We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campo De' Fiori

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Campo De' Fiori to your Saves list
Hotel Campo De' Fiori
Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very nice, but......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We'd stayed here back in 2003, and seeing the continuing good reviews encouraged us to return. We booked a deluxe room, and were given room 603 on the 6th floor. The room was very small, with just enough room to walk around the bed, though the bathroom was a reasonable size and well equipped, with an excellent shower. I queried the smallness of the room and was told that all deluxe rooms were of similar size, though 603 was perhaps a little smaller, but with the advantage of being on a high floor with a view. I can't argue that the room had a view, we could see lots of the city, including St. Peter's Basilica. A small panel in the room controls the "do not disturb" display on a panel outside the room. It also contains a temperature control and display. The DND display didn't work, and neither did the temperature control. For the duration of our stay the temperature stuck at 25 deg. C, which was uncomfortable. Though we were able to open a window during the day, at night it was far too noisy to sleep. I did talk to the desk, and they insisted nothing was wrong, so we gave up! The desk staff were otherwise very friendly and helpful, and made a very good restaurant recommendation. So, a nice hotel in a perfect location to explore Rome on foot, nice staff, but slightly spoilt by an overheated small room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Direttore at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for choosing us again 8 years after your first stay! Having already been our guests in the past you have noticed that the Hotel is totally different having been recently renovated. For this reason I do not understand your disappointment regarding the rooms, as we have completely renovated them, enriched them with the best furnishings and modern technologies, and, as you stated, with well equipped bathrooms.

As regards the room size, as the Hotel is located in the hearth of historical Rome, hosted in a very ancient building of the XV century, rooms sizes follow the original structure of the building. Moreover the room you had, being located on the very last floor of the building, offers a stunning view of the Eternal City that many guests appreciate being one of the highlights of our Hotel.

Every room has been provided with a temperature control system that the guest can control autonomously. The min-max room temperature is established by law, so you cannot go under a certain temperature. Coming form a different country probably you are used to different heating levels and temperatures and so you found the temperature warmer than it is for Italian standards.

We are glad to know that you appreciated our suggestions and thank you once again for the overall positive review. Hope to see you soon.
Best Regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    278
    61
    27
    20
See reviews for
351
853
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We have visited Rome many times over the years, and stayed at quite a few hotels, some good some not as good, so we feel that as we write this we have some experience to call upon.

Finding Campo De' Fiori was a real stroke of luck.

Perfectly located just 5 minutes from Piazza Navona, with it's breathtaking fountain by Bernini, 10 Minutes from the Vittorio Emmanuel Monument and the Capitoline hill, and a short river walk from San Angelo and the Vatican.

The hotel is situated in a vibrant area of central Rome, that converts from an early morning flower market, to a place full of restaurants and places to find great value food.

The hotel is fabulous, an old building that has been so tastefully renovated, keeping the luxurious feel of the splendour of Italian Decor, yet so very comfortable.....and the staff were wonderful, friendly and so helpful, you were always met with a smile and good advice. "Small with a great big heart".

Would we use this hotel again?..... we wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Rome..... enjoy..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Very good apartment in side street, warm and comfortable. Hotel staff were wonderful,
even gave great help to our Aussie friends who were not even staying there. Beautiful location, close to main attractions. No trouble to walk from the piazza to Colosseuim, forum,
St Peters. We had terrible weather but still greatly enjoyed our visit.
If we return to Rome we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Direttore at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dearest Therry,
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the apartment and that you found it warm and comfortable. All our apartments are furnished and equipped with extreme care in order to offer our guests the best comfort and ease. The ideal accommodation for those who want to be independent taking advantage at the same time of all the Hotel facilities, such as the outstanding Terrace.
As you stated we also helped your friends who were not even staying with us, well, this is just a remarkable example of our welcoming and of our whole mission.
Glad to know that you will stay with us again for your next trip to Rome!
All the best
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We loved this hotel. Lovely friendly staff, great decor in rooms and perfect location for all the sights of Rome (we walked everywhere).
Bed and breakfast only, but breakfast was substantial and nicely prepared. For evening meals there was plenty of choice nearby. We would recommend Pizzeria Hostaria diagonally opposite the hotel across the piazza - a friendly, family owed, resauraunt with very good food. La Pollarola restauraunt, nearby the hotel, was not so good - expensive fish, greasy starter and staff not so friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Direttore at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dearest Mike,
The adjectives "lovely friendly" describe exactly our intensions. Our goal is to make our guests’ stay an unforgettable experience and we are glad to learn that you appreciated the beauty of our Hotel an our warm welcoming. I hope that during your stay you also appreciated the stunning views from our Roof top Terrace.
Next time for restaurants suggestions just ask the Reception staff as we constantly select for our guests the best “non touristy” restaurants where you can taste the authentic Italian cuisine.
We are looking forward to your next visit!
Warm Regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Just got back from Rome and it was amazing! The staff were really friendly and great in providing tips for restaurants, which had great food and weren't touristy either. Loved the location in Campo di Fiori, not too far from the action and the tourist sites.

