We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Campo de' fiori location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campo De' Fiori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Campo De' Fiori to your Saves list
Hotel Campo De' Fiori
Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Livermore, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Campo de' fiori location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

The room was quiet, fairly well lit. Room was small by US standards, but adequate. New lcd tv, with both cnn and bbc stations available. The washroom was excellent. Very modern. Comforable queen size bed. Desk staff very helpful. Air conditioning seemed adequate, though temperature outside never much over 68 F. Room window was not on a street.

Would have been nice to have two chairs in the room, but then there'd have been less space.

Campo de' Fiori 10 yards to the right out the front door. Location fairly central to most Rome sites. No. 23 bus to Vatican and No. 116 to Borghese are convenient. Nice views from roof top.

844 euros for 5 nights (low season).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — only one chair
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    278
    61
    27
    20
See reviews for
351
853
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

We stayed at this hotel two nights in August. It was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. The room reeked of cigarettes (even though we selected a nonsmoking room) and there was no way to open the little window to air it out. No light came in through the window either, we were in perpetual night. The shower leaked (hope it was the shower, could have been the toilet.) Finally, they charged us for phone calls we didnt make, I think they must have pulled that cheating stunt in the past because when I innocently asked about saying it was a mistake, the guy at the counter (from New Jersey) started shouting at me in a manner that was completely out of proportion to the question or tone it was asked in. My friend with me worried he had mental problems and almost called the police. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Mentally unstable staff, filthy rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

The location of this hotel is perfect. A great place for exploring all of the wonders of Rome. We found the hotel to be very nice and would stay there again. The only complaint we have is that the front desk seemed a bit aloof and did not reach out to embrace us and make us feel welcome. Even when coming and going there were few interactions. At one point we brought lunch back and were invited to eat in their downstairs dining room by one of the workers. One of the front desk ladies came in while we were eating and gave us a look of disdain and did not even acknowledge our greeting (we wanted to share with her that we were invited to sit there as she made us feel we were doing something wrong). The lovely woman who serves breakfast as well as the housekeeping staff were very kind and welcoming. The rooftop sitting area is beautiful and a true asset when wanting to rest and look out over the beautiful city. The marketplace is right outside the door and lends to a true flavor of the area. We spent 4 nights (we willingly paid for 5 nights so that we could get into the room early on our arrival day). All in all, if the front desk improved it's helpfulness we would rate a this hotel 5.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt Lake City, UT
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Hotel Campo de Fiori is the perfect choice in Rome if you are looking for an intimate hotel in a superb location with all the details that create a charming ambience. Walking in the front door right around the corner from the bustling campo de fiori market place, I knew I had found the perfect little hotel. The arched wooden bookcase behind the front desk, the silver room keys in velvet boxes, the cozy sitting area furnished with traditional Italian furniture. There is a tiny lift to take your bags up to your room where you will find a heavy wooden door leading into small room with shuttered windows draped in silk, a dark wood beamed ceiling with a small crystal chandelier hanging from the center. The room is furnished with Venetian style furniture but has a very modern bathroom. You put your clothes away in a polished wooden cabinet. Every detail adds to the charm of the small room. One marvelous feature of the hotel is its beautiful roof terrace with wicker chairs and tables and comfortable lounge chairs. When it's time for siesta - grab a pizza from any of the local shops and head up to the terrace to realax, eat ,and enjoy the sunshine overlooking the city. The hotel is located within walking distance of any of the important sites you want to see in Rome. We walked everywhere. The campo de fiori itself can be very noisy at night as it is a popular gathering place for young people. But the good windows in the Hotel shut out most of the noise except for a background hum and the occasional burst of song which is just Rome by night. The breakfast room is exquisite with its Venetian painted barrel vaulted ceiling, a beautul wood Venetian bookcase across the back of the room and traditonal small tables and chairs set with linen and china. Bread, cheese, cereal, yogurt, fruit cocktail juices and coffee are offered. The front desk is helpful with directions, transfers etc. Prices are competitive with other small hotels in the 3 star category - but after peeking inside a few of the others, there is no comparison.
If you are looking for the charm of a traditional Italian hotel which provides an intimate oasis in a bustling city, this is the place for you. I was totally enchanted with Hotel Campo de Fiori.

  • Liked — charm and location
  • Disliked — a little bit of noise at night
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the apartments of Hotel Campo De Fiori in October 2008. The apartment was basic, but clean and well kept. If you stay in the apartments you don't get all the bells and whistles of the fancy hotel, but you do get a kitchen, which was a bonus for us. Another bonus of staying in the apartments was being able to take advantage of the beautiful rooftop and helpful staff of the hotel. Emmanuel and other staff members were hugely helpful to us. (Thank you!)

So to sum it up, the apartments aren't as nice as the hotel, but they're clean and in a great location of the city. Grab a bottle of wine and head up to the rooftop- the view is beautiful!

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

My husband and I visited Rome Sept 4-7.

The hotel arranged for a car to meet us at the airport. (Don't drive in Rome :)

We loved the location of the hotel. The hotel is just minutes from Piazza Navona, Trevi fountain, the bus line and all other must see attractions in Rome.

In Piazza Campo de Fiori there is a bustling open air market early in the morning, and large crowds going to the many great places to eat every evening outside in the square, we were a little concerned about noise. But when we were in our room (101) we NEVER heard anything from outside and slept great. The air conditioning works very well. (we had a heat wave during our stay)Our room was more than enough space for the 2 of us and the bathroom was modern and clean.

The building has alot of history as well. Ask at the desk.

The breakfast was great, with many cereals, fruit, meat and cheese and is included in your room rate.

The terrace on the top of the building is a great place to relax and enjoy the spectacular view night or day.

The staff at the front desk are ready and willing to help with any concerns or questions. We found them very friendly to a person.They speak excellent English.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rome. Good value for your money
We'll be back.

  • Liked — Friendly knowledgable staff, clean, quiet room, good location, breakfast included, roomtop terrace,
  • Disliked — not one complaint
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

This was our first trip to Rome and our stay at the Hotel Campo De Fiori was very nice. It was a great location, close to local transportation too. Our room was not large but very comfortable and certainly big enough for the two of us. The bathroom was average size and very clean. We enjoyed the rooftop terrace in the evening to watch the sun set or enjoy a cocktail. The breakfast was good and we could either eat in the inside dining room or outside with a view.

Every morning in the square around the corner was a farmer's market which was fun with lots of good fruits and vegetables.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Thanks to all of them and especially Olga who was the best ever.

We will definitely stay here again next time we're in Rome.

Fred and Georgia

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campo De' Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo De' Fiori

Address: Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#33 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo de' Fiori is located in a unique position in the heart of the lively and pituresc area of Rome known as Campo de' Fiori. The hotel is a fabulous “BOUTIQUE HOTEL”, romantic, cozy and sought after, that know’s how to offer to it’s guests a suggestive atmosphere to make unforgettable there stay in the Eternal City.The hotel is situated since 1937 in an antique structure of the Roma Baroque period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Campo De' Fiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo De Fiori Rome
Campo De Fiori Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campo De' Fiori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.