We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great contemporary hotel next to the forum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Save Saved
You added Kolbe Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy (Ripa / Aventino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great contemporary hotel next to the forum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location next to the forum. If you stay here, I'd recommend requesting a room on the garden side, not the forum side. The forum side gets a lot of foot and car traffic on the stone road, which can be noisy. Our first night was on the frt floor in 104. Decided to switch rooms due to the traffic noise. Moved to a garden room 243 and it was peaceful other than the seagulls squawking every so often. Garden is pristine and nice to look at in the morning. Both rooms were ok sized. King beds. Contemporary furnishings. Good sized bathroom. I'd guess the size of the rooms were 300 square feet. Small flat screen tv mounted to the wall with CNN and bbc available as the English channels. Wifi was inclusive with our room rate. It requires a login and password. You will need a login for each wifi device you want to use as each login is restricted to one device at a time. Breakfast was also included and I thought was really good. Scrabbled ad hard boiled eggs. Sliced meats and cheeses. Cereal. Pastries. Bacon and sausage. Juices, coffee machine, teas. All buffet style. The staff at the front desk and the dining-bar were very helpful and pleasant at all times. If you need help with reservations, definitely ask the front desk to assist. We had them call and reserve the borghese gallery for us rather than doing it ourselves. If this hotel is on your list of options for Rome, I'd recommend it in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    311
    93
    26
    18
See reviews for
167
408
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great breakfast, great bed, bathroom! friendly service, good location. I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, I read all the reviews and they are very accurate. The staff couldn't do enough for you, the breakfast selection was great, rooms were spacious and comfortable. The only thing is the WIFI didn't work well in Lobby or Restaurant, but in the room was fine. The garden was beautiful and a great place to sit and relax.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Back in September, we started our honeymoon in Roma and choose this hotel because of the ideal location. At the arrival, the receptionist told us that they don't offer anything special for honeymoons, but manage to give us the worst room of the hotel, because the hotel was fully booked (we actually booked 4 months in advance).The room was superior room, but it was so small, that I wonder how the normal room looks like. The room was ground floor, and ideally located between the street side ( we could hear all the cars passing by, and there is lot of traffic in this small street), the hotel storage room (hotel staff removing all the bins and cleaning equipment at 6am and bringing everything back in the afternoon during our not so relaxing nap time ) and the neighbours that were watching loud TV 24h. Breakfast was a 2 stars hotel quality. One single machine was making tea and coffee, so we had the choice between tea tasting after coffee, or poor quality coffee. There was no fresh juices (they only had the cheap juice made from concentrate), no fruits from the season, which is a pity as we were in Italy, in summer! There was very loud music in the restaurant, so we had to "escape" and move to the terrace to have a quieter breakfast (but hotter too!). Overall, a very bad start for our honeymoon, but luckily our hotel in Sardinia offered a real 4 stars service!

Room Tip: Ask for the garden side, not the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Miriam,
We thank you for your review; we realise how importat the opinion of our guests is to improve the quality of our services.

We are sorry, and frankly surprised, to read the negative global review you expressed on our hotel. With regard to the bedroom, we would like to remind you that our hotel offers 5 different types of double bedrooms, Economy, Standard, with a View, De luxe and Junior suite; we always suggest the latter to couples in honeymoon, due to the servirces already included in the rate. For a few additional euro, it is possible to choose the solutions more suitable to one's economic means. In your case, although you reserved a Standard room, we offered a "free upgrade" and therefore a Superior bedroom. We are sorry to understand that our offer has not been appreciated.

We are very proud of the quality and variety of our breakfast, appreciated by most guests.
Anyway, we know how difficult it is to meet all our guests' requirements.

We are not going to comment your remarks, which we aknowledge and respect, and we will leave our clientel to read them freely.

We hope being able to host you again in our Kolbe Hotel Rome in order to devote you all our attention. In that case, please contact us so that we may be able to follow you reservation in such a special way as to regain your trust.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights. It was a great stay, hospitable staff, great sized room, clean, good bathroom, good variety at breakfast. Great location for everything and only around a 10 minute walk from a great deal of reasonably priced, good restaurants. Only a short walk from most major attractions that rome has to offer. The only downside was noise from the road as we had a ground level room. Would definitely recommend to people looking for a good hotel in Rome

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. A nice and quiet hotel makes up a good base for exploring Rome’s tourist attractions. We walked to the Vatican (20 min), The Colosseum (10 min), The Spanish Steps (20 min) and the Piazza Navona (15 min). Although check in is not until 2 PM they were able to provide us with a room upon arrival 12:30 PM. The staff is friendly and the breakfast was very good. Our room was clean and had a view towards the roman forum. There are several good dining options nearby. I will happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked this hotel as part of a three night surprise birthday trip for my wife and it could not have been better. The exterior of the hotel looks good, the lobby classy and the reception staff were excellent. Every question we had was answered professionally, with a smile.

Our family room was on split levels, meaning my two children slept upstairs and my wife and I downstairs -- when we initially saw the double sofa bed we had to sleep in, we were slightly concerned but the mattress, sheets and pillows were of a good quality: combined with miles of walking each day, every night we had a comfortable sleep. The kids enjoyed having their own area. The views onto the immaculately kept rear garden was delightful; only marginally spoiled on the second day by a palm tree outside our window being cut down with chainsaws at 7.30 in the morning!

The location is hard to surpass, being as it is right next to the Roman Forum, just 10-15 minutes from the charming Trastevere restaurant area, 15 minutes pleasant walk from the Colosseum, a 25 minute walk from the Pantheon, 30 from the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. A 10 minute walk to the Circus Maximus Metro station got us to the Vatican in about 30 minutes.

The included breakfast was very good and the waiting staff attentive and pleasant. Plenty of fresh food: pastries, fruit, cereals, toast, meats and cheeses.

When we checked out, they took care of our luggage for eight hours and happily called us a taxi to take us to the airport.

Recommended as long as you are happy to walk everywhere (and, in Rome, you really should)

Room Tip: Garden views are quiet and get the sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights recently. It is such an excellent location. Particularly if you want to see historic Rome. It is across (literally) from the Forum Romanum, around the corner from the Colosseum, right by the old palace (Palentine), beside the old Circus Maximus and across from the Aventine hill. San Clemente (excellent and maintained by the Dominicans now) and San Giovanni in Laterno are a short walk away (San Giovanni is a little longer but worth the walk).
A 15-20min quick walk to areas closer to the Vatican. Best to get a cab or underground (which is surprisingly easy to get around in for a tourist). Hotel is a good standard, clean, friendly and attentive staff. I would certainly stay here again - and will. When you get a solid hotel in Rome you remember it! Thanks to all the staff... loved the welcome glass of prosecco and the restaurant recommendation around the corner was spot on!
I would say good for couples (we got engaged!) but friends, families etc. should love the place and location.

Room Tip: If you like historic Rome then this is the place for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#109 Business Hotel in Rome
#111 Family Hotel in Rome
#230 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolbe Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.