We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campo De' Fiori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Campo De' Fiori to your Saves list
Hotel Campo De' Fiori
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Royal Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Rome, the city of love and adventure. The hotel was an addition to the entire experience too. The old red royal draping and interior made me feel like one of the queens in Europe. The place was like Casablanca’s apartment and the patio had such a lovely view. I love being in the place. It made me feel like being able to live the past and experience what the old royals had. Such a lovely place. The bathroom had a different feel too because of the unique setup.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,
I noticed that you have written 10 reviews on hotels and this offers you a major experience regarding hotel staying. Your very detailed review broken down according to voice is very direct. Under each voice you have given us a max appraisal and this for us is worth more than just one review having such experience. For example,
“Location- Cannot fault the location, Room- Bed was soft- the room has excellent soundproofing, Hotel- Personally I find it beautiful. Concluding with your title,

“Beautiful romantic hotel; convenient location”.
I would also like to highlight that staying with us one actually is staying in the history of Rome being the structure a 1400’s construction and as one if selects to take the staircase to go to the floors, one will notice the actual historical importance of the building being able to see and even touch the ancient brick and stone work of that period and also admire fragments and a column of ancient roman marble which al pieces belonged to the ancient Roman theatre of Pompei. One needs to also realize that staying in the Campo de’ Fiori area you are experiencing what romans did thousands of years ago and are walking on streets which most likely existed previously as well.
Thanking you for your max review,
Warmest regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    298
    61
    27
    20
See reviews for
362
914
48
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel did a great job keeping the noise out with double paned windows. The room is small but well appointed, beautifully decorated and the bed was so comfortable that we slept in every morning. The staff were very helpful with directions and everything is close enough for walking. The girl in the breakfast room was quick with whatever you needed but the food itself wasn't great and if it is an extra cost, skip it. There are better options just outside the hotel. The rooftop was a plus and was where we began and ended our trip to Rome since it was January we had it to ourselves. This was my second time in Rome. The first time I stayed on top of the Spanish steps and it was a very nice area but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
your title,
“Great location”
Is a title which is applied often with our review writing guests and this is very positive for us meaning that our location is understood and valued. You also highlight our rooms, our unfindable rooftop terrace which almost no other hotel offers to its’ guests. I also read that this is your second stay in Rome and the first time you were staying at a hotel near the Spanish steps but this time you stayed at the area called Campo De’ Fiori and preferred this location. This is truly pleasing since you were able to evaluate properly and appreciate the location. I do highlight to all who read this review to take a look at our website where one can see photos, location, descriptions as well as finding special offers which cannot be found in any other site.
Utilizing your concluding phrase,
“but I would definitely stay here again.”
It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the future!
Best regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a very well located hotel adjacent to the Campo De'Fiori and so is well placed for all the attractions that Rome has to offer. Our room was comfortable and well furnished with a really nice bathroom. It was facing the back and noise was not an issue. The hotel has a lovely roof terrace with great views over the city. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Perfectly good breakfast. Overall a really nice stay, recommended and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Seeing your total hotel reviews which are 55, and having rated us with a “4” this is extremely well coming from a guest that has this much traveling experience but I do need to contest that if in your review all is perfect why not apply a “5” point review?
You highlight location, rooms, bathroom, no noise, terrace, the staff and breakfast. Where does “Overall” apply when all is highly spoken of? If “Overall” than no “really” is applicable. Thank you for having taken time off and for writing your review,What else can I say but conclude with your last phrase,
“recommended and would stay again.”
Warmest regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Lovely room albeit a bit small 302 I think but it had everything we needed. Fabulous location.
If I could improve at all it would be a tea/coffee tray and improved breakfast but no complaints and we will certainly come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review although I don’t understand a 4 point review when all is considered good. Regarding the room size, when traveling one needs to pick between between historical location meaning smaller historical building and buildings which have to follow City Laws regarding the non possibility to change what you are in or a big room outside of Rome in a modern hotel and one can walk around in the room instead of walking around in the centre of the city. Aside this thank you for highlighting the location which allows all to be anywhere important of Ancient Rome within a 20 minute walk. We have optioned not to have tea/coffee trays in the rooms to eliminate the possibility of short circuits but as many have already noticed, one just needs to call the reception and immediately they have received in the room either coffee or tea.
Thank you once again for your positive review and it is very pleasing to see that you will certainly return,
“ and we will certainly come again. “
We will be looking forward to having you with us in the future and we will see to it that next time you will receive one of the bigger rooms in the hotel!
Warmest regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Campo de' Fiori during the first week of February 2014. The hotel is rated 4 stars which we feel is deserved but with a major reservation explained below. The rooms are not hugely spacious but are adequate and well appointed with very modern bathrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast is excellent and served in a comfortable breakfast room downstairs from the reception area. The location, beside the Campo de' Fiori is very central with most of Rome's major attractions within walking distance. We paid €110 per night including the Roma Capitale tax which we felt was a very good rate, booked five months in advance of our stay. So far, so good!

The major reservation concerns the hotel's apartments located approx 150 metres away on the opposite corner of the Campo de' Fiori. On confirmation of our booking, this "upgrade" was offered and accepted. Our apartment was very spacious with a large living area come kitchen and breakfast bar with everything needed for basic self-catering provided. The bedroom and bathroom were also large and the whole nicely furnished, almost ideal in fact for a family. BUT, and it is a very big BUT, on the corner of the Campo, just 10 metres from the apartment, is The Drunken Ship pub. This pub is a magnet for young people determined to help the pub live up to its name and the noise, until circa 2:30am every night, is unbearable, rendering sleep impossible. If it was bad in cold February I can't imagine what the volume must be like in high season. The hotel is very much aware of this and plans to install double glazing and so we feel they suckered us with their highly questionable, "upgrade" offer. The second problem is the heating which kept the apartment at a sauna-like 30c. The in-room thermostat was completely ineffective so, even without the pub noise, comfortable sleep would have been well-nigh impossible. If double glazing is ever fitted then air conditioning will also be required to make the apartment habitable in warm weather.

