queen sized room on the ground floor over-looking the garden. The room was basic and felt fairly empty. The TV only had BBC world news on it, and whilst I know no one goes on holiday to watch TV - it's nice to be able to chill out at the end of a long day of sight seeing. My biggest disappointment was with the Jacuzzi bath/shower. It was a cramped shower cubical with jets of water coming out of it. I'm not a big lad but when I turned in the shower it would hit the hot/cold tap and bang you were woken up very quickly! I guess the hotel could have been clearer on what it means by a shower/jacuzzi - in my mind thats a jacuzzi bath with a shower in it, again after a long day of walking a bath is exactly what you'll need. The service was pretty poor at times, some real attitudes especially at reception.

So on to the positives;

1) You can't get more central - It's right outside the Roman forum and a stones through to Circo Maximo. It's a 15 minute walk to the nearest Metro and 5 to the bus stop (Although the transport system is truly awful! No bus stop has a time table so we often waited up to an hour for something to turn up, no logic or structure - my advice is save time & walk - The Metro is best, however be prepared for strikes.
2) It's a quiet hotel - unless you go for the cheaper room which faces the cobble road, very well used street at night so I would imagine not so quiet.
3) It's clean, room was mopped daily - The cleaners are all really lovely and friendly.
4) The breakfast was very good - American breakfast - waiting staff also friendly.
5) The beds were firm - plus point in my books
6) 24hr manned reception desk.

So not a bad stay over all - i've marked it as average, and as strange as this may sound I would recommend people to go for the right price (£80 - £120 per night), but for me it boiled down to feeling a little short changed. I've stayed in much nicer places for far less money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

modern and very clean hotel, with attentive service and good restaurant. very good location, quite but close to the center. the hotel booked a guide in japanese that turned out to be very competent and professional.

Room Tip: The view of fori is not worth the car noise, since they are on the street side. The garden side is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in hotel for 7 nights. Kolbe staff were polite and helpful - they made both airport transfer reservations for us. Daily breakfast buffet was very good and plenty to eat, drink. Room was on 3rd floor overlooking garden. The room had upstairs loft with queen bed and downstairs queen sofa bed. Room was spacious enough. During this time of year, the air conditioning was not available, however, opening the window provided adequate climate comfort. Location is close to the Forum and Colosseum. We walked to most sight-seeing ventures, however, took taxi back to hotel a few times because we were tired of walking all day. Vatican is about an hour walk from the Kolbe; most other interesting locations within about 30 minutes walk.

Room Tip: The first room assigned was a little small, so we requested a larger room. We were able to move into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Rome
#124 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#213 Business Hotel in Rome
#231 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolbe Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.