Overall highly recommended for sure!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Direttore at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear Guests,
We are really pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities as well as our welcoming. Our constant concern is to give the best suggestions in order to allow you living the best experiences our city can offer, such as good and genuine Italian restaurants. It has been a real pleasure to read your excited review and we would like to thank you for having recommended our Hotel to all Tripadvisor readers.
Hope to see you again soon!
Warm Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

My husband and I had the most perfect stay in Rome, due in large part to the loveliness of Hotel Campo De' Fiori and its truly welcoming, knowledgeable and fun staff. Valentina, Matteo, Barbara and Gabriel seemed almost as excited about our vacation as we were. We booked a couple of months in advance, arrived in the low season, and enjoyed a discount for paying ahead, so the rate actually resulted in tremendous value for us, given how pretty the hotel is, and the fact that it's a brief stroll from Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, and the other wonders of Rome are about 20 minutes away on foot. Don't let anyone convince you to stay on the Via Veneto - this is the Rome experience I dreamed of!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Direttore at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dearest Rachel and Josh,
I am extremely proud to learn that your stay in Rome has been “the most perfect” and most of all that our Hotel has played a big part! When you describe the staff as “truly welcoming, knowledgeable, and fun” and then when you say that the reception staff “seemed almost as excited about our vacation as we were” you made us the best praise ever!!
We strongly believe that welcoming is the basis of our job and we constantly work on it to improve in order to make our guest’s stay a memorable experience. When you say “this is the Rome experience I dreamed of” you just rewarded all our efforts!! We really appreciated all of your lovely comments from the way you titled your review, to the last sentence, when you exhort other visitors to stay in a place where to experience authentic Rome.
Thank you very much again we are all looking forward to your next visit!
Warm Regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

My wife and I chose this hotel for an overnight trip to Rome from London with my two teenage daughters - we wanted a small hotel with character, easy walking to all the main sights and in the heart of the old city. As an architect I am admittedly very fussy about design and spend hours examining room pics before booking. I usually seek cool and contemporary where possible but this time - at the suggestion of my wife - we wanted something that fitted more with the character of old Rome. Only I had been to Rome before and we wanted this short trip to encapsulate everything that sums up Rome - a vibrant, architectural gem of a city, full of Italian character and history - and this hotel contributed to this in a way which could not have been more perfect.

The hotel, which is in an old building in a side street just off the Campo De' Fiori, had been beautifully and tastefully 'interior designed' in a slightly opulent but still contemporary way which suited the age and scale of the building perfectly. The welcome from the staff could not have been warmer - they took the time to orientate us with a map when we arrived and make suggestions - the rooms were comfortable (smallish, but what do you expect for a little building in the old city) and the bathrooms clean, stylish and up to date (the rooms even looked like the pics on the website, something that can't be said of all hotels). The hotel had free WiFi - something all hotels should have in 2011 (get more than one access code if you have more than one device) - and it had a lovely roof terrace with views over the city. Breakfast was good and service excellent.

We didn't use the car hotel's car service from the airport but booked through http://www.airportconnection.it/ - €50 from Fiumicino, 10% discount on the return and very reliable and good value. For our one dinner in Rome we ate at Baccanale restaurant in the Campo De' Fiori - expensive (if you eat too many courses and have an expensive wine, like we did) but excellent non-touristy, non-pizza menu with excellent, attentive service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Direttore at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear Guests,
I would like to personally thank you for the kind words you deserved to our Hotel! I have immediately shared your review with the Hotel architect and the interior designer who heartily thank you. You have fully caught the real essence of our mission and the experience we want our guests to live: a sophisticated and refined atmosphere which evokes, as you stated, the enchantment of old Rome. Our Hotel is a little gem in the heart of historical Rome and moreover our terrace on the top floor of the building allows you to enjoy a breathtaking view of the Eternal City, giving the guests a stream of sensual emotions that will be remembered forever.
We really appreciated your review and your sensibility as a traveler and as an architect to all this. Your words simply give us a great pride, also when you say that the rooms looked exactly like the pictures on the website, which is something very important for us: we strongly believe that your travel experience must start before the travel itself, for instance looking at the Hotel’s pictures on the website and we believe that your expectations deserve not to be disappointed. In a word: what you see is what you get!
As you also noted this Hotel is hosted in a very ancient house dated 1753 and built on an archeological area and to respect its original structure the Hotel rooms have their appropriate size.
As regards free wifi, as you mentioned, we understood that now it is not an extra service anymore it is an absolute priority and the majority of guests needs it….but we know that there are still many resistances to this change!
There is only one thing in your review that I kindly advise you note: the car service from the airport offered by the Hotel has exactly the same rates as the one you booked by yourself. Moreover we may suggest that booking through the Hotel you will have the confidence of a reliable and luxurious service, guaranteed by the Hotel itself. The staff takes care of everything avoiding you any kind of inconvenience. So I did not quite understand why you didn’t booked with us!
Hope to see you and your family soon and to offer you again the possibility to enjoy our service and our warm welcome!

Best Regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campo De' Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo De' Fiori

Address: Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#34 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo de' Fiori is located in a unique position in the heart of the lively and pituresc area of Rome known as Campo de' Fiori. The hotel is a fabulous “BOUTIQUE HOTEL”, romantic, cozy and sought after, that know’s how to offer to it’s guests a suggestive atmosphere to make unforgettable there stay in the Eternal City.The hotel is situated since 1937 in an antique structure of the Roma Baroque period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Campo De' Fiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo De Fiori Rome
Campo De Fiori Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campo De' Fiori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.