We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This gem is tucked behind the forum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Kolbe Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Kolbe Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy (Ripa / Aventino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #260 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Galveston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This gem is tucked behind the forum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Perhaps a little difficult to find but once you are there you realize that you have found a true gem. Located on a one way street on the back side of the forum and within easy walking distance to the Coliseum. The staff was ready for our large group and accomodated our every wish. Our room was a loft style with plenty of room and it opened to a beautiful courtyard where I am sure land is very precious. I actually had an orange from one the trees there around a fountain with very fat goldfish. If you are lucky enough to be there on a weekend the farmers market is just a few doors down. If you head back up the one way San Teodoro one block and turn left you will find the wonderful restaurant En Roma. A treat for the eyes as well as the taste buds. I did not choose this hotel but was glad someone had the forethought to do it.

Room Tip: ask for a loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    322
    101
    32
    23
See reviews for
205
483
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We decided to stay here after some very good trip adviser reviews, but I'm afraid I just don't agree with them, at £165 per night 'off season' I was expecting something better than what we found. We had a queen sized room on the ground floor over-looking the garden. The room was basic and felt fairly empty. The TV only had BBC world news on it, and whilst I know no one goes on holiday to watch TV - it's nice to be able to chill out at the end of a long day of sight seeing. My biggest disappointment was with the Jacuzzi bath/shower. It was a cramped shower cubical with jets of water coming out of it. I'm not a big lad but when I turned in the shower it would hit the hot/cold tap and bang you were woken up very quickly! I guess the hotel could have been clearer on what it means by a shower/jacuzzi - in my mind thats a jacuzzi bath with a shower in it, again after a long day of walking a bath is exactly what you'll need. The service was pretty poor at times, some real attitudes especially at reception.

So on to the positives;

1) You can't get more central - It's right outside the Roman forum and a stones through to Circo Maximo. It's a 15 minute walk to the nearest Metro and 5 to the bus stop (Although the transport system is truly awful! No bus stop has a time table so we often waited up to an hour for something to turn up, no logic or structure - my advice is save time & walk - The Metro is best, however be prepared for strikes.
2) It's a quiet hotel - unless you go for the cheaper room which faces the cobble road, very well used street at night so I would imagine not so quiet.
3) It's clean, room was mopped daily - The cleaners are all really lovely and friendly.
4) The breakfast was very good - American breakfast - waiting staff also friendly.
5) The beds were firm - plus point in my books
6) 24hr manned reception desk.

So not a bad stay over all - i've marked it as average, and as strange as this may sound I would recommend people to go for the right price (£80 - £120 per night), but for me it boiled down to feeling a little short changed. I've stayed in much nicer places for far less money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

modern and very clean hotel, with attentive service and good restaurant. very good location, quite but close to the center. the hotel booked a guide in japanese that turned out to be very competent and professional.

Room Tip: The view of fori is not worth the car noise, since they are on the street side. The garden side is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in hotel for 7 nights. Kolbe staff were polite and helpful - they made both airport transfer reservations for us. Daily breakfast buffet was very good and plenty to eat, drink. Room was on 3rd floor overlooking garden. The room had upstairs loft with queen bed and downstairs queen sofa bed. Room was spacious enough. During this time of year, the air conditioning was not available, however, opening the window provided adequate climate comfort. Location is close to the Forum and Colosseum. We walked to most sight-seeing ventures, however, took taxi back to hotel a few times because we were tired of walking all day. Vatican is about an hour walk from the Kolbe; most other interesting locations within about 30 minutes walk.

Room Tip: The first room assigned was a little small, so we requested a larger room. We were able to move into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara on the Lake
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Last week we stayed at the Kolbe Hotel in the centre of Ancient Rome. It was a classic case of "location, location, location" mixed with a delightful stay due to the staff and the immediate neighbourhood. We were a 10 to 20 minute walk to almost anywhere in Ancient Rome. The staff were fluent in many languages and most helpful and accommodating. The room was clean and modern with a large window that opened unto a delightful garden. We were awakened by the birds every morning despite its location in the city. The mattress was hard but we obtained extra pillows to compensate. The breakfast was excellent and weather permitting could be eaten outside in the garden. The bars and restaurants around the corner on either side of the hotel added to the experience as did the local weekend market. We even discovered the local "deli".

Room Tip: We loved the bar to the right of the hotel "Anima Mundi" (next to the Roman arch) and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The facilities, staff, location, and restaurant were all fantastic. The room had a perfect view of the forum, and was close to nearly everywhere we wanted to visit.
Via di Teodoro can be very loud at night, especially on weekends. If you like your window open at night, be prepared to deal with very loud, drunk kids congregating outside your window.only downside IMO.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

What a lovely, well-situated hotel close to the Forum and the Colosseum and within walking distance of the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona and the Panthenon. The Vatican is a 30 minute riverside walk away.

The hotel itself is very welcoming, quiet and relaxing. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant and offered good advice when asked. A special mention must go to Alessio and Maurizio in the restaurant/bar who made the evenings special. They were so friendly and courteous - a credit to the hotel.

The room itself was spotless and well equipped. Our room had French doors into the enclosed gardens which was very pleasant.

We had a great time and would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 114 was very quiet and looked out onto the garden at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#122 Family Hotel in Rome
#210 Business Hotel in Rome
#239 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolbe Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.