To be fair to the hotel management, when we asked to be relocated we were moved into the hotel proper, though to a different room each night. It was more than worth it for the peace and quiet but the whole experience left a very sour taste. Our advice would be to avoid the apartments at all costs and be highly skeptical of Romans bearing gifts in the form of "upgrade" offers.

Access to the hotel is easy. The train from Fiumicino Airport to Rome Travestere (tra-vest-er-ray) station takes 30 minutes and costs €8 single and the number 8 tram from there costs €1.50 and takes 10 minutes. Alight at the second stop (Arenula) after crossing the river and walk past the kiosks down the street to your left to the Campo and you will find the hotel to your right, just behind the ice cream parlour.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms are best. Right by roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken time out to write your review. I do need to contest your title,
“Very good but beware of "upgrades"”
The free upgrade has nothing to do with the noise of which you are referring to. I take it that you reserved a studio apartment meaning for 2 people and received a bigger apartment as a free upgrade and this has nothing to do with the Free Upgrade. Unfortunately being in the real historical center of Rome a bit of noise can always be heard but now we have changed all the windows to sound proof windows so now all is silent.
Regarding the fact that our reception immediately moved you into the hotel is not a question of being fare mentioning it but it is a fact that we do our utmost always to see to it that all of our guests are always happy. Just to mention it, your move into the hotel had a major increment on the daily rates and we didn’t apply them so this can be considered a real upgrade!
We also have offered free upgrades in the hotel from one room to another when available so it’s not the free upgrade question indicated in your title.
Thank you for the positive aspects indicated which we do take pride on such as you have written,
“Room well appointed with very modern bathrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast is excellent and served in a comfortable breakfast room.”,” very central”.
Thank you once again for your review and hope to have you with us once again if ever in Rome so you may stay in our hotel.
Warmest regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Me and my husband stayed here last year . We stayed there for 4 nights.The hotel was amazing It had lovely rooms!its location was just perfect. The breakfast could have been a litlle nicer but that was no problem. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your title has been used by many of our guests,
“Romantic”
This is attributable most likely to our beautiful facilities which call on elegance, beauty and yet offer the max modern comforts. Our location helps as well not only being a short hop away from all of the major sites but being located in the real historical centre of Ancient Rome, this adds a lot to the magical atmosphere.
Our staff always there to suggest and help out on anything which is desired or needed and which are always there with a smile meaning a real smile and not a plastic one which one may encounter in other places.
Your stay being of 4 nights but most of all having been with us previously adds more weight to your review for us meaning that we have kept up our standards if not reached a higher level. Thanking you once again for your max review and now having been with us twice I would like to say as they do in Italy, there is no 2 without 3 so if you ever decide to come once again we will be more than happy to have you with us. Concluding with you last phrase,
“We highly recommend.”
Warmest regards,
F. Severino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I sent them an email, and they quickly called back. Given that we are a family of four, they suggested the apartment opposite the hotel and we took it. They arranged the taxi to go from the airport (While I was looking for my name, other taxi drivers started talking to me giving me quotes that far exceeded what I was asked to pay). I had lots of luggage and they had arranged a large van to accommodate it.

The location was right next to piazza Campo de Fiori. We could lie in bed and listen to the live music played in the piazza each evening. There was a kitchen, and so we could cook some simple meals a couple of times. The market each day had excellent fruits that I could just go down and buy fresh each day.

The hotel staff were great. I would strongly recommend the hotel any day. We were invited to go to the terrace of the main hotel, but we never managed to go there and enjoy the views. I am sure it would have been very nice given the location.

Great location and great staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Your title in reality while speaking only about the service,
“Excellent Service”
Covers all of the aspects of our hosting, facilities and location. All leads up to service. When we receive reservation requests, we control what our future guests are requesting and see if it is the best solution for their stay with us. Infact you confirm and approve this way of hosting by indicating,
“I sent them an email, and they quickly called back. Given that we are a family of four, they suggested the apartment opposite the hotel and we took it.”
Our staff also sees to it that all of our guests receive the best service paying the lowest rate possible and this is confirmed by you,
“They arranged the taxi to go from the airport (While I was looking for my name, other taxi drivers started talking to me giving me quotes that far exceeded what I was asked to pay). I had lots of luggage and they had arranged a large van to accommodate it.”
Our hotel offers to all of our guests that reserve our apartments the same facilities that our hotel guests receive and that is, Free WiFi, The famous Hotel Terrace, daily cleaning by our chambermaids etc. etc.
Thank you also for your recommendation,
“I would strongly recommend the hotel any day.”
By the way we appreciated a lot your review seeing that you have reviewed 14 times and this gives experience.
Warmest Regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campo De' Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo De' Fiori

Address: Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#31 Family Hotel in Rome
#37 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Campo De' Fiori 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo de' Fiori is located in a unique position in the heart of the lively and pituresc area of Rome known as Campo de' Fiori. The hotel is a fabulous “BOUTIQUE HOTEL”, romantic, cozy and sought after, that know’s how to offer to it’s guests a suggestive atmosphere to make unforgettable there stay in the Eternal City.The hotel is situated since 1937 in an antique structure of the Roma Baroque period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Campo De' Fiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo De Fiori Rome
Campo De Fiori Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campo De' Fiori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.